Schlesinger Library Collections
The Schlesinger Library holds a large collection of historic and contemporary cookbooks. This guide will help you get a sense of some of the highlights in the library's collection.
To search for online cookbooks at the Schlesinger, follow these steps:
- In HOLLIS, go to the Advanced Search screen.
- Select the Library Catalog radial button, and choose "Schlesinger Library" for your search scope.
- On the first search line, change the default Keywords anywhere search to Form/genre, and type "Cookbooks."
- Click the Search button. Once you have a list of results, choose the "Online" option from the right-hand refinement options, under "Show only".
You'll get a large set of results with this search. Keep in mind that you can then narrow your search by date, author, type of cuisine, etc. For further ideas on how to do a targeted search for particular kinds of cookbooks, Ask a Schlesinger Librarian!
Finding Recipes
The library also has recipe collections (loose recipes, rather than published cookbooks).
To search for online recipe collections, follow these steps:
- In HOLLIS, go to the Advanced Search screen.
- Select the Library Catalog radial button.
- On the first search line, change the default Keywords anywhere search to Form/genre, and type "recipes."
- Click the Search button. Once you have a list of results, choose the "Online" option from the right-hand refinement options, under "Show only".
Digital Recipe Collections & Cookbooks
Internet Archive offers full text for a variety of digitized print materials and archived web pages (Wayback Machine), as well as films, audio files, TV News, and more. This includes full-text searchable collections of cookbooks, including:
Wellcome Digital Collections - Domestic recipe manuscripts spanning the 16th century to the 19th century
- search for recipe* and then limit to online
- search for cookbook* and then limit to online
