What Data Can Contribute
Data often add value to an argument, essentially allowing you to make or augment a point with numbers or visualizations, rather than through explanatory text.
Data searching can also require considerable digging -- especially when you are working with raw numbers (micro-level information).The mediation of a librarian with special data expertise can save you time (and frustration).
Data questions for students in Gen Ed 1123 should be sent to the Library's Data Services librarians, who can be reached via govdocs@fas.harvard.edu.
DATA SOURCES AT HARVARD
Harvard libraries focus their data collections on economic and financial information, public opinion and survey polls, health data, IGO and NGO data, U.S. and foreign census data, and statistical compendia from the U.S. and foreign governments.
Data sources at Harvard may exist online, in databases, on CD-ROMs available for use within the library, and in print sources.
Some handy guides to data also exist. Access them here.
Official Country Specific Statistical Data Sources
Governmental Sites:
- Algeria: National Office of Statistics
- Egypt: Government Office for Statistics
- Iran: Government Statistical Center
- Lebanon: Central Administration of Statistics
- Saudi Arabia: Annual Statistical Yearbook (General Authority for Statistics)
- Syria: Central Bureau of Statistics
- Tunisia: Government Office for Statistics
IGO Sites
Polling and Survey Data
- ARDAThe Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
- Carnegie Middle East Governance and Islam Dataset, 1988-2014Demographic surveys on 14 Arab countries. To use the dataset, you'll first need to create a login account; look for the prompt on the landing screen.
- GallupIncludes: World Poll Data (economic, social, and well-being data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries);
Gallup Brain (historical Gallup trends on thousands of topics from the U.S. and world dating back to the 1930s).
Browse reports on such topics as Muslim-Western Relations, Muslims and Islam, Terrorism, and Religious Extremism.
- World Public OpinionThe WorldPublicOpinion.org network is a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries. At present the network consists of research centers in more than 25 countries across all of the major continents. Search by topic or browse by region (Middle East and North Africa).
- World Values Survey Online AnalysisThe WVS seeks to help scientists and policy makers understand changes in the beliefs, values and motivations of people throughout the world. The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire, to analyze such topics as economic development, democratization, religion, gender equality, social capital, and subjective well-being.
Data on Conflicts, Political Violence, and Activism
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) DatabasesThe task of SIPRI is to conduct scientific research on questions of conflict and cooperation of importance for international peace and security. Among other things, it publishes research on international conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.
- SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and DisarmamentAn authoritative yearly overview overview of developments in international security, weapons and technology, military expenditure, the arms trade and arms production, and armed conflicts, along with efforts to control conventional, nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.
- Global Digital Activism Data SetData associated with a project which aims to study the effect of digital technology on civic engagement, nonviolent protest, and political change around the world.
Resources on Elections
- ElectionGuideProvided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES). Includes information on: Election results & voter turnout | National elections | Subnational elections of high interest | Political parties & candidates | Referendum provisions |
Political institutions and electoral systems - Voter TurnoutFigures for 171 independent states, covering national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 from the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance.