Secondary Sources

Listed here is a selection of the major indexes

General Humanities and Social Sciences Literature

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Includes book reviews.

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many economics journals. List of included journals.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951- ) offers worldwide coverage of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.

Asian Studies

South Asia Research Documentation Services 3 (SARDS3)

Bibliography of Asian studies (1941- ) covers English-language books (published before 1992 only), essays in books, and periodical articles. No book reviews. In 1956, coverage was extended from East and Southeast Asia to include Central and South Asia and the Philippines. The online version starts in 1971. Issued separately in print (1969-91) and as special number of the Journal of Asian Studies (1966-69) which is available in JSTOR. A cumulated version for 1941-70 is available. For earlier coverage see Bulletin of Far Eastern bibliography (1936-40).
Cumulated version (1941-1965, 1966-70; subject and author bibliographies):
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) DS5.A87 1970x
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) D5.A87 1969x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.10
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.11

History

Bibliography of British and Irish History (formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography) is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present. Includes sources on Britain's role in the Middle East.

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.

Islamic Studies

Index Islamicus (1906- ) is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.

Public Policy

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS.