Selected Journal Databases in Psychology and Related Disciplines
Web of Science
A database that allows you to search across nearly 10,000 widely read and often cited academic journals and magazines. Coverage is particularly strong in science related fields, including psychology. Most databases allow you to see your results listed by relevance or by date of publication. Web of Science also allows you to sort your results by the number of times cited.
PsycInfo
The premier e-resource for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields, PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes items from over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages. Content dates back to 1872 for some journals. PsycInfo Quick Reference Guide.
PubMed
Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the largest medical library in the world. PubMed contains citations and abstracts to research published in more than 4,800 biomedical journals. For more information on using the database see PubMed a research guide from the Harvard Library. A key way of searching PubMed is to use the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings - https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/meshhome.html ). Of particular help is the "tree view" option of the MeSH terms, which can be found here: https://meshb.nlm.nih.gov/treeView
Be sure to also check out the page: Searching PubMed using MeSH Search Tags: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/meshtutorial/searchingpubmedusingmeshtags/index.html
More information on the PubMed Data Elements/Field Descriptions: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/mms/medlineelements.html
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
ASSIA spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Social Science Premium combines our discipline specific collections in politics and sociology, with powerful resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences including applied social sciences and education.
Google Scholar lets you search the full text of academic articles. Connect your Google Scholar to Harvard Library to get "Try Harvard Library" links in your search results.
Journal Databases in Related Fields
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center]
A major e-resource for research on all aspects of education (U.S. and international), ERIC is produced by the U.S. Department of Education and available to us through EBSCOhost. Covers the education literature published 1966 - present.
Simultaneously searches ERIC, Education Source, and the interdisciplinary database called Academic Search Premier.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Considered the definitive international database for locating research on topics broadly related to the history of science. Content is drawn from 9,500 journals and other scholarly materials. Research published from 1975 on is accessible here.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA derives its content from more than 1500 journal publications and covers language in all its aspects, from phonology and syntax to writing systems and the philosophy of language. Both current and older research (back as far as 1973) is searchable from within LLBA.