Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Fine Arts Bibliography, (The Levant: Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria)
- Fine Arts, Islamic Art & Architecture
- Harvard Art Museums: Islamic and Indian art Objects in the collection can be viewed by appointment; contact the curators in the Division of Asian and Mediterranean Art to arrange one. Virtual access to museum objects is available via the Harvard Art Museums' collections database.
- ArchNet Digital Libary, an online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
- The Aga Khan Program at MIT also supports a Documentation Center for research in Islamic architecture at MIT's Rotch Library of Architecture & Planning. Harvard and MIT affiliates have reciprocal access to library collections at both institutions.
- Judaica Digital Collection: Israeli architecture (from the archive of Dan Tsur and Lipa Yahalom, the Ben-Uri Museum, and the Israel Architecture Archive)
- Archive of World Music, Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library: archival field recordings of music worldwide, as well as commercial audiovisual recordings and streaming resources of ethnomusicological interest. (Search Hollis - Narrow by Resource Type: Archives/Manuscript - Narrow by Location: Loeb Music Library)
- Fine Arts Library: more than 150,000 photographs and slides documenting Islamic art and architecture, as well as ethnographic views that provide cultural context. (Access in Hollis)
- Harvard Semitic Museum Photographic Archives: more than 38,000 images in a variety of formats. (Access in Hollis)
- ArchNet Digital Library: an online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world, based at MIT, features a virtual library of digitized books, journals, reference tools, as well as thousands of images of architecture in the Islamic world.
- Photographs of Israeli education from the Israel Sun Photo Archive
- Hollis Images: Judaica Digital Images collection has over 5.5 million images and growing.
- Judaica Digital Collection: Photographs: Among the collections are historical photographs that document:
- the history of the Zionist movement and the development of the Jewish community in Israel over the past century (from the Central Zionist Archives and the Jewish National Fund Archive)
- images documenting everyday Israeli life over the past 50 years, including contemporary Israel (from the archives of photographers including Eldad Rafaeli, David Harris, Yitshak Amit, Reuven Milon, Israel Haramati, and Assaf Shilo/Israel Sun Ltd.)
- photographs of Jewish life in the Galilee, especially kibbutzim (from the archives of kibbutzim in the Galilee through a project with the Yigal Alon Center)
- photographs documenting Israeli theatrical, dance and music performances (from the archives of photographers including Gerard Allon, Gadi Dagon, Eyal Landesman, and Yossi Zwecker)
- Hollis Images (Search Palestine)
Looking for this?
Harvard Map Collection
Maps of Palestine
Over 15,000 in the HOLLIS Catalog - search there now!
Ask a Librarian
Bibliographer in Islamic Art and Architecture
Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Fine Arts Library