Explore Topics for Research
Yellow Peril Collection: https://apa.nyu.edu/collections/
Schlesinger Library _ Asian Americans and Asians Archival Colletion
Schlessinger Library on the History of Women in America
https://www.radcliffe.harvard.edu/schlesinger-library
Start your archival research on Asian American and Asian collections with this guide. The countries mentioned in this research guide include: Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Syria, Thailand, and Vietnam. Use the menu on the left to view additional material related to this topic.
Schlesinger Library _Radcliffe Asian American Women's Group "Images of Asian American Women, 1850-1980s" slideshow, 1978
Harvard Houghton Library_ Asian American Theater Company posters and press kit
Houghton Library
Collection Identifier: MS Thr 1725Harvard Film Archive_ Asian American Film Ephemera Collection
Harvard Film Archive, Harvard Library, Harvard University
Collection Identifier: hfa00002Harvard Library_ Woodberry Poetry Room
The Woodberry Poetry Room is one of the largest A/V archives for poetry and literary recordings in the United States and a lively literary center at Harvard University---free and open to the public. Founded in 1931, the archive includes recordings of such authors as John Ashbery, Amiri Baraka, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Creeley, E. E. Cummings, Robert Duncan, T. S. Eliot, Ralph Ellison, Robert Frost, Galway Kinnell, Allen Ginsberg, Louise Glück, Seamus Heaney, Jack Kerouac, Audre Lorde, Robert Lowell, Marianne Moore, Vladimir Nabokov, Charles Olson, Sylvia Plath, Claudia Rankine, Adrienne Rich, Wallace Stevens, Cecilia Vicuña, Ocean Vuong, and Raúl Zurita. The WPR YouTube channel features a wide array of public programs (readings, seminars, oral histories, and lectures) hosted by the Poetry Room since 2011.
The Listening Booth features selections from the Woodberry Poetry Room
Harvard Hollis Images _ Asian America
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories (IMLD) (1800-1950) includes 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of information, illustrating what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Search this collection for letters, diaries, and oral histories.
New York University Library _ Asian American Studies Guide
Guide curated by Andrew H. Lee, PhD
MOCA: Musuem of Chinese in America
The Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA) has amassed a nationally-significant collection of materials documenting Chinese life in America. Beginning as what the Smithsonian Magazine described as "a cultural rescue mission to save a little-known immigrant heritage," MOCA’s collection has grown to document the changing profile of Chinese America—from its humble beginnings in the 19th century to its dynamic presence today. MOCA’s Collections and Research Center currently houses more than 85,000 artifacts, photos, memorabilia, documents, oral histories, and art work. This expansive array of archival material enriches the history of Chinese in America for our visitors in ways both rigorously academic and profoundly personal.
Asian American Writers' Workshop
AAWW Radio is the podcast of the Asian American Writers' Workshop, a national nonprofit dedicated to the idea that Asian American stories deserve to be told. Listen to AAWW Radio and you’ll hear selected audio from our current and past events. We’ve hosted established writers like Claudia Rankine, Maxine Hong Kingston, Roxane Gay, Amitav Ghosh, and Hanya Yanagihara, as well as more emerging writers like Ocean Vuong, Solmaz Sharif, and Jenny Zhang. Our events are intimate and intellectual, quirky yet curated, dedicated to social justice but with a sense of humor and weirdness. We curate our events to juxtapose novelists and activists, poets and intellectuals, and bring together people who usually wouldn’t be in the same room. We’ve got it all: from avant-garde poetry to post-colonial politics, feminist comics to lyric verse, literary fiction to dispatches from the racial justice left. A sanctuary for the immigrant imagination, we’re inventing the future of Asian American literary culture. Learn more by visiting aaww.org.
https://aaww.org/
Asian American Racial Justice Toolkit
https://www.asianamtoolkit.org/
The Toolkit project includes the following organizations: Asian Pacific Environmental Network Chinese Progressive Association SF Korean Resource Center Filipino Advocates for Justice CAAAV: Organizing Asian Communities PrYSM DRUM Khmer Girls in Action 1Love Movement AYPAL: Building API Power VAYLA New Orleans Freedom Inc Korean American Resource and Culture Center Mekong NYC VietLead