Searching in Databases is a great way to look for resources that are already sorted into specific general topics, such as gender. Below are some databases that focus on gender-related topics:
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
LGBT Life with Full Text, published by EBSCO, provides indexing and abstracts for over four hundred magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns. The depth of coverage for individual core titles varies from a few months to many years. A number of historically important periodicals, among them Mattachine Review (1955-1964), ONE (1953-1967), and Christopher Street (1976-1995), are indexed for the entire period during which they were published. LGBT Life with Full Text also includes indexing and abstracts for monographs, reference books, and other sources. Notable features include a thesaurus and a variety of browseable indexes. Full text is not available for every title indexed, but this resource does provide full text access to over fifty magazines and regional newspapers, and to more than sixty monographs and reference books, with additional links to full text articles in other EBSCO databases.
An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present day. The collection includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights, as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Databases include Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Database, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Medline Subset on Women, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
More than 500,000 pages of historical documentation focusing on the role of women in the United States economy. The sources include books, pamphlets, manuscripts and images selected from Harvard's library and museum collections.
When you are researching gender-related topics, you might also consider searching in a database that specializes in another topic (e.g., Politics, Business, Education, etc.) and add "gender" and other terms related to your topic. Below are just three examples of databases that include articles on gender:
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice. This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.
The EBSCOhost Interface is optimized for searching articles. The Business Searching Interface facilitates searching other types of documents as well as articles. Business Source Complete is a database of citations to, summaries and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Citations, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included as well as current company, industry and region reports.
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.
