Harvard Historical Disruptions

Calendar of Harvard History The Calendar of Harvard History provides access to information about people, events, policies, academic and extracurricular student life, and other activities at Harvard from 1636 to the present. It is searchable by date and keyword. NOTE: requiures a Harvard network connection.

Harvard and Radcliffe Annual Reports These are full-text searchable reports of Harvard presidents, treasurers, deans, and department heads, with varying coverage, from 1825/26 to 1994/95. Links to current and archived websites for Harvard reports after 1995 are also included. Reports of Radcliffe presidents cover 1879/80 to 1987/88, and contain Radcliffe treasurers' reports from 1879/80 through 1959/60.

The Harvard Crimson The online archive of The Crimson, Harvard’s daily student newspaper, covers 1873 to the present.

Morison, Samuel Eliot. Three Centuries of Harvard, 1636-1936. The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1964. As of March 2020, temporarily available via the Internet Archive at (requires creation of an account for login).  

Harvard Library digital collection: “Contagion"

Webster, Noah. A brief history of epidemic and pestilential diseases: with the principal phenomena of the physical world, which precede and accompany them, and observations from the facts stated. London: Printed for G.G. and J. Robinson, by G. Woodfall, 1800. (2 vols.)

Matthews, Albert. Harvard Commencement Days, 1642-1916. J. Wilson and son, 1916. Available online via Hathi Trust.

Influenza Encyclopedia: The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918-1919 (University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and Publishing)

'Foci of Infection': Harvard's History of Infectious Diseases, Explained An online Harvard Crimson article dated May 27, 2020.