Secondary Sources
General and Historical Sources
America: History and Life (1955- ) covers North America. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, but NO book reviews.
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. History is included 1956- . More information.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. List of included journals.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project includes over 2200 largely history titles. Largely 1950-1999, some earlier, later. Full text searchable over whole collection. Browsable and searchable by LC Subject Heading. Links to book reviews in JSTOR, Project Muse and History Cooperative. Linked from HOLLIS records.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals. A subset of the journals in PIO are full text searchable PAO Historical Studies Collection
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970- ) indexes scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
Chicano Database overs Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
Handbook of Latin American studies (1936- ) is a comprehensive annotated bibliography. No full-text available - need to look up items in HOLLIS. Despite the title, also contains some material on Latinx populations in US.
Oxford Bibliographies on Latino Studies contain annotated bibliographies on many specialized subtopics within Latino Studies.
Race Relations Abstracts (1975- )
Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) includes full text of English-language journal articles, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets from scholarly and government/non-profit agency/international organization publications concerned with women's issues in 190 countries.
GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)
Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variey of women's studies databases.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles from over 1200 journals annually in all areas of language and linguistics. LLBA also includes books, book chapters, bibliographies, monographs, conference proceedings, etc. International in scope, this index covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Linguistic Bibliography online provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world, irrespective of language or place of publication. The database contains all entries of the printed volumes of Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography from 1993 to the present. The database indexes over 2,000 periodicals, including publications in related disciplines such as psychology, sociology, anthropology, philosophy and computer science.
Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. It draws its content from 230 journals, from books and from the reports and papers produced at research institutions. Topics covered in Communication Abstracts include: journalism; mass media; social media; advertising, political rhetoric; the sociology and history of communication; communication theory, and more.