Get Help
Recordings
If your goal is to hear or study the content of early sound recordings, these collections are a good place to start. Both discs and cylinders are covered.
- National Jukebox (Library of Congress)10,000+ recordings on the Victor label made from 1901-1925, including jazz, popular music, novelty recordings, opera, political speeches, and sound effects
- British Library SoundsAmong the library's digitized commercial recordings are West African Decca, Young India and Odeon recordings from the Indian subcontinent, and Guinea's state-funded Syliphone label
- Gallica (Fonds sonores)Digitized recordings from the collections of La Bibliothèque nationale de France, including early cylinder collections, spoken word recordings, and recordings issued by the Italian Fonotipia label
- Yale Berliner Gramophone Disc CollectionOver 700 digitized early Berliner Gramophone discs dating from 1887-1912
- UCSB Cylinder ArchiveA large collection of digitized wax cylinders issued by Edison, Pathé, Columbia, Indestructible and U-S Everlasting
- Phonobase: Early Gramophone Records and Phonograph Cylinders On-line DatabaseData, sound excerpts and photos from early commercial cylinders and records made from 1888 to 1920
- Belfer Cylinders Digital ConnectionOver 1,700 digitzed wax cylinders from the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive at Syracuse University.
- Internet Archive’s Great 78 ProjectDigitized 78rpm records, cylinder recordings, and other recordings from the early 20th century
- Norwegian Institute of Recorded SoundA digital archive of selected recordings from the institute's collections