Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library
Full-Text Databases & Corpora
LATIN
- Cross Database Search toolFull‐text searchable database of a comprehensive library of medieval and ancient Latin texts, including the contents of the MGH (Monumenta Germaniae Historica), Library of Latin Texts (Series A & B), Archive of Celtic‐Latin Literature, and Aristoteles Latinus Database.
*Access through Brepols Databases - Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)Searchable full‐text database of everything in the MGH in the form of full‐page PDF scans
- Patrologia Latina (PL)Searchable full‐text version of the works of the Church Fathers from the third century to 1216
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)Searchable database of Latin texts from antiquity to neo‐Latin
GREEK
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)The authoritative Greek corpus; an abridged corpus and guide to authors and works (Canon) are available with a free registration
OLD ENGLISH
- Anglo‐Saxon Poetic Records (ASPR)Standard collective edition of all known Old English poetry
- Dictionary of Old English Web CorpusSearchable online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text (prose and verse)
Dictionaries & Language tools
LATIN
- Orbis Latinus (Graesse)Glossary of Latin placenames, from Aara (the Aar, a river in Switzerland) to Zyringae (a town in Turkey)
- Database of Latin Dictionaries*DMLBS recommended
Cross‐dictionary searching of a variety of major dictionaries, including those specifically for the medieval period.
*Access through Brepols Databases
NB: When searching for headwords, remember that different dictionaries have different rules for headwords, so searching amo pulls up “to love” in L&S, but not in DMLBS. Searching amare pulls up “to love” in DMLBS, but in L&S your search ends “bitterly”!
GREEK
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) DictionariesThe full corpus of the TLG is behind a paywall, but the dictionaries are open access with a free registration
- Typing in GreekHow to set your Windows keyboard to type in Greek
OLD ENGLISH
Bibles
- Parallel PlusThe holy grail of parallel Bible websites: up to 7 parallel translations with hundreds of translations and languages to choose from at the top of each column.
- Douay‐Rheims Bible online*Recommended for reading and searching the Vulgate
Full‐text searchable Latin Vulgate bible and the 1582‐1609 Douay‐Rheims English translation of it, as revised by Challoner 1749‐1752 and published in 1899. - Bible GatewayA searchable online Bible in more than 200 versions and 70 languages.
Encyclopedias
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle AgesAccess through Brepols
- Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumEncyclopedia of Byzantine history
Bibliographies for Medieval Studies
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)Comprehensive bibliography of medieval subjects including works since 1968; your first stop for any Medieval Studies research.
*Access through Brepols Databses - MirabileElectronic version of Medioevo Latino, a bibliography for Medieval Studies from 1980, including some abstracts
The Copy Editors' Friends
- Hyphenation Tableinstructions on when to use a hyphen and when not to
- 9.61 Number Abbreviationsinstructions on how to use an en‐dash to abbreviate an inclusive number range. (Is it 115–7 or 115–17? If you’re not sure, check.)