African American Resources
African American Library Resources at Harvard
Research Guide for Primary Sources on Civil Rights
Research Guide for Slavery and the Civil War Era
Black Digital Humanities Projects & Resources
ProQuest Black Studies is a vast conglomeration of primary and secondary source material.
--Contains numerous "Primary Sources Collections" (List of those included). Some are also in ProQuest History Vault Black Freedom Struggle.
--Includes the searchable full text of about 300 biographical dictionaries and related works. Limit to the biographical material at Publication/Collection title. Look up and add to search: African American Biographical Database. There is no name-form control, so search unique last names alone (Pyrtle), and try various forms of more common names ("James Sanders" OR "Sanders James").
Indexing of these 300 works, not provided by ProQuest Black Studies, is available in print in:
Black biography, 1790-1950 : a cumulative index, ed. by Randall K. Burkett, Nancy Hall Burkett, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Alexandria : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record In bookcase beside door into the Atkins Reference Room (Widener 2nd floor)
--Index entries include name (in inverted form; useful for browsing similar names), place of birth, birth/death dates, occupation, religion, gender.
--Newspapers (List of those included). Some are also in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
--Includes the former International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ; full text 1998- ) which indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean. Under Content Type, choose Journals and/or Magazines and Historical Periodicals.
--Includes the former Black literature Index, 1827-1940. 2997 microfiches and printed guide
HOLLIS Record
----Full text of over 86,000 literary works on microfiche, including fiction, poetry, book reviews and other literary forms by African-Americans and Whites writing in African-American periodicals and newspapers. Online index to article authors/titles and periodical titles.
List of periodicals indexed with links to lists of article in each.
Black Thought and Culture offers non-fiction writings by major American black leaders. Includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
American Radicalism (Michigan State University): Black Panthers
Black Panther documents. 66 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1015
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 1015 = brief checklist.
--Summary : The works of Dr. Huey P. Newton are a central, but not exclusive component of this collection. It also includes basic documents describing the Black Panther Party’s internal workings and its community-based programs; source material on the prison movement movement of the period; and numerous unpublished statements and internal education documents from Newton and other Panther leaders. The collection includes legal documents, correspondence files, pamphlets, newspapers, news clippings, the Party’s business records, information on cultural activities, and a great deal of additional material.
FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina, [1968-1976]
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 617.3 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 617.3 = Guide Level B
Black Panther printed ephemera, circa 1966-2006.
Houghton
HOLLIS Record
Widener Library also holds a large collection of Black Panther ephemera.
HOLLIS Record 1
HOLLIS Record 2