Digital Collections/CRL/Internet Archive

Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries in Chicago is an important repository of South Asian and other material. A considerable amount is available online. Search the CRL catalog using the Advanced search which has a Language field. Much is only in print or microfilm for which you fill out an Interlibrary Loan form as usual. You can limit to online material by adjusting Reproduction Type to Online.

For digital items, when you hit the link in the Available Online box (for example), you may find that the digital material is open access and you can look at it. For LLMC material go through HOLLIS Databases. Sometimes you get a “Member Restricted Resource” page. Harvard is a member, but for technical reasons we cannot use the Shibboleth Login that is offered. So what you do is to take the url, say https://dds.crl.edu/crldelivery/13287 and change it to https://dds-crl-edu.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/crldelivery/13287

That is you put .ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/ after the https://dds-crl-edu

If you don’t want to do this manually, there is an app (called the Bookmark) you can insert on your browser bookmarks bar. It’s labelled Check Harvard Library, and it automatically inserts that url fragment when you hit the bookmark. General instructions. Installation is slightly different in different browsers. We can help if you have any trouble.

Sometimes when you hit the link in the Available Online box you are taken to the login page of a different database, for example LLMC (example). Here you go to LLMC in HOLLIS Databases and log in with Harvard Key in the ordinary way

The records in the CRL Catalog can be searched in HOLLIS Everything, NOT HOLLIS Library Catalog, but there is no option for online access.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Topic Guides: China   ---   South Asia

Internet Archive

In Advanced search you can search say Description: "South Asia", and at the top left of the results page choose Media type: Collection.  When on a Collection page, you can search within by metadata or full text

ALA-LC Romanization Tables

For language limitation:

https://archive.org/details/booksbylanguage_telugu

https://archive.org/details/booksbylanguage_urdu

Then Search this Collection

Results from this method overlap those obtained from:

(language:tel OR language:"Telugu")

To which you can add a subject: (language:tel OR language:"Telugu") AND subject:"Ayurveda"

In Advanced Search: Description: Pakistan. On results (32,652) open More under Media Type, choose Collections (53)

Internet Archive includes:

Other Digital Libraries and Collections:

CrossAsia   About

South Asia

Abhilekh Patal accesses the National Archives of India’s Online Reference Media and its Digitized Collections.

Afghanistan: The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection at the University of Nebraska-Omaha

Afghanistan Digital Library 1870-1930

Basic documents in the development of modern India and Pakistan, 1835-1947, by Christine Dobbin. London, New York, Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1970, 167 p.

Central Secretariat Library Digital Collections (a Government of India library)

Digital Repository of Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics is an enormous collection

Digital South Asia Library

Endangered Archives Programme.  Explore the Archives, then narrow by Related Places or Project Country on left.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan (UK)

Foundations of Pakistan : All-India Muslim League documents, 1906-1947, ed. by Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada. Islamabad : National Institute of Historical and Cultural Research Center of Excellence, Quaid-i-Azam University, 2007-
--v. 1. 1906-1924 -- v. 2. 1924-1947 -- v. 3. Documents, 1906-1947

Harappa: The Indus Valley and the Raj in India and Pakistan offers images, audio files, etc. on the Indus Valley 2000 BCE to the 1947 partition. Hard to navigate.

Internet Indian History Sourcebook

The Long Emergency: Media and Democracy in India (1975-1977) offers oral history interviews documenting journalism.  Also includes films, cartoons, news clippings, government documents, and court judgements.

Medical History of British India (19th-20th century) includes veterinary medicine and animal husbandry.

Qatar Digital Library includes South Asian material.  Explore yields Filters on left, including Filter by Place

SOAS Digital Collections (School of Oriental AND African Studies, Univ. of London)

Urban History Documentation Archive of the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta (CSSSC) includes:
a) printed literature in the vernaculars relating to social and cultural history, mostly periodicals from Eastern India printed from the inception of printing until the 1950s and in Bengali and Assamese.
b) visual documents, mainly early popular visual forms of productions in Bengal, modern academic art forms and photographs
c) advertisement and commercial art in Bengali from 1800 to –1950.

World Digital Library. Pakistan. To refine your set open View all 252 items, then Narrow results on top left

Wilson Center Digital Archive

China

Chinese Pamphlets from the Early Period of the People's Republic of China (1947-1954): Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.

China: trade, politics & culture

China: culture and society (1750-1929) includes a wide variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement in China from the mid-18th to the early 20th centuries.  Core consists of rare pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. Materials include: addresses and speeches; annual reports; assessments; catalogs; essays; examinations; guides and manuals; inquiries and studies; journals; lecture notes; letters; magazine articles; minutes of meetings; notes and records.

Foreign Office files for China, 1919-1980 (UK)

China, America and the Pacific : trade & cultural exchange 18th-19th centuries

Japan

Meiji Japan :the Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum

Southeast Asia

CRL SEAM Collections

ASEAN Digital Library (Assoc. of Southeast Asian Nations)

Cornell Modern Indonesia Collection offers reports, translations, monographs, and bibliographies on Indonesia's 20th century political and social evolution

Online Burma/Myanmar Library: Classified and annotated links to more than 60,000 full text documents on Burma/Myanmar

SouthEast Asian Images & Texts includes digital secondary and primary sources

Foreign Office files for South East Asia, 1963-1980 (UK)