Scientific Publications
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. A record consists of a citation and the article's bibliography (in abbreviated form). The citations themselves can be searched via author, title or other searches or the bibliographies can be searched for the presence of a chosen work (a cited reference search). Includes book reviews. A guide is available: Searching the Citation Indexes (Web of Science). The Web of Science comprises three indexes: Science Citation Index, (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900- ) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ).
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Full-text searching available but optional. Use Advanced Search. Under Journal Filter, you can limit your search to a particular journal or discipline, or to General Science journals.
JSTOR searches the "Notes and News" sections of journals (Science is especially rich in this material). In Advanced Search choose Item Type: Miscellaneous to limit, largely, to "Notes and News".
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Limit to scientific journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to Astronomy and Science (several related entries), although this will exclude scientific articles in non-scientific journals. A subset of the journals in PIO are full text searchable