Academic/Professional Periodicals
The Ethnography of Mainland Southeast Asia: A Bibliographic Survey, by Frank M LeBar. Cross-cultural research, 1966-02, Vol.1 (1), p.14-40
Anthropology Plus (late 1800s-present)
--Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields
AnthroSource (Late 19th century – ) offers searchable full-text of 28 journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association. Some text drawn from JSTOR. Included journals are also indexed in Anthropology Plus, but Anthrosource allows full text searching. Newsletters in Anthrosource are generally not indexed in Anthropology Plus
EHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area File) contains the full text of books, periodical articles, manuscripts, and dissertations and theses on selected cultures of the world. More information at the HRAF web site.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951- ) includes: International bibliography of anthropology
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous journals. Allows simultaneous or individual journal searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.
Bibliography of Asian studies (1941- ) covers English-language books (books published before 1992 only), essays in books, and periodical articles. No book reviews. In 1956, coverage was extended from East and Southeast Asia to include Central and South Asia and the Philippines. The online version starts in 1971. Issued separately in print (1969-91) and as special number of the Journal of Asian Studies (1966-69) which is available in JSTOR. A cumulated version for 1941-70 is available. For earlier coverage see Bulletin of Far Eastern bibliography (1936-40). Cumulated version (1941-1965, 1966-70; subject and author bibliographies):
HOLLIS Records
Index to Southeast Asian journals, 1960-1974: a guide to articles, book reviews, and composite works, 1960-1979.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3930. 25 (1960-74)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3930. 25.2 (1975-79)
Business Premium Collection (1971-) indexes academic management, marketing, and general business journals
Business Source Complete (early 20th century- )
EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )
International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous journals. Allows simultaneous or individual journal searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2004).
Bibliography of British and Irish History (formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography) is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present.
Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. List of included journals.
Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous journals. Allows simultaneous or individual journal searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.
International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
Social science premium collection searches several social science databases
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- )
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences(1951- ) includes: International bibliography of sociology
Race Relations Abstracts (1975-Present)
Sociological Abstracts (1952-)
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous journals. Allows simultaneous or individual journal searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.