Psy 1523: Psychology of Social Media and the Virtual World

Subscribe to the digital editions of popular newspapers through the Harvard Library.

Nexis Uni
The database includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs.

Factiva
Provides full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, and media transcripts.

Web of Science 
A database that allows you to search across nearly 10,000 widely read and often cited academic journals and magazines. Coverage is particularly strong in science related fields, including psychology. Most databases allow you to see your results listed by relevance or by date of publication.  Web of Science also allows you to sort your results by the number of times cited. 

PsycInfo
The premier e-resource for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields, PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes items from over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages. Content dates back to 1872 for some journals. PsycInfo Quick Reference Guide.

INSPEC
The database provides access to the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

ACM Digital Library
A research, discovery, and networking platform that includes the full text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, and books as well as full text publications from select publishers.

Communication Abstracts
 a comprehensive source of communication-related publications world-wide. It draws its content from 230 journals, from books and from the reports and papers produced at research institutions. Topics covered include: journalism; mass media; social media; advertising, political rhetoric; and more.

In most academic fields, but especially in the sciences, journal literature is the primary means of communicating new findings, revisions to old theories, and the success (or failure) of experimental replications. Journal articles provide the crucial updating function necessary for responsible research.

For a brief introduction to peer review see, I Don't Know What to Believe: Making Sense of Science Stories.