Finding Books

HOLLIS+
The 'HOLLIS' tab searches the Harvard Library for books, journals, DVDs, manuscripts, etc. Switch to the 'Everything' tab to search for articles as well. Be sure to sign in for complete search results and functionality!

e-Books

The Cambridge Companion to Performance Studies

Players All: Performances in Contemporary Sport  by Robert E. Rinehart
(Also available in print at Lamont and Widener)

Finding Journal Articles

Performance studies draws on disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, and psychology as well as the traditional performing arts; so databases in all those fields can be useful for your research. (TIP: When full text of journal articles is not provided by the database, use the Journals Search Page to see if Harvard has access to the text from another source.)

But -- why not just use HOLLIS+?
These subject-focused search tools can help you find relevant sources more efficiently than a keyword search in HOLLIS+ (especially given the ambiguity of a word like "performance" in sports). Instead of thousands of mixed results, you may get a few dozen, all within a particular subject.

Sociological Abstracts
This database includes citations and abstracts from over 1800 journals, relevant dissertations, selected books and book chapters, and conference papers, as well as citations for book reviews and other media. Sample article: Making Sport of Tonya: Class Performance and Social Punishment.

Anthropology Plus
A comprehensive index covering publications in anthropology and related disciplines, with full text available for many articles. Sample article: The Surfing Tommy Tanna: Performing Race at the Australian beach

PsycINFO
Scholarly journal articles and book chapters on psychology, including the psychology of sports. Sample article: Performative Sport Fandom.

African American Studies Center
Browse by 'Subject Entries' for articles on sports, basketball, football, etc. Each entry provides bibliography for further research.

Race Relations Abstracts
A database covering scholarly articles on race, ethnicity, and discrimination. Sample article: Skill in Black and White: Negotiating Media Images of Race in a Sporting Context

GenderWatch
A full text database of scholarly journals and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Sample article: Pinned by Gender Construction?: Media Representations of Girls' Wrestling

Women's Studies International
A database with citations and abstracts drawn from a variety of women's studies databases. Sample article: Performing Rodeo Queen Culture: Competition Athleticism and Excessive Feminine Masquerade

America: History and Life
Excellent resource for journal articles and other literature on the history and culture of North America. Sample article: Women Boxers: Actresses to Athletes

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD)
These two databases primarily cover theatrical performance, but will bring up some material on sports as well. Sample article: Pranking Peter Pans: Performing Playground Masculinities in Extreme Sports

MLA International Bibliography
Primarily about literature, this database covers cultural studies journals as well. Sample article: From Brecht to Beck: Performances of Xenophobia in Professional Wrestling

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals
Film & Television Literature Index
Use these database if you're researching sports in film and television. Sample article: The American Dream Goes to College: The Cinematic Student Athletes of College Football.

News Sources

LexisNexis and Factiva
Two databases of newspapers and other news sources, with content from the 1970s and 80s until today. For older articles, use the historical New York Times and other newspapers from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Steve Kuehler's picture
Steve Kuehler