Library Research Guide for HIST 1037: Modern Southeast Asia

Background and Context

Historical dictionary of the Philippines, by Artemio R. Guillermo. 3rd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012, 621 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text  (2005 ed.)

Archives and Manuscripts

W. Cameron Forbes images of the Philippines, 1907-1946
--Forbes was an American business and government executive. He served as governor-general of the Philippines, 1909-1913, and ambassador to Japan, 1930-1932. 
HOLLIS Record

Bibliographies

Literature of the Filipino-American in the United States : a selective and annotated bibliography, by Irene P. Norell. San Francisco : R and E Research Associates, 1976, 84 p.
HOLLIS Record

The Filipinos in Hawaii : an annotated bibliography, by Rubén R. Alcántara, with Nancy S. Alconcel, John Berger, and Cesar Wycoco. Honolulu : Social Sciences and Linguistics Institute, University of Hawaii, 1977, 152 p.
HOLLIS Record

The Spanish-American War : an annotated bibliography, by Anne Cipriano Venzon. New York : Garland, 1990, 255 p.
HOLLIS Record

Philippine ethnography: a critically annotated and selected bibliography, by Shiro Saito. Honolulu, University Press of Hawaii, 1972, 512 p.
Subject:
Ethnology -- Philippines -- Bibliography.;
Philippines -- Bibliography.
HOLLIS Record

Biography

Some Philippine biographies included in Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica.

Bibliography

Biographical sources for foreign countries Washington, 1944.   I. General.--II. Germany and Austria, compiled by N.R.  Burr.--III. The Philippines, compiled by Helen Dudenbostel Jones.--IV. The Japanese empire, compiled  by N.R. Burr.   
Widener | H 1139.44.10 
--Annotated list of biographical dictionaries, directories, and periodicals containing biographical information on living persons of the World War II era.   Largely organized by profession.  Many of the serial publications listed extend into pre- and post-War era.   Vol. I. General, vol. II. Germany and Austria, vol. III. The Philippines, vol. IV. The Japanese empire.

A union catalogue of Philippine biographical reference  works, bu Daniel F. Doeppers and Michael Cullinane.  Madison, WI : Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Univ of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983. 34 p. 
Widener | WID-LC | DS521.Z99 B53x no. 8
--Works listed by occupation/social group and by geography. Appendix on pre-1900 Spaniards.  Author index.  See also Biographical sources for foreign countries. III. The Philippines for World War II era sources.

Collective Biography

Manuel, E. Arsenio, 1909- Dictionary of Philippine biography .... Quezon City, Filipiniana Publications, 1955-95 4 v.
Widener | Oc 9547.5.25
--Covers deceased individuals who have contributed significantly to Philippine history or culture. Articles are extremely varied in length and are arranged alphabetically within each volume. Fairly extensive lists of works by and about the persons. Each volume has its own name and subject index; no cumulative index.  Full text in South-East Asian biographical archive. Quirino’s  Who's who in Philippine history includes about 550 native-born Filipinos who died before 1985 and offers name and area of activity indexes.

Filipinos in history (full text in South-East Asian biographical archive). Manila, Philippines: National Historical Institute, 1989-<1994>
Widener  |  Harvard Depository 
--Full text in South-East Asian biographical archive.

Who's who in Philippine history, by Carlos Quirino. Manila : Tahanan Books, c1995. 227 p.
Widener | RR 3955.31   

Document Collections

Philippine eLib  Philippine Digital Library

The Foronda Collection (Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto) includes documents for Philippine history, literature, and ethnography

Philippine Archives Collection, Philippine Veterans Affair Office, Quezon City, and NARA, Maryland Branch – documents about the Second World War

Philippine Diary Project offers “diaries written by both famous and unknown Filipinos, and foreigners writing about the Philippines”

Internet History Sourcebooks Project: American Imperialism

The World of 1898: The Spanish-American War

United States and its Territories, 1870-1925: The Age of Imperialism

Nineteenth Century Collection Online Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange includes History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903

Government Publications

Official Gazette of the Republic of the Philippines, 1946- .

Images

Philippine Photographs Digital Archive website. (University of Michigan, Digital Library Production Service, Digital Library Collections and Publications).

E. Murray Bruner Philippine Image Collection

Land of the morning: a pictorial history of the American regime, by Thomas Carter. Published : Manila : Historical Conservation Society ; Beverly Hills, Calif., U.S.A. : Philippine Expressions, Inc., Filipiniana Bookshop [distributor], 1990, xvi, 440 p. 
Subject : Philippines -- History -- 1898-1946 -- Pictorial works.

Statistics

The Location and Composition of Philippine Historical Statistical Materials

Travel Writing

An Ohio woman in the Philippines; giving personal experiences and descriptions including incidents of Honolulu, ports in Japan and China [by] Mrs. Emily Bronson Conger. Akron, O., Press of R.H. Leighton, 1904, 166 pp.
Google Books Version
HOLLIS Record
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 4857 (13,183-13,185) [GEO-356] [CTRG97-B2665]
Subject : Philippines -- Description and travel.

Gentleman soldier : John Clifford Brown & the Philippine-American War, ed. by Joseph P. McCallus. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2004, xiv, 301 p.
Widener WID-LC DS683.7 B76 2004
Subject : Brown, John Clifford, 1872-1901
Subject : Philippines -- History -- Philippine American War, 1899-1902 -- Personal narratives, American.
Subject : Philippines -- Description and travel

St. Louis Exposition 1904

Louisiana Purchase Exposition (1904 : Saint Louis, Mo.) The greatest of expositions completely illustrated. Official publication; illustrations reproduced from Goerz lens photographs, made by Official photographic company, William H. Rau, director of photography. St. Louis, Official photographic company, 1904. 1 p.l. 288 p. col. front., illus.
Loeb Design | Special Collections Rare | T860 .C1514 1904
Widener | Econ 5959.04.5
HOLLIS Record

1904 World's Fair : the Filipino experience / Jose D. Fermin. Diliman, Quezon City : University of the Philippines Press, c2004. xxiv, 219 p.
Widener | WID-LC | T860.G1 P44 2004x
HOLLIS Record

Official catalogue Philippine exhibits : Universal Exposition, St. Louis, U.S.A. 1904 : Philippine exposition. St. Louis : Official Catalogue Co., 1904. 305 p.
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request via your home library]
HOLLIS Record

Official handbook of the Philippines and catalogue of the Philippine exhibit : in two volumes / published under the authority of the Civil Governor of the Philippine Islands by the Philippine Exposition Board, William P. Wilson ... [et al.] Manila : Bureau of Public Printing, 1903. 2 v.
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request via your home library.]
HOLLIS Record