Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expos 20: The Art of the Con: Databases for Journal Articles

A Research Guide

Databases for Journal Articles

Use these databases for faster access to more relevant search results.

Academic Search Premier
Covers all academic subjects, and includes popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
This database searches more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day. If you're looking for criticism of a particular film, use the film's title as a search term and limit to "Production Title."

Film and Television Literature Index
This database covers journals and magazines for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. To find articles about a particular film or show, type the title and limit your search to "SU Subject Terms."

MLA International Bibliography
This is the standard comprehensive database of scholarly articles on literature, as well as dissertations, essays, and conference papers.

America: History and Life
Search for journal articles, essays and books on famous cons in American history, such as the "Reverse Underground Railroad."

PsycInfo
Search for journal articles, essays and books on the psychology of frauds, scams, and hoaxes.

Database of Scholarly Research on Fakes and Cons
The most comprehensive index of articles, essays, and books on the psychology, history, and literature of impersonators, frauds, and swindlers.

But . . . won't I get all the articles I need with HOLLIS?
HOLLIS will give you a lot of articles, but specialized databases (like those above) can give you more focused results from specific fields of study.

News

Articles in news media can give you basic facts about a hoax or a scam, its history, and its social impact. You can also find interviews, op-ed essays, and other personal statements in news media.

Nexis Uni and Factiva
These two databases of newspapers and other news sources include articles from the 1970s until today. For older articles, use the historical New York Times and other newspapers from ProQuest Historical Newspapers
NOTE: Factiva automatically searches for the latest three months of content only, but you can change this time frame when setting up your search.