Numerous other archival collections of institutions and individuals related to Harvard University offer a wealth of photographic material. For example, the Records of the Harvard College Observatory contain approximately 1200 photographs documenting the history of the Observatory and the personal archive of Joseph Clark Grew (AB 1902) provide snapshots into early 20th century college life. Catalog records and finding aids for the collections of research institutes and individuals related to Harvard University can be found on HOLLIS.
The reference staff may be available to provide copies of inventories to collections without online guides. For questions about access to specific collections, please contact the Archives reference staff at email@example.com in advance of your visit before requesting any items.
The following tools may also be useful in locating photographs pertaining to your research interest:
- HOLLIS is the Harvard Library’s online catalog. Search HOLLIS for books, articles, media and more.
- HOLLIS for Archival Discovery is designed for finding special collections and archival materials at 30 Harvard repositories. These materials include primary sources in a variety of formats such as letters, memos, photographs, film and video, three-dimensional objects, and digital content. Not all archival and special collections at Harvard have a finding aid and are therefore not searchable in HOLLIS for Archival Discovery. To find other materials in special collections, use HOLLIS.
- HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.
For more contemporary images, please visit Harvard's Office of News and Public Affairs Photographic Services web page for service and contact information.