Library Research Guide for History of Science 193: History and Technology of Food Production in Modern America

The Agricultural index, 1916-1964.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Reading Room (West Balcony) (1916/18-1962/64)
LOCATION: Botany Econ. Botany: PER
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Z 5071 A35 (1916, 1923-1925, 1962-1964, incomplete)
LOCATION: Widener: Econ 6401.11 (1916-36)

Continued by:
Biological & agricultural index.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 5071 A35 (1964-1967)

Bibliography of agriculture (1942-2000) includes books, papers in conference proceedings, periodical articles, etc. Foreign literature indexed pre-1987, only U.S. since. Thorough coverage of Federal and state publications. Online version: AGRICOLA (1970- ).
LOCATION: Cabot Science: PER 2336 (1942-88)
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 5071 B5 (1942-88)

CAB Abstracts (1973- ) includes journal articles, conference papers, reports, and books on all aspects of agricultural and rural economics, sociology, and policy, including agricultural aspects of international trade. Worldwide coverage with emphasis on Africa and Latin America. Includes World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts which was published in print 1959-72:
LOCATION: Baker Business |Harvard Depository 9838750 (1959-89).
LOCATION: Widener | Econ 6401.25 Current issues: Periodicals Reading Room Stacks

Food Science & Technology Abstracts (1969- )
Not at Harvard; Available at MIT (1969-1996). For getting an MIT library card.

Industrial arts index (1913-57) indexes English-language applied science, technical, trade, and management literature: the literature of practice.
LOCATION: Baker Business: 1913-1957
LOCATION: Loeb Design: PER 1918-1957
LOCATION: Widener: Tec 200.12 1913-1916; 1918-1957

Continued by:
Applied Science and Technology Index (1958- ) which indexes over 350 English-language periodicals worldwide. Includes book reviews.
LOCATION: Baker Business: (1958-1982)
Cabot Science Harvard Depository PER 2052 (1968-1999)

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. A record consists of a citation and the article's bibliography (in abbreviated form). The citations themselves can be searched via author, title or other searches or the bibliographies can be searched for the presence of a chosen work (a cited reference search). Since 1999, abstracts have been included. Includes book reviews. A guide is available: Searching the Citation Indexes (Web of Science). The Web of Science comprises three indexes: Science Citation Index, (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- ) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ). The indexed journals are listed by subject categories in the Master Journal List.

Biological Abstracts, 1926- . Online coverage starts in 1969. Print version:
LOCATION: Cabot Science: REFERENCE (1926- )
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 5320 B5 (1926-96)
LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Reference (1926-90)

JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of several journals in ecology and evolutionary biology from their inceptions to about 5 years ago. JSTOR provides a list of included biological sciences journals.

Look for specialized subject bibliographies which may include secondary sources in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search, e.g., Agriculture and Bibliography [Subject Keyword search] on Expanded Search screen or in WorldCat.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture, Cornell University.

Collection of full-text searchable agricultural texts (1850-1950). Includes agricultural economics and engineering, animal science, crop protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Texts are listed and evaluated in The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press:

• The literature of forestry and agroforestry, 1996.
• The literature of crop science, 1995.
• The contemporary and historical literature of food science and human nutrition, 1995.
• The Literature of soil science, 1994.
• The Literature of agricultural engineering, 1992.
• Agricultural economics and rural sociology: the contemporary core literature, 1991.

Experiment Station Record, 1889-1946. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, 95 v. (2/yr.).
Botany Gray Herbarium | Scc Un3 Exp
Widener | Harvard Depository | Sci 1620.57.15
Widener | Harvard Depository | Sci 1620.57.16
Google Books version http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.FIG:003880442

Monthly collection of abstracts of agricultural experiment station publications, arranged under general subjects, with name and subject indexes, 95 volumes. Subject index: 1889-1939, 7 v. (each of the 7 volumes covers several years). Agricultural experiment station publications are included in the Bibliography of Agriculture, 1943- .

Fusonie, A. M. 1975. Heritage of American Agriculture: A Bibliography of pre-1860 Imprints. USDA, National Agricultural Library (Library List no. 98), 71 pp.
Baker Business | Historical Collections -- Reference | Z881.U4 L5
Botany Arnold (Cambr.) | Z5075.U5 F7
Botany Arnold (Cambr.) | Bibl Un3.5h 42.3
Botany Econ. Botany | 91

List of books and pamphlets, agricultural societies and their transactions, and periodicals.

Herendeen, D. and W. C. Olsen. 1995. Primary United States historical literature of crop science, 1850-1949. Pp. 383-499 in The Literature of Crop Science. Ithaca: Cornell Unversity Press.
Cabot Science Harvard Depository SB45.65 .L58 1995 007188830

History of the American Seed and Nursery Industry and Their Trade Catalogs: Bibliography.

Rogal, S. J. 1994. Agriculture in Britain and America, 1660-1820: An Annotated Bibliography of the Eighteenth-century Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 266 pp.

Thompson, S. J. and C. W. Hall. 1992. Primary historical literature, 1850-1950. Pp. 339-405 in: Literature of Agricultural Engineering. Carl W. Hall and Wallace C. Olsen, eds. Ithaca, NY: Cornell Univ. Press.
Cabot Science Harvard Depository S674.3 .L58 1992 007623472

Citation analysis. Includes lists of important U. S. and foreign monographs, and trade and popular periodicals.

United States. Office of Experiment Stations. 1924. List of bulletins of the agricultural experiment stations in the United States from their establishment to the end of 1920. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Department Bulletin no. 1199.

By state, no index.

Supplemented by: List of bulletins of the agricultural experiment stations for the calender years .... U.S. Dept. of agriculture. Department Bulletin no. 1199.

Three issues:

• Supplement 1, 1921-1922, 1924
• Supplement 2, 1923-1924, 1926
• Supplement 3, 1925-1926, 1927

Herendeen, D. and W. C. Olsen. 1995. Primary United States historical literature of crop science, 1850-1949. Pp. 383-499 in The Literature of Crop Science. Ithaca: Cornell Unversity Press.
Cabot Science Harvard Depository SB45.65 .L58 1995 007188830

Hurt, R. D. & M. E. Hurt. 1994. The History of Agricultural Science and Technology: An International Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 485 pp.
Widener WID-LC S419.Z99 H87 1994x