France

Directory: L'annuaire des services d'archives

Important collections of private papers tend to fetch up in Paris in the Archives Nationales (Archives personelles et familiales) , the Bibliothèque Nationale (Département des manuscrits), or the collections of the numerous institutes. The subject indexes of directories of Paris repositories will direct you to likely locations. The Catalogue général des manuscrits des bibliothèques publiques de France (see Welsch) is a valuable sources for libraries outside of Paris, but the bulk of the included collections are of pre-Revolutionary material.

Overviews

Archives de France

Archives Made Easy: France  (London School of Economics)

Welsch, Erwin K. Archives and libraries in France: with 1991 supplement. New York: Council for European Studies, 1991, 1979.
LOCATION: Widener: RR45.356.5

French Proseminar: Archival Research (Columbia)

French resources (PORT; University of London)

General Sources

Calames: Catalogue en ligne des archives et des manuscrits de l'enseignement supérieur

Catalogue Collectif de France: Choose Bases Manuscrits

Base d’Orientation et de Recherche dans les Archives (BORA): Archives privées offers a collective search for personal papers throughout France.

Subject Guides

Bibliotheque litteraire Jacques Doucet

IMEC (Institut Mémoires de l'édition contemporaine) contains archives of contemporary French literature and publishing.

Les archives des scientifiques, XVIe-XXe siècle: guide des fonds conservés en France, by Thérèse Charmasson, Marion Daniel, Catherine Gaziello et Carole Rota-Tréguier. Paris : Éditions du Comité des travaux historiques et scientifiques, 2008, 629 p.
HOLLIS Record

Repository Guides

Archives nationales

Archives Nationales

Salle des inventaires virtuelle

Search Instructions

Etat sommaire des fonds d'archives privées

Finding aids for individual collections with biographical notes and brief contents, no detailed folder lists.

Includes and augments information in:
Les Archives nationales: etat des inventaires. Paris: Archives nationales, 1985- .
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CD1196 1985x Library has: v. 1-2, 4

Les inventaires des Archives nationales, [ca. 1800-ca. 1989].
LOCATION: Widener Microforms: Microfiche W 3660. Library has: 4 ser. + suppl. on 9232 microfiches
LOCATION: Widener Microforms: INDEX Microfiche W 3660 = Guide
Online Guide

Centre des Archives du Monde du Travail (CAMT)

Centre des Archives d'Outre-Mer (CAOM)   Search Instructions

Archives departementales

Archives en ligne par départements

Online Departmental Archives

Catalogue des instruments de recherche des archives departementales, communales et hospitalieres, en vente dans les services d'archives des departements a la date du 30 juin 1981. Paris: Archives nationales: Diffuse par la Documentation francaise, 1981.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CD1192.A2 F73 1981

Archives diplomatiques

Archives diplomatiques - Quai d'Orsay

Bibliothèque Diplomatique Numérique

Centre des Archives diplomatiques de La Courneuve

Archives Diplomatiques in Nantes

A Visit to the Archives Diplomatiques in Nantes

Information -- Information (Hazine) 

Bibliotheque nationale, Département des manuscrits.

Rechercher dans le catalogue BnF Archives et manuscrits

Inventaire des instruments de recherche Manuscrits occidentaux, [ca. 1700-ca. 1970].
LOCATION: Widener Microforms: Microfiche W 4062
LOCATION: Widener Microforms: INDEX Microfiche W 4062 = Guide

Reprints of printed and mss. catalogs and indexes issued between ca. 1700 and 1970 of the Library’s Greek, Latin, French and Western modern languages mss. holdings.

Bibliotheques Publiques

Catalogue general des manuscrits des bibliotheques publiques de France. T. 1- . Paris: Librarie Plon, 1886- .
LOCATION: Widener: B 3505.15
LOCATION: Widener Microforms: Film S 1171
HathiTrust version
Internet Archive version

Index general des manuscrits decrits dans le Catalogue general des manuscrits des bibliotheques publiques de France. Paris: References cf, 1993.
LOCATION: Houghton: Reading Room HRR 40.4.5

Service historique de la Défense

Service historique de la Défense

Inventaire des archives du Centre militaire d’information et de documentation sur l’Outre-Mer : sous-serie 15 H / Ministère de la défense, État-Major de l’Armée de terre, Service historique ; ed. by Jean Nicot. Chateau de Vincennes: Service historique de l’Armée de terre, 1987, 139 p. Location : Widener WID-LC CD1206.A836 F7 1987bx