Welcome - 歡迎 - Bienvenida - خوش آمدید - Bienvenu - 환영합니다 - Қош келдіңіз - 歓迎 - Willkommen - Ласкаво просимо - Selamat datang

5 Things You Need to Do for Your Research:

  1. Meet with a research librarian in your field of study. Librarians can help you find the books, articles, and other resources you need and answer any questions you have. Even during COVID-19, we are working remotely to help you!
  2. Learn how to use the libraries. Attend an online library workshop or make an appointment to meet virtually with a librarian to learn how to use our library catalog, HOLLIS.
  3. Stay informed: sign up to receive updates about library services during COVID-19.
  4. Learn how to use citation tools to save the information you use in your research as you go and easily create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies.
  5. Use the library's research guides to find the best materials within your subject area.

(last updated July 2020)

Glossary

Useful words to know for using the library and doing research:

  • carrel: a study desk for an individual
  • catalog: an organized, searchable listing of the library's collection
  • citation: an item's title, author, and publication information listed in a specific, concise format
  • database: a searchable, organized collection of information that will direct you where to look for an item or, in some cases, contain the item itself
  • e-resource: electronic resource - a source of information available online
  • full-text: the content of a work, as opposed to the information about a work
  • holdings: the library's collections
  • HOLLIS: Harvard's online catalog
  • stacks: the area in the library where the books are kept