This guide provides links to resources and services to help you with your research for SLS 20: Psychological Science.
Selected Resources for Backgrounds & Overviews
These are resources that are especially helpful when you are getting started in a subject area. Start with a general search and then narrow in if you are getting too many results.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences is an authoritative entry point to a wide range of fields in the behavioral and social sciences. Entries discuss history, current trends, future directions, and include useful bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Psychology is part of a series of selective online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
Key Journal Databases
In most academic fields, but especially in the sciences, journal literature is the primary means of communicating new findings, revisions to old theories, and the success (or failure) of experimental replications. Journal articles provide the crucial updating function necessary for responsible research.
For a brief introduction to peer review see, Making Sense of Science Stories.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that includes material rom over 4,700 publications (journals, magazines and newspapers) both popular and scholarly. Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications.
HOLLIS enables you to search books, articles, images, and other materials in a variety of formats in the Harvard Library collection. Remember to sign in for full access.
PsycInfo is the premier database for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields, PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes items from over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages. Content dates back to 1872 for some journals.
The Lamont and Cabot Libraries have a variety of resources available for you to help with the creation of your multimedia project.
- Lamont Library Multimedia Lab has equipment available for media creation and staff to help show you how to use it.
- Cabot Science Library has reservable media studios and equipment for loan.
Writing & Citing
From the Harvard College Writing Center:
Citing and Using Sources
- Harvard Guide to Using Sources from the Harvard College Writing Program
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA Formatting and Style Guide
- Reference Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect, store, and manage reference information, research notes, and documents. They work with your word processor to manage in-text citations and to build bibliographies in nearly any format.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Ask a Librarian - Send us your question virtually.
- Harvard Library site - The central starting point for Harvard Library services, resources and information.
- Scan and Deliver - A free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff.
- Borrow Direct - For books not currently available at Harvard, you can request them through Borrow Direct. If one of the libraries in this network has the item, you should receive it within 4 days.
- Interlibrary Loan - If the item is not available through Borrow Direct, submit an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow it from a broader network of libraries.