Dome of the Rock, black and white photograph, c. 1960-1970. Widener Library, Judaica Division. Image via HOLLIS
Dome of the Rock, color photograph by David Harris, c. 1980-1985. Widener Library. Judaica Division. Image via HOLLIS
The Dome of the Rock Mosque in the Al Aqsa Mosque compound, photographed Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014. Sacred to both Muslims and Jews (who refer to it as the Temple Mount), the disputed site is a source of tension in Jersualem. Image via Associated Press Images Archive.
Arabic Language Sources by Region
Middle East and North Africa, General
al-Ḥarakah al-Islāmīyah : ruʼyah mustaqbalīyah : awrāq fī al-naqd al-dhātī by
Islam and state -- Arab countries.
Islam and politics -- Arab countries.
Islam and social problems -- Arab countries.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Arab countries.
Place: Kuwait
ISBN: 9789996651342Publication Date: Kuwait : Maktabat Āfāq, 2012.
al-Salafīyah : majallat al-tawḥīd wa-al-Sunnah ʻalá fahm al-salaf al-ṣāliḥ
vol. 1-7
Islam -- 20th century -- Periodicals.
Islamic renewal -- Periodicals.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Periodicals.
Place: Saudi Arabia -- Riyadh.
Publication Date: al-Riyāḍ : [Dār al-Buḥūth wa-al-Dirāsāt al-Muʻāṣirah wa-al-Tarājim, 1994-; al-ʻAdad 1. (1415 H [1994/1995])-- al-Sharq al-Awsaṭ fī mīzān al-ruʻb by
Islamic fundamentalism -- Middle East -- Sources.
World politics -- Sources.
Middle East -- Politics and government -- Sources.
Middle East -- Foreign relations -- United States -- Sources.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Middle East -- Sources.
Place: Lebanon
Publication Date: Lubnān : [s.n.], 2003-
Algeria
- al-Thawrah al-Islāmīyah fī al-Jazāʾir : wathāʾiq wa-ḥaqāʾiq : al-naṣṣ al-kāmil lil-barnāmaj al-siyāsī li-Jabhat al-Inqādh al-Islāmīyah by
Jabhah al-Islāmīyah lil-Inqādh (Algeria);
Islam and politics -- Algeria.;
Political parties -- Algeria.;
Islamic fundamentalism -- Algeria.;
Algeria -- Politics and government.
Publication Date: al-Qāhirah : Yāfā lil-Dirāsāt wa-al-Abḥāth, 1991
Egypt
- al-Ikhwān al-Muslimūn majallah Islāmīyah ijtimāʻīyah
Periodical.
2 vols.
Editors: Ashmāwī, Ṣāliḥ Muṣṭafá
Markaz al-ʻĀmm lil-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Cairo, Egypt)
Publication Date: al-Qāhirah, al-Markaz al-ʻĀmm lil-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn.; al-sanah 1-2 (al-ʻadad 1-48), Aghusṭus 1942 - Dīsimbir 1944
- al-Nadhīr ; jarīdah siyāsīyah Islāmīyah usbūʻīyah taṣduru ʻalá mabādiʾ al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn
Periodical.
Vols. 1-7
Editor(s): ʻAshmāwī, Ṣāliḥ Muṣṭafá
ʻUthmān, Maḥmūd Abū Zayd
Publication Date: [al-Qāhirah], Maḥmūd Abū Zayd ʻUthmān.; al-sanah 1.- Māyū 1938-
- Jarīdat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn.
Periodical.
Vols. 2-5
Variant Titles: Ikhwān al-Muslimūn intermittent.
Ikhwān intermittent
Publication Date: al-Qāhirah.; al-sanah 1.- [1933?]-
- Lawāʼiḥ wa-qawānīn al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn min al-taʼsīs ḥattá al-intishār, 1930-2009 by
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt) -- History.
Islamic fundamentalism.
Islam and politics -- Egypt.
Islam and state -- Egypt.
Place: Cairo (Egypt)
ISBN: 9774415949Publication Date: [Cairo] : Muʼassast Iqraʼ lil-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ wa-al-Tarjamah, 2012.
- Min wathāʼiq al-thawrah : bayānāt al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn by
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt) -- Political activity -- Sources.
Protest movements -- Egypt -- History -- 21st century -- Sources.
Islam and politics -- Egypt -- History -- Sources.
Political participation -- Egypt -- History -- 21st century -- Sources.
Egypt -- History -- Protests, 2011- -- Sources.
Egypt -- Politics and government -- 21st century.
Place: Egypt -- Cairo
ISBN: 9772658445Publication Date: al-Qāhirah : Dār al-Tawzīʻ wa-al-Nashr, 2011
- Majmūʻat rasāʻil al-Imām al-shahīd Ḥasan al-Bannā. by
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt);
Islam -- 20th century.
Egypt -- Politics and government -- 1919-1952.
Publication Date: Bayrūt : al-Muʾassasah al-Islāmīyah lil-Ṭibāʻah wa-al-Ṣiḥāfah wa-al-Nashr, 1981
- Mudhakkirāt al-daʻwah wa-al-daʻīyah by
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt)
Publication Date: Bayrūt : al-Maktab al-Islāmī, 1974
- Nashʼat al-tanẓīm al-duwalī lil-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn : min al-nashʼah ḥattá al-sabʻīnāt by
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt);
Egypt -- Politics and government -- 20th century.
Place: Egypt -- Cairo
Publication Date: al-Qāhirah : Muʼassasat Iqraʼ lil-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ wa-al-Tarjamah, 2013
- Thalāth rasāʾil fī al-jihād by
Jihad.
Islam -- 20th century.
Publication Date: ʻAmmān : Dār ʻAmmār, 1991.
- Risālat al-Ikhwān.
Periodical.
Vols. 20-418
Jamʻīyat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn (Egypt) -- Periodicals.
Islam -- Arab countries -- Periodicals
Publication Date: [London] : al-Markaz al-Iʻlāmī lil-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn, 1996-2005
Iraq
- al-Shahādah
Islamic fundamentalism -- Iraq -- Periodicals.
Islam and politics -- Iraq -- Periodicals.
Iraq -- Politics and government -- Periodicals.
Place: Iraq -- Tehran.
Publication Date: [Ṭihrān?] : al-Majlis al-Aʻlá lil-Thawrah al-Islāmiyah fī al-ʻIrāq, 1984-1989
- Liwāʻ al-ṣadr
Islamic fundamentalism -- Iraq -- Periodicals.;
Islam and politics -- Iraq -- Periodicals.;
Iraq -- Politics and government -- Periodicals.
Place: Iraq -- Tehran.
Publication Date: Ṭihrān : Liwāʻ al-sadr, 1982-1997
Lebanon
- al-ʻAhd
Hizballah (Lebanon) -- Periodicals.;
Lebanon -- Newspapers.
Continued by: al-Intiqād (Beirut, Lebanon : 2001)
Publication Date: Beirut : Markaz al-Thaqāfah wa-al-Iʻlām, 1984-2001
- al-Intiqād
Official newspaper of Hizballah.
Hizballah (Lebanon) -- Periodicals.;
Lebanon -- Newspapers.
Continues: al-'Adh.
Publication Date: Beirut : Markaz al-Thaqāfah wa-al-Iʻlām, 2001-
- Ṣafaḥāt ʻizz fī kitāb al-ummah
Hizballah (Lebanon) -- Periodicals.;
Islam and politics -- Lebanon -- Periodicals.;
Islamic fundamentalism -- Lebanon -- Periodicals.;
Shiites -- Lebanon -- Political activity -- Periodicals.
Publication Date: Bayrūt : Ḥizb Allāh, 1993-1999
Morocco
- al-Islām al-siyāsī fī al-Maghrib : muqārabah wathāʼiqīyah by
Islam and politics -- Morocco.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Morocco.
Morocco -- Politics and government.
Publication Date: Morocco : Manshūrāt al-Majallah al-Maghribīyah li-ʻIlm al-Ijtimāʻ al-Siyāsī, 1992
- Mawāqif Jamāʻat al-ʻAdl wa-al-Iḥsān min khilāl taṣrīḥāt nāṭiqihā al-rasmī Dh. Fatḥ Allāh Arslān by
Jamāʻat al-ʻAdl wa-al-Iḥsān.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Morocco.
Islam and politics -- Morocco.
Political parties -- Morocco.
Publication Date: Tiṭwān : Maṭbaʻat al-Khalīj al-ʻArabī, 2005.
Jamāʻat al-ʻAdl wa-al-IḥsānOfficial online newspaper of Al Adl Wal Ihsane (Justice and Spirituality Movement). Also available in French.- Dhākirat al-ḥarakah al-Islāmīyah al-Maghribīyah
Periodical.
Islam and politics -- Morocco.
Political parties -- Morocco.
Politicians -- Morocco -- Interviews.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Morocco -- History.
Morocco -- Politics and government.
Editor: Talīdī, Bilāl.
Publication Date: al-Rabāṭ : Ṭūb Brīs, 2008-
Palestine
- First Hamas communique
Website links to other primary sources. - Hamas and its Political Strategy
2006 interview with Ishamel Haniyeh, hosted on Al-Jazeera.
Tunisia
- Ḥiwār al-marḥalah maʻa al-Shaykh Rāshid al-Ghannūshī : al-numūdhaj al-Tūnisī, al-Jazāʾir, asʾilat al-taghyīr, al-mashrūʻ al-Ṣihyūnī wa-muqāwamatih by
Ghannūshī, Rāshid -- Interviews.
Muslim scholars -- Tunisia -- Interviews.
Ulama -- Tunisia -- Interviews.
Islam and politics -- Africa, North.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Africa, North.
Publication Date: London: Filasṭīn al-Muslimah, 1996
- Ḥiwārāt [maʻa] Rāshid al-Ghannūshī by
Ghannūshī, Rāshid -- Interviews.
Muslim scholars -- Tunisia -- Interviews.
Ulama -- Tunisia -- Interviews.
Islam and politics -- Africa, North.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Africa, North
Publication Date: London : Khalil Media Service, 1992
- Rāshid al-Ghannūshī : al-nahḍah al-Islāmīyah fī Tūnis by
Ghannūshī, Rāshid.
Islamic renewal -- Tunisia.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Tunisia -- History.
Islam -- 21st century.
Islam -- 20th century.
Publication Date: Cairo : Dār al-Rawḍah lil-Nashr wa-al-Tawzīʻ, 2012]
- Maḥāwir Islāmīyah by
Islam and politics -- Tunisia.
Jihad.
Revolutionaries -- Islamic countries -- History.
Islamic fundamentalism -- Tunisia.
Islam -- 20th century.
Tunisia -- Politics and government.
Publication Date: Ṣanʻāʾ : Dār Iqrāʾ, 1992
Searching for Arabic Language Sources in HOLLIS: Tips
- Make sure to use the transliteration ("Romanization") tables provided by the Library of Congress.
- Romanized title searches in HOLLIS require you to drop the initial definite article "al-" when you enter a search. Keyword searches are not affected by the presence of the initial "al-."
- Although we recommend that you use Romanization in our catalog, HOLLIS handles Arabic script well.
- If you need to search for sources using Arabic script, be aware that while the majority of HOLLIS records have Arabic script, not all of them do.
Constitutions in Arabic
World Constitutions, Illustrated
Multi-lingual resource that brings together historical and contemporary documents, provides English translations of every constitution, and links to scholarly commentary.
Constitute ArabicPresents constitutions for fifty-four independent states, a sample that represents every region in the world. Texts are continually updated as language is replaced or amended. From this site, users can select and then systematically compare countries, passages, and topics. An English language version of worid constitutions is also available.
Intelligence and Research Centers: Collections
The Harmony Program [Combating Terrorism Center, West Point]
The CTC launched the Harmony Program in 2005 in order to release and analyze documents from the Department of Defense’s Harmony database. The focus of this program is to contextualize the inner-functioning of al-Qa’ida, its associated movements, and other security threats through primary source documents, in their original language. Harmony products released by the CTC are always accompanied by an analytical report and the primary source material from which its conclusions are based. By releasing this material, the CTC aims to make these sources, which are captured in the course of operations in Iraq, Afghanistan and other theaters, available to other scholars for further study.
ISIL, Syria, and Iraq Resoures [Combating Terrorism Center, West Point]
The CTC's gateway to primary sources (including declassified documents in Arabic), research, and analysis of the Islamic State and its affiliated organzations.
Islamist Websites
Ḥizb al-Ḥurrīyah wa-al-ʻAdālah
Arabic Wiki page archiving the Freedom and Justice Party [captures important information about foundational history, platform, ideology, and original members]
Jamāʻat al-Ikhwān al-Muslimīn
Ḥizb Jabhat al-ʻAmal al-Siyāsī [Islamic Action Front Party in Jordan; the political wind of the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan and currently, the largest oppositio party in the country.]
Facebook page for the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan
Arabic Wiki page on the history of the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan
Ḥizb al-ʻAdālah wa-al-Tanmiyah
Siraj: Electronic Encyclopedia of Imam Abdessalah Yassine [contains a list of the Leader's important publications in e-book format and the organization's periodical, al-Jamāʻah]
Yassine.net [links to the Leader's archives]
Yassine.org: The Leader's Foundation [includes links to primary sources in Arabic]
Jihadology
A clearinghouse for jihadi primary sources, translations, and original analysis, maintained by Aaron Y. Zellin.