Subjects & Keywords
Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT): find alternate terms to expand your searching
Data and Maps
Books and Journals Beyond Harvard
Most useful databases:
- Avery Index of Architectural Periodicals
- Urban Studies Abstracts
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): a multidisciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.
- America: History and Life
- Web of Science Citation Index, including Journal Citations Reports, with ranking of urban studies titles by impact factor.This guide will get you started.
- Journal of Planning Literature
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
- Sociological Abstracts
- CQ Researcher : reports on a current social issues, providing background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading. Relevant reports on housing, development and transportation.
- Lexis Nexis Academic: for indexing and full text of legal, business and news sources.
- ISI Emerging Markets: provides comprehensive country and company information for emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East-North Africa,including: country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.
- TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Services Online)
For a complete list of e-resources see E-Research at Harvard
Use Harvard's HOLLIS Catalog to find books, DVDs, journals, images, and more:
HOLLIS searches books, journals, maps, archival materials, images, videos and music from the Harvard library collections.
Need More Help?
Start at the Services desk during library hours for quick assistance and on-site referrals.
Ask a Design Librarian - view answers to frequently asked questions..and submit your own.
Schedule a Research Consultation: Contact Sarah Dickinson with a brief description of your topic and times you are available to meet.