Welcome
This guide provides information about the Rare Book Collection at the Frances Loeb Library's Special Collections, how to search and request items, and explore digitized items.
About the Rare Book Collection
The Rare Book Collection includes rare books, rare periodicals, student theses, faculty publications, GSD publications (including publications that are the product of courses and/or studios), GSD student publications, GSD official registers, and publications related to our archival collections. To access items from this collection, researchers are required to place requests in advance.
|
Rare Books |
Includes publications from the sixteenth century to current limited-edition publications related to architecture, landscape architecture, urbanism, and allied design disciplines. The landscape architecture section also includes years of reports from the boards of commissioners for designing cities and parks within the United States. |
| Rare Periodicals |
Includes historical journals, journals that have driven theoretical discourse within the design disciplines, as well as some current journals. Also included are journals published by the GSD, and GSD student journals (both current and that date back to the early years of GSD). |
| GSD Student Theses |
Includes student theses that are submitted to the library by the school's academic departments. They date back to the early 1900 (School of Architecture and School of Landscape Architecture) and include student theses since the GSD was founded in 1936 to today. Current theses are submitted digitally and are linked directly to their HOLLIS records. Please note that the availability of a thesis is dependent on student submission. In addition, depending on the program/s, the school has not always required theses from students, therefore the library does not necessarily hold all theses produced by GSD students. |
|
GSD Faculty Publications |
Include books by GSD faculty related to their teaching (studio publications and reports), their professional practice, and/or their scholarly production. |
| GSD Publications |
Includes publications produced by the school, and its research centers, and includes a diversity of GSD pamphlets, periodicals, or journals published by the school. |
| GSD Student Publications |
Includes student journals that date back to the early years of the GSD to current-day publications produced by the student forum, student groups, and/or informal student collaborations. |
| GSD Official Registers (currently Student Handbook and GSD Courses) |
Include listings of GSD programs and courses per academic year and/or semester offered as required or optional courses by the academic departments and the advanced studies program. These date back to the early 1900s, before the separate schools of architecture, landscape architecture, and the department of city planning were brought together under one roof as the Graduate School of Design. These reference materials are useful for researchers looking for information about courses and/or faculty teaching specific courses at the GSD throughout the years. |
|
Publications related to or about GSD Archival Collections |
Includes research carried out using our archival collections, which complements their depth with a greater breadth of understanding and interpretation.
|
| Other (named) Book Collections |
Include publications collected by individuals with whom we hold associated archival collections. Arthur Comey Collection: ACC; Charles Eliot Collection: CE; Cluny Collection: CLUN; Charles Mulford Robinson Collection: CMR; Henry Hobson Richardson Collection: RICH; Reginald Roderic Isaacs Collection: RRI. These books are from archival collections where the books were indexed separately in HOLLIS when the archival collections were accessioned. |