Home
As a student leader at Harvard Law School, you and your organization's members have access to a terrific variety of publications and materials useful for leadership development and current awareness. Some of the most popular - along with a few recommended web-based resources - are highlighted in this guide.
For additional items, search Harvard's online library catalog, HOLLIS.
News
Harvard offers access to hundreds of current and historical newspapers, from the United States and around the globe. Find information about some of the most frequently used titles below. And, look to our website for the full list of Newspaper and News Collections, as selected and annotated by HLS Library staff.
INDIVIDUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS: Harvard Law School students may register for free individual digital subscriptions to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Financial Times. More information and registration links appear below.
AP Archive
- AP ArchiveThe film and video archive of The Associated Press on YouTube. The collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895. Curated playlists are also available.
C-SPAN
- C-SPANC-SPAN contains over 245,000 hours of content archived and indexed covering Congress, the courts, government, politics, programs like Book TV, and more.
New York Times
New York Times Online Access
- New York TimesAccess for Harvard affiliates via registration.
Follow Single Journal link in Hollis record for registration link.
See Info and registration instructions/ New York Times also available via Lexis and Factiva.
Other ways to get the New York Times at Harvard
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Access via HarvardKey,
New York Times Historical is a digital archive of the complete contents of the New York Times from 1851-2018 and the New York Times Index from 1851 to 1993. - FactivaAccess via HarvardKey.
Select Source>New York Times
- New York Times (Lexis+)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Lexis login required.
From June 1, 1980 through current
Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal individual online access
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com)Access available to Harvard affiliates.
Use the link in the HOLLIS record to register for an individual account. Accounts are available to current students, faculty, and staff at Harvard.
Also available on Lexis and Factiva
Other ways to get the Wall Street Journal at Harvard:
- Wall Street Journal (Lexis+)For HLS affiliates only, Individual Lexis login required
From June 13, 1979 through current
- FactivaAccess via HarvardKey.
Select source>Wall Street Journal - Wall Street Journal 1899-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Access via HarvardKey.
Provides retrospective access to Wall Street Journal in pdf form.
Washington Post
Washington Post Individual Access
- Washington PostClick on Single Journals link in Hollis record.
Harvard users can create a free personal account using their Harvard email address. Instructions
Having trouble creating or renewing your subscription? Contact Washington Post.
Also available on Lexis, Westlaw and Factiva.
Note: The Washington Post sends a verification email to your address after you register. Your subscription will not be activated until you verify. If you did not receive the email, please check your spam filters.
Other ways to get the Washington Post at Harvard
- Washington Post (Lexis+)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Lexis login required
January 1, 1977-current - Washington Post (Westlaw)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Westlaw login required
January /1978 - present
- Washington Post 1877-2005 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Access via Harvard Key,
- The Washington Post (HOLLIS Record)Access via various databases
Financial Times
Financial Times Individual Access
- Financial TimesAll Harvard students, faculty, and staff may register for FT.com subscriptions courtesy of HBS. Visit the Baker library web page for registration information.
HOLLIS record also links to database access to current and historical issues via ProQuest, Gale, Factiva, Newsbank and others.
Other Ways to Get the Financial Times at Harvard
- Financial TimesPrint & microfilm.
- Financial Times (Lexis+)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Lexis login required.
January 2, 1982-current; embargo on most recent 30 days
Boston Globe
Boston Globe Subscription Discount
Boston Globe does not offer institutional online accounts, but a substantial discount on individual accounts is available to the Harvard community. Note that this discount only applies if you have not been a subscriber for the past 90 days.
Other Ways to Get the Boston Globe at Harvard
- Boston Globe (Lexis+)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Lexis login required
May 2, 1982-current - Boston Globe (Westlaw)For HLS affiliates only. Individual Westlaw login required
December 1979-current
- FactivaAccess via HarvardKey.
Select source>Boston Globe - Boston Globe HistoricalAccess via HarvardKey.
Boston Globe Historical is a digital archive of the complete contents of the Boston Globe from 1872-1990. More recent issues available on Factiva, Lexis Advance and Westlaw.
Magazines
Various magazines - current and archived issues - are available through Harvard Key access. Many individual articles are indexed in a Hollis search of "Everything". The best way to see if we have access to a particular magazine title is to search for the title in an advanced search in Hollis looking in the catalog and limiting results to the resource type "journals".
Harvard Business Review
- Harvard Business Review (Harvard Login)Access back to 1922 through Business Source Complete. Not all articles allow printing. Digital only articles can be found through the same database here.
Fortune
- FortuneSee also Fortune Magazine Archive.
Forbes
- ForbesSee also Forbes Archive.
MIT Sloan Management Review
Entrepreneur
DiversityInc.
Fast Company
HR Magazine
Talent Management Magazine
- Talent Management MagazineNote this this title is no longer published, but the archives are still available.
Audio Visual Resources
Ideas Roadshow
- Ideas RoadshowIdeas Roadshow offers in-depth conversations with a wide variety of scientists, researchers and authors across the arts and sciences. Each conversation is available as a video and MP3 audio file.
LinkedIn Learning
- LinkedIn LearningLinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) provides Harvard students and employees with over 15,000 on-demand courses on computer software, business skills, and creative skills from industry experts.
LGBT Studies in Video
- LGBT Studies in VideoLGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Latin America in Video
- Latin America in VideoIncludes approximately 400 original-language documentaries in Spanish, Portuguese and other languages—over 300 hours in all.
PBS Video Collection
- PBS Video CollectionNearly 600 titles from PBS including familiar series and names like NOVA, Nature, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ken Burns, American Experience, and Frontline.
American History in Video
- American History in Video (Harvard Login)Contains historic newsreel footage as well as documentaries on all aspects of U.S. history.
The HistoryMakers
- The HistoryMakersThe HistoryMakers is a non-profit, online digital oral history archive dedicated to preserving African American history. Content covers American and African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion and beauty, business, the military, politics, and sports.
World History in Video
- World History in VideoWorld history in video is an online collection of streaming video that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
TED Talks
Visit the TED website for free access to its complete library of talks and more.
And, visit HOLLIS for books on TED-inspired tips for becoming a better public speaker, such as:
- TED Talks: The Official TED Guide to Public Speaking, by Chris Anderson
- How to Deliver a TED Talk: Secrets of the World's Most Inspiring Presentations, by Jeremey Donovan
Alexander Street Video
- Alexander Street VideoCollection of videos (with transcripts) including documentaries about diversity, politics, environmental studies, and history.
Create an account within our Harvard access to create and save clips and playlists. Clips and videos may be embedded in Canvas.
AudioCaseFiles
- AudioCaseFilesAudioCaseFiles offers downloadable MP3 files of edited judicial opinions with full text of the edited opinion, a fact summary, and the rule of law. Browse by subject or casebook or search by any keyword.
Register on the HLS institutional account at the link using your HLS email address.
Courtroom Cast
- Courtroom CastCourtroom Cast Video contains thousands of hours of U.S. trials, hearings, and oral arguments. Search by practice area or industry, find proceedings in a specific jurisdiction or in front of a specific judge, or search by attorney or expert witness.
Register on to the HLS institutional account at the link using your HLS email address.
Film Platform
- Film PlatformFilm Platform contains a curated collection of educational films covering a variety of topics likely to be of interest to the HLS community from legal studies generally to human rights, environmental studies, politics, and technology, among others.
Create an account within our Harvard access to save favorites, bookmarks, and playlists. Film Platform content may be screened individually, for classes, and for free student organization events. With notice and for additional fees, Film Platform can arrange Skype sessions with filmmakers. Contact us to inquire about arrangements for a Skype session.
Getting Help
Although the databases and publications linked in this guide are available online, remote access to other items available in HOLLIS may vary. Check out Harvard Libraries' information page on How to Borrow Materials and Use Our Services During COVID-19 for up-to-date access information.
Get Research and Reference Help
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Email research@law.harvard.edu
Drop-In Reference Visit our online Office Hours
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728