The EDIBA intern group suggests adding the book sets listed here to the EDIBA reading room. Each set emphasizes the community's uniqueness and the influential people who embody it.
Complete set. Volumes 1-152.
- Contemporary Black Biography byISBN: 9780787652821Publication Date: 2001-11-20Biographical profiles of important and influential persons of African heritage who form the international black community. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields providing coverage of names found in today's headlines as well as selected individuals from earlier in this century whose influence continues to have an impact on contemporary life. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Each volume of Contemporary Black Biography contains at least 65 full-length biographies written in an easy-to-follow prose style, ranging from 2 to 4 pages each. Its multinational coverage spans this century and includes rising personalities as well as groundbreakers and newsmakers in a variety of fields. Contemporary Black Biography includes four cumulative indexes: Nationality: While concentrating on U.S. figures, this title also covers important personalities from other countries. Find them listed by nationality here. Occupation: Editors focus on biographies not typically found in other sources -- an eclectic blend of well-known and well-respected educators, physicians, politicians, activists, writers, clergy, military leaders, attorneys, as well as members of the more glamorous occupations such as athletes, fashion models and actors.
Complete set. Volumes 1-4.
- Contemporary Hispanic Biography byISBN: 9780787665388Publication Date: 2002-06-04This series, modeled after Thomson Gale's successful "Contemporary Black Biography Series", contains biographical entries on notable Hispanics/Latinos from a variety of fields--from art, music and literature to science, politics and business. Emphasis is placed on active figures, but "Contemporary Hispanic Biography" also includes entries on the significant figures from the 20th century. Each volume includes approximately 65 detailed entries. Entries include a photograph (as available), a narrative biography of the entrant's personal and professional life, and a list of further reading sources. "Contemporary Hispanic Biography" covers significant persons who originate in Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Spain or the Spanish-speaking countries of Central and South America, and also Brazil. Volumes include cumulative nationality, occupation, subject and name indexes.
Complete set. 37 Editions
- Who's Who among African AmericansISBN: 9780787676858Publication Date: 2004-05-01This critically acclaimed reference provides biographical and career details on notable African Americans, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion, and more. Devoted to recording the scope of African American achievement, reference provides biographical and career details on more than 20,000 notable African American individuals, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion and more. An obituary section contains fully updated entries for listees who have died since the previous edition.
Complete set. All Editions
- Contemporary Asian America byISBN: 0814796907Publication Date: 2000-05-01Contemporary Asian America is the first volume to integrate a broad range of multi-disciplinary research on the ways in which the intersection of Asian immigration, community development, and socialization affect Asian American communities. It exposes its readers to developments within the discipline, from its inception as part of the ethnic consciousness movement of the 1960s to the more contemporary theoretical and practical issues facing Asian America at the century's end. The volume includes 13 sections, and covers such topics as immigration, economic life, family and community, spiritual practices, gender, sexuality, racism and anti-Asian violence, the new second generation, youth gangs, domestic violence, visual culture, and theory. Contemporary Asian America provides an expansive introduction to the central readings in Asian America and Asian American Studies, presenting a grounded theoretical orientation to the discipline and framing key historical, cultural, economic, and social themes within a social science context. Contributors include Shirley Hune, Dorinne Kondo, Lisa Lowe, Pyong Gap Min, Don Nakanishi, Gary Y. Okihiro, Ruben Rumbaut, and Ronald Takaki, among others.
- Arab American Biography byISBN: 9780787629533Publication Date: 1999-04-16This text profiles 75 notable Arab Americans. The book is also available as part of the four-volume Arab American Reference Library, along with Arab American Encyclopedia, Arab American Voices and a cumulative index.