Research Guides: Public Opinion Sources: Home

Harvard Databases

Roper Center for Public Opinion (Harvard Login)
Access to aggregate and raw public opinion data.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. While the data collection focuses strongly on United States public opinion, it also includes growing collections of (micro-level) European, Latin American (Latin American Databank) and Japanese (JPOLL) polls. The data archive (micro-level data) is searchable by keyword, date, and survey organization. The iPOLL database (summary-level data) is searchable by keyword, subject /or survey organization and survey sponsor; it provides question and response level data. The Roper Center resources require users to set up individual accounts in order to gain access to the data.
Gallup Analytics (Harvard Login)
Records of 70+ years of public opinion polling data and analyses compiled by Gallup, Inc.
Fully searchable records of Daily U.S. Data - economic, well-being, and political data collected daily since 2008 of 1,000+ interviews; World Poll Data - economic, social, and well-being data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries, 1.5 million+ interviews worldwide; and Gallup Brain - historical Gallup trends on thousands of topics from the U.S. and world dating back to the 1930s.

Polling the Nations (Harvard Login)
Questions and responses from surveys conducted by polling organizations from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (Harvard Login)
Surveys on democratic values and behaviors in 23 countries in Latin America. Includes micro level data. Some historical data is available on the Harvard Dataverse (restricted to Harvard affiliates).

Pew Research Center
Provides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world. Includes some raw data.
Reuters Polling
Weekly polls on a variety of topics since 2012.
American National Election Studies
ANES provides data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Free registration is required to view and download data.
Odum Institute Archive
Database maintained by the University of North Carolina provides access to the Harris Poll, Carolina Poll, Southern Poll, National Network of State Polls and Knight Foundation Community Poll collections. Raw data included.
PollingReport
Aggregates polling data from dozens of prominent pollsters.
General Social Survey
Personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States 1972-present. Raw data included

World Values Survey
WorldPublicOpinion.org
Information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Includes extensive links to additional public opinion sites, by region and topic.
IRI Public Opinion Polls
The International Republican Institute conducts public opinion polls in many countries around the world with an emphasis on democracy and elections.
Latin American Public Opinion Project
Surveys on democratic values and behaviors in 23 countries in Latin America. Includes micro level data. Harvard also has a subscription.
Angus Reid Institute
This institute commissions, conducts and disseminates original, publicly accessible and impartial statistical public opinion polling research and policy analysis.
Global Barometer Survey
Systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens' political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region. It is based on a common module of questions contained in regional barometer surveys.

See also: Afrobarometer, Arabbarometer, Asianbarometer, Latinobarometro, and Eurobarometer.