Welcome to the Harvard Library

This guide provides links to resources and services relevant to SSCI S-495, taught by Dr. Chase Harrison.  If you have library or research related questions, we would be happy to hear from you.

Resources for Background, Literature Reviews & Research Methods

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online is a series of selective online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences. You might also want to explore. After a search across all volumes of the series, you can select to view only those results in relevant disciplines such as, political science or international relations.
  • Annual Reviews offers comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars. You can also search across disciplines in this resource and then narrow to relevant disciplines law and social sciences or political science.
  • Sage Research Methods is a research methods tool providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. It contains a methods library with more than 1000 books, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics from across the social sciences. 

Finding Scholarly Sources

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global indexes dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Provides full text for most indexed dissertations from 1990-present.


Citation Searching - These databases are two of the best for doing citation searching. Most databases will enable you to see the works cited by a particular work. These databases enable you to find how many times a particular work has been cited and by whom it has been cited since its publication.

  • Web of Science (Citation Indexes) is a multidisciplinary database indexing major journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
    • Journal Citation Reports is a database you can access within Web of Science for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide in the sciences and social sciences.
      • For more information on journal ranking and related topics see the guide, Measuring Your Scholarly Impact created by the Harvard Kennedy School Library.
  • Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, and abstracts from all broad areas of research,


GOVERNMENT & HISTORY

  • Proquest Social Sciences Premium is a scholarly database including coverage of politics, sociology, anthropology, and education.
  • America: History & Life covers over 2,000 journals publishing the scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Historical Abstracts covers over 1800 journals publishing the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
  • HeinOnline is a digital collection of legal materials inlcuding law journals and congressional and other government materials.

Policy Resources

  • ProQuest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for accessing the many publications of Congress.
  • Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses.

Harvard Library Research Guides

A collection of research guides created and maintained by librarians across the University to provide assistance with finding library materials, searching electronic and print collections, citing sources and more. Below is a selection of government and data research guides.

Books and COVID 19

Despite the fact that our physical items are unavailable and buildings are shuttered, HOLLIS can and should continue to be a key research resource, wherever students are.  That's in part because of the sheer size and enormous variety of what it contains, but also because the online content students can surface there is substantial. 

1. Search HOLLIS as you typically would (we give some advice on constructing effective search strings here). Results can then be limited, via the right-side filters, to materials ONLINE.

The limiter for online materials (like other filters) can be locked for the duration of your HOLLIS search session. ​When you apply the filter, it will, by default, look like this:    When locked, the icon color changes to blue: 

Locking filters is a useful option when you want to modify a search, do a completely new search, jump to a subject heading string,etc. You can mix and match locked and unlocked filters, too, as in this example: filters for language, onlline access, date, and resource type displayed, with 3 of the 4 locked


2.  Many publishers are opening up temporary, emergency access to a wide array of e-books, textbooks, and digital materials that fuel scholarship. Listed below are several that may have particular utility for students and faculty working on social science and interdisciplinary research projects.

JSTOR E-books (30,000 books selected from academic presses)

Project Muse E-Books (a growing collection of temporarily free e-book and journal content, contributed by academic and university publishers)

University of Michigan E-Book Platform

HathiTrust Emergency Library: If we have it, and HathiTrust has a digitized copy, you'll be able to check it out, reserves-style. Presently, loan are given for 1 hour, renewable if there's no waiting list. The key here is be sure you click on the button, top right  and choose Harvard University.

Internet Archive National Emergency Archive: 1 million-plus books made available digitally during the pandemic to promote teaching, research and learning. 

  GENERAL NOTE:  Harvard Libraries do not, at present, subscribe to all of the e-book collections offering expanded, free access to their content. Access will most likely sometime between late-April and June 2020 (depending on the publisher).

Helpful Services & Tools

Additional credits: The contents of the Books and COVID-19 section come from the ALM Research Guide: Social Sciences Edition created by Mary Frances Angelini, Research Librarian for the Harvard Extension School, Jonathan Paulo, Online Learning and Research Librarian for DCE and Sue Gilroy, Librarian for Undergraduate Writing Programs, Harvard College Library.