Find Maps
Harvard Map Collection
The Harvard Map Collection, founded in 1818, is the oldest map collection in the United States. It houses one of the largest collections of maps, atlases, and digital data in North America. The collection has grown to include ca. 400,000 maps, over 6,000 atlases, and several thousand reference books. The collection represents all chronological periods and significant map makers through topographic maps, city plans, nautical charts, and thematic maps.
Harvard Geospatial Library
The Harvard Geospatial Library (HGL) is a place to search for and download many types of geospatial data. Data sets are available from around the world at various scales, from global to local. Each data set is delivered with complete metadata, making it easier to add to a GIS (geographic information system) and compare to other data sets about the same place.
Harvard University Center for Geographic Analysis
The Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard University was founded in 2006 as a university-wide technology platform in the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, building on the foundation already created by the Harvard Geospatial Library and the Harvard Map Collection. The Center supports research projects and courses needing spatial analysis.
FIMo (Fire Insurance Maps online)
FIMo is an online database of historical fire insurance maps, real estate atlases and similar land use maps. Maps in the collection include publications by Sanborn, Bromley, and others. This resource is useful for research for urban development patterns, past property uses, property construction (brick, wood, etc.), lot lines, and owners.