Printers, Publishers and Booksellers
British Book Trade Index offers index of names with brief biographical and trade details of people working in the book trade in England and Wales by 1851.
European Book Trade Guilds: a census
Datenbanken und Nachschlagewerke für Drucker und Verleger and Resources available at Yale for establishing authoritative forms for the names of pre-1800 European book trade personnel list biographical sources for booksellers, printers, publishers.
British literary book trade, 1475-1700 (Dictionary of literary biography, v. 170), 412 p.
Widener | RR 3129.5 vol. 170
Internet Archive Full Text
British literary book trade, 1700-1820 (Dictionary of literary biography, v. 154), 366 p.
Widener | RR 3129.5 vol. 154
Internet Archive Full Text
American literary publishing houses, 1638-1899 (Dictionary of literary biography, v. 49), 2 v.
Widener | RR 3129.5 vol.49
Pre-nineteenth-century British book collectors and bibliographers (Dictionary of literary biography, v. 213), 487 p.
Widener | RR 3129.5 vol. 213
A history of book publishing in the United States, by John Tebbel. NY: R. R. Bowker Co., 1972-1981. 4 v.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | Z473 .T42
Baker Business | Historical Collections -- Reference | Z473 .T42
Baker Business | Stacks -- LC Books | Z473 .T42
Widener | RR 101.16
Histoire générale de la presse française, ed. by Claude Bellanger, Jacques Godechot, Pierre Guiral et Fernand Terrou. 5 v. Paris, Presses universitaires de France, 1969-
Location : Lamont PN5174 .H5
Location : Widener 37556.12.55
HOLLIS record
--t. 1. Des origines à 1814 -- t. 2. De 1815 à 1871 -- t. 3. De 1871 à 1940 -- t. 4. De 1940 à 1958 -- t. 5. De 1958 à nos jours.
Finding British and American Publisher's Archives
Biographical Sources
Biografisches Lexikon des Druck- und Verlagswesens / Hans-Jürgen Halkasch. Itzehoe : Beruf +
Schule, 1993, 287 p.
Widener | WID-LC | Z231 .H35 1993x
--Brief information on roughly 1400 printers and publishers, including some living persons.
Coverage worldwide, from beginnings through 20th century. Some portraits.
Répertoire d'imprimeurs/libraires (vers 1500-vers 1810), by Jean-Dominique Mellot et Élisabeth Queval, avec la collaboration d'Antoine Monaque. Nouv. éd. mise à jour et augmentée (5 200 notices). Paris : Bibliothèque nationale de France, 2004. 668 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | Z695.1.P4 B54 2004x
--Brief information on 5199 printers and booksellers worldwide, but, currently, almost half are French. Entries include name variants, dates, city with addresses where known, biographical details, and sources, published and unpublished. Arranged by name with index by city. Names in the city index accompanied by dates of activity in each city, dates which include activity of the heirs as well as the original printer or book seller. Terminal bibliography.
Belgium
Rouzet, Anne. Dictionnaire des imprimeurs, libraires et éditeurs des XVe et XVIe siècles dans les limites géographiques de la Belgique actuelle. Nieuwkoop : B. de Graaf, 1975. 287 p. ( Collection du Centre national de l'archéologie et de l'histoire du livre ; 3 )
Widener | WID-LC | Z350 .R68
--About 800 articles, with source lists, on printers, publishers and booksellers active in Belgium
during the 15th and 16th centuries. Index by city. Terminal addenda, corrigenda, and bibliography of sources given in abbreviated form in the entries.
France
Répertoire des imprimeurs parisiens : libraires et fondeurs de caractères en exercice à Paris au XVIIe siècle : avec tables des addresses, des enseignes et des noms de personnes, by Philippe Renouard. Nogent le Roi : Libr. des arts et métiers-éditions, 1995, 524 p.
Widener | WID-LC | Z305 .R44 1995
HOLLIS Record
--Brief information on over 2000 printers, booksellers and type founders working in 16th century Paris, France. Published from corrected proofs found among Renouard’s papers, so information dates to 1907 and before. Introduction by Henri-Jean Martin. Terminal list of printers and addresses arranged by street. Name index.
Dictionnaire des éditeurs d'estampes à Paris sous l'Ancien Régime / Maxime Préaud ... [et al.]. Paris : Promodis/Editions du Cercle de la librairie, 1987, 334 p.
Widener | WID-LC | Z310.6.P37 D54 1987
--Covers about 600 publishers of prints working in Paris, France, before the French Revolution. Articles with substantial source lists. Source abbreviations explained in initial list. Index of signs (enseignes) and of proper names.
Dictionnaire des femmes libraires en France, 1470-1870, by Roméo Arbour.
Dictionnaire abrégé des imprimeurs éditeurs français du seizième siècle, by Jean Muller.
Répertoire des imprimeurs parisiens: libraires et fondeurs de caractères en exercice à Paris au XVIIe siècle : avec tables des addresses, des enseignes et des noms de personnel, by Philippe Renouard.
Germany
Kataloge der Frankfurter und Leipziger Buchmessen (1594-1860) offers browsable access to Frankfurt and Leipzig book fair catalogs.
Reske, Christoph. Die Buchdrucker des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts im deutschen Sprachgebiet : auf der Grundlage des gleichnamigen Werkes von Josef Benzing Wiesbaden : Harrassowitz, 2007, 1090 p. ( Beiträge zum Buch- und Bibliothekswesen, 0408-8107 ; Bd. 51 )
Widener | WID-LC | Z147 .R47 2007x
--Arranged by city with name index. Covers about 3500 printers in Germany and German-speaking countries. Longer entries have substantial source lists. Bibliography in front.
Paisey, David. Deutsche Buchdrucker, Buchhändler und Verleger 1701-1750. Wiesbaden :cHarrassowitz, 1988, 361 p. ; 24 cm. ( Beiträge zum Buch- und Bibliothekswesen ; Bd. 26 )
Widener | WID-LC | Z147 .P350 1988x
--Gives information for the early 18th century, but is only a list by name with city, occupation and activity dates.
Great Britain
Bibliographical Society (London). [Dictionaries of printers and booksellers in England, Scotland and helandl. London: Soc., 1905-32.5 v. Repr., 1949-58.
Comprises:
--Century of the English book trade. .. 1457-1557, by E. Gordon Duff (1905. 200 p.)
--Dictionary of printers and booksellers in England, Scotland and lreland and of foreign printers of
English books, 1557-1644, by R. B. McKerrow (1910).
--Dictionary of the printers who were at work in England, Scotland and lreland, from 1641 to 1667,
by H. R. Plomer (1907).
--Dictionary of the printers and booksellers who were at work in England, Scotland and lreIand from
1668 to 1725, by H. R. Plomer (1922).
--Dictionary of the printers and booksellers who were at work in England, Scotland and lreland from
1726 to 1775; those in England by H. R. Plomer, Scotland by G. H. Bushnell, Ireland by E. R.
McClintock Dix (1932).
--Good, short biographies, with source lists. The different volumes in the series contain indexes as
follows:
----1457-1557, Index of Christian names, Index of London signs, Chronological index of foreign
places, printers and stationers;
----1557-1640: Indexes of (1) London signs, (2) London addresses, (3) Places other than London.
----1641-1667: No index; index of printers and places in 1668-1725 vol.
----1668-1725: Index of printers and places (also for: 1641-1667).
----1726-1775: Indexes of (1) Places in England, Wales other than London, (2) Places in Scotland
other than Edinburgh, (3) Places in Ireland, (4) Places abroad; Circulating libraries in England
and Scotland arranged in order of date.
--Indexed in British Book Trade Index.
Brown, Philip A. H. London publishers and printers, c. 1800-1870. London : British Library, 1982,
233 p.
Widener | WID-LC | Z244.6.L66 B76 x, 1982
Italy
Dizionario dei tipografi e degli editori italiani. Milano: Editrice Bibliografica, 1997- v. ( Grandi opere ; 9 )
Widener | WID-LC | Z155 .D59 1997x
--Paragraph to 3-page (longer for major figures) articles with extensive source lists for 16th century Italian printers and publishers. Excludes 15th century figures whose work extended only slightly into the 16th century. Includes some persons who were booksellers only. Initial bibliography of cited works. Contains much original research as well as compiled material. Only vol. published covers A-F.
Cosenza, Mario Emilio. Biographical and bibliographical dictionary of the Italian printers, and of foreign printers in Italy from the introduction of the art of printing into Italy to 1800. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1968, 679 p.
Houghton | B 5480 299 F*
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. folio | Z155 .C6
Spain
Delgado Casado, Juan. Diccionario de impresores españoles, siglos XV-XVII. Madrid : Arco-
Libros, 1996. 2 v. (877 p.)
Widener | WID-LC | Z173 .D44 1996
--Covers 939 Spanish printers. Articles with source lists. Substantial terminal bibliography. Index by place and dates of activity. Name/place index.