Find Peer-Reviewed Articles
Food & Foodways (Taylor & Francis)
This journal is indexed in the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier
- America: History & Life
- Anthropological Index Online
- Anthropological Literature Online
- Historical Abstracts
- MLA International Bibliography
- Periodicals Index Online
- Social Science Premium Collection
- Web of Science
Gastronomica: The Journal of Critical Food Studies (University of California Press)
This journal is indexed in the following databases:
Culinary and Food History Databases
Be sure to visit this list of e-resources curated by our own staff at Harvard's Schlesinger Library. The guide includes several databases that focus on foodways research. Not to be missed! Includes Core Historical Literature of Agriculture, Early English Books Online, Feast Afrique, Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project, Food Studies Online, Home Economics and Household Collection, Home Economics Archive: Research Tradition and History (HEARTH), Manuscript Cookbook Survey, NYPL Menu Database (What's on the Menu?), and The Sifter.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index Online, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews, from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century, with earlier coverage of photography and emphasis on new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Includes crafts.
Art Full Text
Includes full-text articles, abstracts, and indexed images from art and architecture periodicals and a range of other materials. Has a large amount of full text material easily available.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)
This is is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. You can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work.
eHRAF World Cultures
This database contains background information on different ethnic graoups, as well as many ethnographies and other books and articles.To find ethnographies first select "Browse Cultures." Locate the group you are interested in and then click Collection Documents to view works (including ethnographies) about that group.
Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920
provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history from the collections of the New York Public Library and the Sallie Bingham Center for Women s History and Culture, Duke University. Included are fully searchable rare books, broadsides, pamphlets, and periodicals documenting political and social issues, and topics such as race, religion, family, popular fiction and sensational literature, children's prescriptive literature, fashion and beauty, cookery, medicine, education, farming, and work.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.
JSTOR includes approximately 17 folklore journals, all in full-text format. Simply check the "folklore" box near the bottom of the Advanced Search form. Coverage for each journal goes from volume one to within circa five years of the most recent issue. These journals are also indexed by the MLA International Bibliography, with coverage beginning later than JSTOR’s but continuing through the present.
Literature Online (LION)
An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography indexes scholarly works (journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations) pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It is international and multilingual.
Project Muse includes more than 200 scholarly journals published by several university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada from 1890-1982. This wonderful database will allow you to find articles about food and cooking in popular magazines, such as Ladies Home Journal, Good Housekeeping, McCall's, Redbook, Farm Journal, and Womans Home Companion, among many others.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature includes citations, abstracts, and subject indexing for articles about music in over 10,000 journals.