Research Guides: Herb and Dietary Supplement Information: Books

Major References

Selected titles (in no particular order):

Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Reference by Natural Standard Staff; Catherine Ulbricht (Editor); Ethan M. Basch (Editor)
ISBN: 0323029949
Publication Date: 2004-12-08
This comprehensive resource consists of evidence-based systematic reviews of herbs and supplements. Ninety-eight rigorously reviewed monographs provide impartial data to help make unbiased clinical decisions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Each monograph has extensive information including, synonyms or common names; a clinical overview of each herb; dosing/toxicology information from adult to pediatric dosages; adverse effects/precautions/contraindications; interactions; mechanism of action; history; table with discussion and review of the evidence; and brands used in clinical trials and third party testing. An evidence-based approach provides readers with credible information on the efficacy and safety of a therapy so they can make a decision with confidence. Research summaries provide readers with an overview of what the research reveals concerning the efficacy, safety, indications, and contraindications of herbs and supplements. Evidence tables consolidate human clinical trial data, statistical analyses, magnitude of benefit, and quality of studies, summarizing study results and relevance to aid in decision-making. The grading scale used to rate each herb and supplement is based on the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of herb and supplement effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services. This grading scale is very comprehensive. Organized interaction tables help identify clinical significance of potential drug/herb/supplement/food/lab interactions. 160 condition tables, organized by specific health conditions and their related terms, prevent readers from having to reference numerous herbs and supplements when trying to treat a particular condition. Editorial board includes leading experts from a variety of disciplines, including physicians, pharmacists, administrators, naturopaths, homeopaths, acupuncturists, chiropractors, and researchers.
Chemical Constituents, Traditional and Modern Medicinal Uses by Ivan A. Ross
ISBN: 1588292819
Publication Date: 2003-03-12
Ivan Ross takes advantage of the significant growth in the amount of new data available to update and expand his much acclaimed Medicinal Plants of the World: Chemical Constituents, Traditional and Modern Medicinal Uses. This second edition exhaustively compiles new clinical research and references twenty-six of the most widely used medicinal plants in the world, including Allium sativum, Mangifera indica, Punica granatum;, Momoridica charantia, Mucuna pruriens; Arbus precatorius; Moringa pterysgosperma, Phyllanthus niruri, and Jatrpha curcas.
Medicinal Plants of the World by Ben-Erik van Wyk; Michael Wink; Ben-Erik Van Wyk
ISBN: 0881926027
Publication Date: 2004-02-15
Medicinal Plants of the World is a comprehensive and scientifically accurate guide to the best-known and most important medicinal plants. The book includes descriptions of more than 300 medicinal plants and their close relatives. Each entry gives a short summary with a description of the plant, the geographical origin, therapeutic category, historical and modern uses, active ingredients, and pharmacological effects. More than 500 full-color photographs assist in the identification of the plants. It is an essential reference guide for health care professionals -- doctors, nurses, and especially pharmacists -- or anyone with an interest in medicinal plants and their uses.
The Natural History of Medicinal Plants by Judith Sumner; Mark Plotkin (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0881924830
Publication Date: 2000-09-15
Wild and cultivated plants have provided humans with cures for thousands of years. Aspirin, for example, the most widely used drug in the Western pharmacopoeia, was first isolated from willows to treat fever, pain, and inflammation. Writing for the lay reader, the author surveys the history of the use of plants in medicine, the range of chemicals produced by plants, and the prospects for future discoveries.
Herbal Medicines by Joanne Barnes; Linda A. Anderson; J. David Phillipson; Carol A. Newall
ISBN: 0853694745
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
A general disillusionment with conventional medicines, coupled with the desire for a natural life style has resulted in an increasing utilization of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) across the developed world. The global market for herbal products has grown rapidly in the past decade, yet the majority are not assessed for their quality, safety and efficacy.
Duke's Handbook of Medicinal Plants of Latin America by James A. Duke
ISBN: 9781420043167
Publication Date: 2008-10-24
Finalist for 2009 The Council on Botanical & Horticultural Libraries Literature Award! A Comprehensive Guide Addressing Safety, Efficacy, and Suitability About a quarter of all the medicines we use come from rainforest plants and more than 1,400 varieties of tropical plants are being investigated as potential cures for cancer. Curare comes from a tropical vine and quinine from the cinchona tree. A comprehensive guide to safety, efficacy, and suitability, Duke#65533;s Handbook of Medicinal Plants of Latin America responds to continuing interest in medicinal plants and the potential remedies they contain. Determine Which Species Can Be Used for Specific Targets The author of Green Pharmacy Herbal Handbook and CRC Handbook of Medicinal Herbs, James A. Duke covers roughly 500 of the more important Native Latin American medicinal plants in a highly organized format. After a brief introduction, each entry contains scientific and colloquial names, synonyms, reference to illustrations, notes, biological activities, medicinal indications, dosages, potential hazards, extracts, and references. This format supplies a starting point for determining which species can be used for specific targets. Better Data Helps You Focus Your Search Year-round moderate temperatures, abundant rainfall, and rich soils make tropical Latin America home to nearly 100,000 of the world#65533;s 300,000 known species of plants, and therefore home to untold numbers of potential cures. Focusing on 500 of the most well-known and well-studied plants, this book helps you focus your search for ammunition against constantly evolving pathogens and newly emerging diseases.
Handbook of Medicinal Herbs by James A. Duke
ISBN: 0849312841
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
Still considered the definitive work on medicinal herbs and their uses after two decades, the Handbook of Medicinal Herbshas undergone a long-anticipated revision. In the second edition, world-renowned ethnobotanist James A. Duke provides up-to-date data on over 800 of the world's most important medicinal plant species. The book contains more species, phytochemicals, proven indications, folk indications, and dosage data than the first edition in a new easier to use format. The in-depth content, the addition of color plates and over 200 black and white illustrations makes this book the most comprehensive resource on medicinal herbs available. NEW IN THE SECOND EDITION: #65533; Over 100 color plates, 4 color maps #65533; Over 200 black and white illustrations #65533; Over 800 medicinal plants -- more than twice as many as the previous edition organized alphabetically by common name #65533; More herbs from the African, Ayurvedic, Chinese, and Jamu traditions EASY ACCESS TO INFORMATION YOU NEED Designed to give you fast access to the information you need on a regular basis, this new edition is organized more systematically than any other medicinal herb publication. The entries are now arranged alphabetically by common name with the scientific name in parenthesis. Major synonyms are also provided. #65533; It has become increasingly clear that there are hundreds of biologically active compounds, often additive or synergistic, in all our plants, foods, spices, herbs, medicinal, and poisonous plants. The debate continues on how these plants work and how they should be used. Blending scientific fact with folk uses and the author's personal experience, Handbook of Medicinal Herbs,Second Edition provides the most well rounded discussions of safety, efficacy, toxicity, and rational use found in any herbal reference.
Herbal Medicines in Pregnancy and Lactation by Gideon Koren; Paul Richard Saunders (Contribution by); Edward Mills; Jean-Jacques Duguoa; Dan Perri
ISBN: 9780415373920
Publication Date: 2006-01-17
Just as with prescription drugs, natural health products can present substantial risks and prompt the same areas of concern. Although some of these effects may be life-threatening, current literature on these important issues is scant. With the use of natural health products on the rise, physicians require quality evidence with which to make evidence-based decisions and provide answers to their patients. Herbal Medicines in Pregnancy and Lactation focuses entirely on the therapeutics, safety and risk information of herbs and supplements used during pregnancy and lactation for obstetricians, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, and primary care physicians.
A Dictionary of Natural Products by George M. Hocking
ISBN: 0937548316
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
A Dictionary of Natural Products is primarily devoted to an arrangement and explanation of terms relating to natural, nonartificial crude drugs from the vegetable, animal, and mineral kingdoms. This volume presents more than 18,000 entries of medicinal, pharmaceutical, and related products appearing on the market as raw materials or occurring in drug stores, folk medical practice, and in chemical manufacturing processes.
Pharmacognosy by Varro E. Tyler; Lynn R. Brady; James E. Robbers
ISBN: 0812110714
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Trease and Evans' Pharmacognosy by William Charles Evans
ISBN: 9780702029332
Publication Date: 2009-05-27
This encyclopedic reference work on pharmacognosy covers the study of those natural substances, principally plants, that find a use in medicine. Its popularity and longevity stem from the book's balance between classical (crude and powdered drugs' characterization and examination) and modern (phytochemistry and pharmacology) aspects of this branch of science, as well as the editor's recognition in recent years of the growing importance of complementary medicines, including herbal, homeopathic and aromatherapy. No other book provides such a wealth of detail. A reservoir of knowledge in a field where there is a resurgence of interest - plants as a source of drugs are of growing interest both in complementary medicine fields and in the pharmaceutical industry in their search for new 'lead compounds'. Dr Evans has been associated with the book for over 20 years and is a recognised authority in all parts of the world where pharmacognosy is studied, his knowledge and grasp of the subject matter is unique. Meticulously referenced and kept up to date by the editor, new contributors brought in to cover new areas. New chapter on 'Neuroceuticals'. Addition of many new compounds recently added to British Pharmacopoeia as a result of European harmonisation. Considers development in legal control and standardisation of plant materials previously regarded as 'herbal medicines'. More on the study of safety and efficacy of Chinese and Asian drugs. Quality control issues updated in line with latest guidelines (BP 2007).

Recent titles

Herb, Nutrient, and Drug Interactions by Mitchell Bebel Stargrove; Jonathan Treasure; Dwight L. McKee
ISBN: 9780323029643
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
Presenting detailed, evidence-based coverage of the most commonly encountered therapeutic agents in modern clinical practice, this resource is designed to help you safely and effectively integrate herbal, nutrient, and drug therapy for your patients or clients. Combining pharmaceuticals with herbs or supplements may complement or interfere with a drug's therapeutic action or may increase adverse effects. Additionally, drug-induced depletion of nutrients can occur. Comprehensive clinical data, quick-reference features, and the insight and expertise of trusted authorities help you gain a confident understanding of how herbal remedies and nutritional supplements interact with pharmaceuticals and develop safe, individualized treatment strategies for your patients. More than 60 comprehensive monographs of herb-drug and nutrient-drug interactions cover the most commonly used herbs and nutrients in health-related practice and help you coordinate safe, reliable therapy. Each herb and nutrient monograph features summary tables and concise, practical suggestions that provide quick and easy reference and complement the systematic review and in-depth analysis. References included on the bound-in CD provide high-quality, evidence-based support. Unique icons throughout the text differentiate interactions, evidence, and clinical significance. Up-to-date information keeps you current with the latest developments in pharmacology, nutrition, phytotherapy, biochemistry, genomics, oncology, hematology, naturopathic medicine, Chinese medicine, and other fields. A diverse team of authoritative experts lends valuable, trans-disciplinary insight.

More Books with ANP Student Reviews

Nursing Herbal Medicine Handbook by Springhouse Publishing Company Staff
ISBN: 9781582554174
Publication Date: 2005-02-14
Featuring up-to-the-minute data on over 325 herbs, Nursing Herbal Medicine Handbook, Third Edition can quickly answer nurses' questions about herbs and their uses. Herbs are listed alphabetically by popular name, and each entry covers the herb's actions and components, uses, preparation and amounts, adverse reactions, interactions, effects on lab test results, cautions, nursing considerations, and patient teaching. This edition features a new section on dietary supplements including complete coverage of vitamins and minerals, plus an updated section on nutraceuticals. Appendices include information on herb-drug interactions, a diseases list and the herbs that are used for them, and what to monitor when your patient is using herbs. Continuing education tests are available on NDHnow.com.

Student Review of Nursing Herbal Medicine Handbook

Title:

Nursing Herbal Medicine Handbook

Author(s):

Several clinical contributors and consultants listed but no specific authors

Publisher:

Springhouse Pennsylvania, 2001 [published ~ every two years]

Credentials or background of the author(s):

Several clinical researchers and pharmacists

Description of book type:

Handbook organized by herb name

Are various names for the herb given?

Schisandra name is given in 7 languages
Several common trade names listed

Does the book give doses?

Lists how herb is supplied and available form i.e. capsules of 560mg and 600mg.
Describes how to make decoction, liquid extract and tea
In separate caution section it lists patients to not give this herb to (pregnant, breast-feeding, patients with epilepsy, peptic ulcers, fever, and high BP.
Does not list specific dosages for ages and does not mention that it should not be given to children

Are various dosage forms listed and discussed?

How to make decoctions, tea and extracts is discussed.
Capsule and extract dosages are listed

Is the mechanism of action described?

Chemical components are listed but action is not described
Only mentions that lignins (I think other books spelled this word as lignans, but I am unsure if they are two different compounds) may have effects in liver protection herb may have astringent and nervous system stimulating effects.

Are constituents listed (active compounds)?

Active compounds are listed
Mentions that more than 30 lignins have been identified in seed and fruits and lists organic acid constituents

Is the safety of the herb rated or described? (Which patients should avoid this product?)

Does not include class of herb
Under cautions sections mentions pregnant and breast-feeding [people] should avoid this product, as well as patients with epilepsy, fever, peptic ulcers, and high BP
Lists adverse reactions including dyspnea, altered ALT levels, heartburn, insomnia, and may potentiate drug effects but does not list which drugs should not be combined with the herb.

Are interactions with drugs/other herbs/lab tests listed or described?

No information about herbal interactions given
Only mentions altered ALT levels under hepatic adverse reactions
Says it may potentiate drug effects and raise BP but does not mention which drugs it would do this with.

Is historical/popular use of the herb described?

Various uses are listed but history and origin are not talked about at all.

Are references listed and how current are they?

References are listed in back of the book so it is not clear where the information about schisandra came from. The oldest reference is from 1978 and the most recent is from 2001.
There is also an herbal resource list with company names and websites. DM

More Book Reviews

Herbal Medicines by Pharmaceutical Press Staff
ISBN: 0857110357
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Herbal Medicines provides a comprehensive single source of scientifically rigorous, impartial information on 180 of the most commonly used herbal medicinal products. The monographs are extensively referenced, detailing photochemical, pharmacological and clinical aspects of each herb (use, dose, adverse effects, interactions, etc). As with previous editions, Herbal Medicines is presented in full colour throughout, with chemical structures and photographs of the plant and drug material presented where available.

This fourth edition includes extensive revision of over 20 monographs and the addition of 28 new monographs. All Pharmacopeial information has been fully updated and restructured across the publication.

The new 28 monographs added are: Asparagus, Bistort, Black Currant, Bugleweed, Butcher's Broom, Cramp Bark, English Ivy, Epimedium, European Goldenrod, Fennel, Goat's Rue, Hoodia, Horsetail, Linseed, Lovage Root, Melilot, Noni, Oak Bark, Peony, Peppermint, Polypodium, Pygeum, Sea Buckthorn, Tea Tree, Tormentil, Turmeric, Verbascum, Yohimbe.

Appendix 4: Preparations Directory and Appendix 5: Suppliers Directory, have also been updated to include product information from over 43 countries including: Australia, Germany, UK and USA.

Written by experts in the fields of pharmacognosy, phytochemistry, phytopharmacy, clinical herbal medicines, phytopharmacovigilance and regulation of herbal medicinal products, Herbal Medicines is an invaluable reference text for pharmacists and other healthcare professionals who require evidence-based information on herbal medicines used for treatment and prevention of health problems.

Student Review of Herbal Medicines

Title:

Herbal Medicines

Author/Creator:

Joanne Barnes, Linda A. Anderson, and J. David Phillipson

Publisher:

Pharmaceutical Press, Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain/London

Credentials:

Dr. Joanne Barnes, BPharm, PhD, MRPharmS
Dr. Nigel C. Veitch PhD
Dr. Michael Smith
Dr. Linda Anderson
Professor J Phillip Phillipson

Description of book type:

This book is used as a reference for doctors, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals to provide advice to the public on herbal medicines.
This book is comprised solely of herbal monographs, which contain: species, synonyms, parts used, other monographs, legal category, constituents, food use, herbal use, dosage, pharmacological actions, side effects/toxicity, contraindications/warnings, pharmaceutical comment, and references for each herb.

The book does not seem to give any dosages other than standard adult dosages, but it does tell you in what form (ie- decoction, tincture, etc.)

Various dosage forms are listed, which makes this a very handy book for pharmacy practice.

The MOA/Pharmacological action is described

The safety of the herb is listed in the form of a side effect or contraindication with drug-herb interaction, or herb-disease contraindication, and use in pregnancy.

Some historical/popular use is described, but very little. If it is, it’s listed in the “Herbal Use” subcategory of the monograph.

References are listed after each monograph, and are less current in seldom used herbs, while more current in frequently used herbs.

The Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants by Andrew Chevallier
ISBN: 0789410672
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
This is the essential encyclopedic guide to modern complementary medicine. Featuring more than 550 key herbs and their healing properties, this heavily illustrated book will appeal to everyone interested in the future of medicine and the power of self-healing.

Student Review of The Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants

Title:

The Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants

Author(s):

Andrew Chevallier 1st ed. DK Publishing Inc. NY 1996

Credentials or background of the author(s):

Medical Herbalist, former president of National Institute of Medical Herbalist, current chair of the Council of Complimentary and Alternative Medicine

Description of book type:

Monographs on herbs organized by development of herbal medicines, world traditions, key medicinal plants, other medicinal plants and herbal remedies for home use.

Are various names for the herb given?

Chinese name given (Wu wei zi)
Latin name given (Schisandra Chinensis)
Names of 4 important constituents given

Dosage

Only specific dosage given is a decoction of 5g of berries in 100mL of water divided into 3 doses
No other dosage forms are discussed.
In a separate section of the book it mentions that in Chinese medicine the berries are eaten for 100 days as a tonic, but does not say how many or who this dosage is intended for.

Is the mechanism of action described?

Key actions are listed (adaptogen, tonic, liver protector) but no mode of action.

Are constituents listed (active compounds)?

Yes, lignans, volatile oils, vitamin C & E, and phytosterols

Is the safety of the herb rated or described? (Which patients should avoid this product?)

Safety is not discussed

Are interactions with drugs/other herbs/lab tests listed or described?

No interactions mentioned

Is historical/popular use of the herb described?

Yes, Historical and popular uses are as a tonic, sexual stimulant, sedative, liver treatment, mental and emotional remedy, balancer for fluid levels, and helpful for rashes and respiratory infections

Are references listed and how current are they? (What is the date of the most recent? What is the oldest?)

References and additional readings are listed together. The oldest was from 1597 and the most recent from 1995. DM

Solve It with Supplements by Robert A. Schulman; Carolyn Dean; Robert Schulman
ISBN: 9781579549428
Publication Date: 2006-12-26
Solve It with Supplements by Robert A. Schulman, MD and Carolyn Dean, MD, ND offers supplement solutions to a wide variety of health problems make this comprehensive, easy-to-use reference an indispensable addition to every home self-care library The evidence is in: Herbal and nutritional supplements have the therapeutic power to help treat and prevent disease. But how does someone know which ones to take and in what amounts? The answers can be found in this authoritative reference, which presents the best supplements to prevent or heal more than 100 common health problems. Every recommendation in this book has undergone thorough medical review by two respected physicians who specialize in complementary and alternative therapies. In addition to precise dosage instructions, the authors provide vital information on contraindications and potential interactions with medications, foods, and other supplements; examine the science and skepticism behind controversial supplements such as bee pollen, creatine, DHEA, and vitamin E; and warn about conditions for which readers should seek professional medical care before self-treating.

Student Review of Solve it With Supplements

Title:

Solve It With Supplements Robert Schulman, MD 2nd ed. Rodale, New York 2007

Credentials or background of the author(s):

Clinical Assistant Professor of rehabilitation medicine at Weill Medical College of Cornell University and author of several journal articles.

Description of book type:

Handbook organized several ways with basic introduction to supplements, guide for specific supplements and then organized by condition.

Are various names for the herb given such as botanical name, names in other languages, names of important constituents?

Common and botanical name and names of constituents

Does the book give doses for adults, children, elderly or those with special conditions (kidney disease, liver disease etc.)?

Limited information for adults

Are various dosage forms listed and discussed?

Is the mechanism of action described?

Is the safety of the herb rated or described?

Are interactions with drugs/other herbs/lab tests listed or described?

Is historical/popular use of the herb described?

Are references listed and how current are they?

Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements by Linda Skidmore-Roth
ISBN: 9780323037068
Publication Date: 2005-07-20
This essential handbook provides the busy health care provider with detailed information for approximately 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements, including 20 herbal products and natural supplements new to this edition. Arranged in alphabetical order, this resource incorporates authoritative information on common names, pronunciations, scientific names, origins, uses (reported and investigational), forms, dosages, contraindications, side effects and adverse reactions, interactions with herbs, drugs, foods, and lab tests, client considerations, pharmacology (pharmacokinetics, chemical components and actions) and references for every drug. With the increased usage of herbal therapies enjoyed by individuals, this handbook is packed with easy-to-find herbal information and is a must-have for any clinician. Features detailed information of over 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements Notes safety information from both the FDA and the American Herbal Product Association for each herb. Provides current, reliable, unbiased information, based on the German E Commission and other authoritative clinical sources. Includes up-to-date references for each individual herb with specific sources cited for doses, research, interactions, and pharmacokinetics. Features alerts to highlight critical information. Includes a unique, comprehensive Table of Contents with user-friendly cross-references for herbs with descriptive names (i.e. black hellebore/hellebore, black). Organizes herbs A-Z by common name of herbal product in natural order. Presents information in a proven, quick reference format similar to Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference. Provides an introductory chapter detailing key information on current issues with research, supply, harvest, manufacturer, storage, shelf life, and special population considerations for usage of herbals and supplements in general. Includes an Herbal Resources appendix listing useful websites and organizations in the herbal industry. Provides a Glossary of herbal terms to clarify dose and form terminology unique to herbals and natural supplements. Includes a Botanical Atlas illustrating various plant types and parts used in herbal preparations. Offers a comprehensive index containing all common and botanical names for herbals and natural supplements as well as all of the disorders that they are used to treat. Lists Poison Centers to aid in obtaining help quickly for potentially lethal use of plant products. Includes a Pediatric Herbal Use appendix with general guidelines and cautions regarding use of herbs in children. Provides an appendix listing many of the programs in the United States and Canada that offer training in complementary and alternative medicine. Offers endangered species information for rare and endangered herbs that should not be harvested. Highlights herbs not safe to ingest with a new Do Not Use Internally icon. Provides a pronunciation guide for common herb names to better familiarize with herbs currently in use. Features a Drug-Herb Interaction Table to supply information on known drug-herb interactions. Identifies Herb-Lab Test Interferences in each herb monograph to supply information on known herbal interferences on most lab tests in use today. A second color highlights critical information and makes it easier to find relevant information quickly. Features detailed information for approximately 20 new herbal products and natural supplements, including androstenedione, beta-carotene, calcium, folic acid, glutamine, and more. Includes new precautions, alerts, interactions, dosages, and client considerations to promote safe use of herbs and supplements.

Student Review of Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements

Title:

Mosby’s Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements

Author(s):

Linda Skidmore-Roth 3rd ed. Elsevier Mosby St. Louis Missouri 2006

Credentials or background of the author(s)

Linda Skidmore-Roth is an RN, MSN and NP

Description of book type:

Monographs on herbs organized by herb and supplement names. Some descriptions are short but extremely informative. This is a nursing handbook but seems essential for any clinical practice. For each description there are symbols that let you know if there are is any important pregnancy or pediatric information. Other symbols indicate if herbs are popular, endangered, and their adverse effects.

Are various names for the herb given?

Scientific and common names are given. For Schisandra there are five common names listed. - Primary chemical components are listed by individual class, individual components, and possible actions. i.e.: -Chemical class: Triterpeniods -Individual Component: manwuweizic acids, nigranoic acid, schisandronic acid
Possible Action: Cytotoxic

Does the book give doses for adults, children, elderly or those with special conditions (kidney disease, liver disease etc.?

For Schisandra it gives the adult dosage and a dosage for a patient with Hepatitis (this herb is used for liver protection). There is also a dosage for improving mental and physical performance, but there is no pediatric dosage

Are various dosage forms listed and discussed?

Daily dosage forms are listed for adult, Hepatitis and improving mental and physical performance but most are in capsule or extract form.
Preparation of dosages is not discussed.

Is the mechanism of action described?

The mechanism of action is described. It briefly mentions hepatoprotective and regenerative actions for carbon tetrachloride induced hepatotoxicty. There were two studies done where Schisandra improved damaged livers in mice. Another study showed that lignin was able to stimulate partial liver regeneration after rats were given carbon tetrachloride.

Are constituents listed (active compounds)?

Yes all constituents are listed as chemical classes but also included individual component and actions. For Schisandra the constituents listed are triterpenoids, resin, vitamin A, C & E, tannin, acids, sterols, Schizandrin B, Schisantherin, and Schizandrol.

Is the safety of the herb rated or described?

Lists as possible contraindication for pregnancy and lactation because there is not research available
Should not be given to children
Should not be given to anyone with hypersensitivity to schisandra
Listed as class 1 herb
Rare CNS and possible GI side effects listed as well as possible integumentary reactions

Are interactions with drugs/other herbs/lab tests listed or described?

Lists immunosuppressant drugs and indicates schisandra may decrease their effect
Avoid use before, during and after transplant surgery.
In ALT/AST lab tests it may decrease ALT and AST.
No known food or herb interaction is known

Is historical/popular use of the herb described?

Describes uses in Chinese medicine ( treatment of hepatic, renal and respiratory disorders
May be used to enhance athletic performance and energy
Thought to possess both antioxidant and immunosuppressant properties

Are references listed and how current are they?

4 references are listed. The oldest is from 1987. The most recent is 2004. DM

Recent Titles at Countway

Medicinal Plants of China and Its Neighborhood by Christophe Wiart
Call Number: QV 770 JA14 W631m 2012
ISBN: 9781439899113
Publication Date: 2012-05-11
Asian medicinal plants show great promise in pharmaceutical and cosmetological development. Researchers engaged in the discovery of new leads in these areas need robust conceptual tools and understanding of interrelated basics of botany, ethnobotany, biomolecular pharmacology, phytochemistry, and medicinal chemistry to guide their investigations. Medicinal Plants of China, Korea, and Japan: Bioresources for Tomorrowe(tm)s Drugs and Cosmetics explores the fundamental science and demonstrates the compelling potential of these versatile plants, providing an essential resource to stimulate and guide focused inquiry. It is essential that researchers appreciate the chemotaxonomical statuses of these plants, so chapters are arranged according to the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group system of plant taxonomy. The book discusses the history, synonymy, habitat, description, traditional uses, and pharmacochemistry of each plant. Detailed photographs and hand-made botanical plates enable quick and reliable identification of each plant species. Critical analyses of peer-reviewed articles provide the basis for Bioresource sections in each chapter wherein readers are advised, engaged, and guided towards exciting pharmaceutical and cosmetological research proposals. Also included are indexes of botanical terms, pharmacological terms, natural products, and local names. Detailing 200 medicinal plant species carefully selected for their novelty and pharmacological and cosmetological importance, this volume provides a firm starting point for anyone looking forward to unlocking the potential of Asian medicinal plants. In addition, this invaluable book identifies numerous patentable leads.
Medicinal Plants by M. K. Rai (Editor); Geoffrey A. Cordell (Editor); Jose L. Martinez (Editor); Mariela Marinoff (Editor); Luca Rastrelli (Editor)
Call Number: QV 766 M489 2012
ISBN: 9781578087938
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
This volume provides a contemporary overview of new strategies for traditional medicine development. It emphasizes the importance of cataloging ethnomedical information, determining the active principles, and examining the genetic diversity and range of actions of traditional medicines. It discusses the challenges of using traditional medicines for diseases where access to modern medicine is limited, and the research areas needed to improve quality, safety, and efficacy for enhancing healthcare. Affirming the importance of traditional medicines as an essential and integral component of healthcare systems, it explores the vast opportunities for their evidence-based development.
Palau Primary Health Care Manual by Stephen Dahmer; Sholeh Hanser; Kiblas Soaladaob; Gemma Ngirchobong; Meked Besebes; Flora Wasisang; Daniel Kulakowski; Irina Adam; Michael Balick; Ann Hillmann Kitalong; Christopher Kitalong; Katherine Herrera; Wayne Law; Roberta Lee; Van-Ray Tadao; Fausti
Call Number: QV 770 LP1 D131p 2012
ISBN: 9781477446355
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The Republic of Palau in the Caroline Islands has a traditional medical system developed over many generations. The Palau Primary Health Care Manual compiles traditional ethnomedical information about plants and presents it within the context of Western Medicine. Many common health conditions are discussed in this book, including those specific to Palauan culture. The book is divided into chapters that discuss plant therapies used in traditional medical care including preventive medicine, chronic disease, bites and stings, diarrhea and gastrointestinal disorders, skin disorders, cuts, wounds, and broken bones, stress, pain, women's health, men's health, colds and flu, and ear, nose, and throat. Also provided is scientific information about each species including efficacy, pharmacology, and potential toxicity, where known. It is intended as an educational manual for Palau and the Pacific region, an area where traditional medicine and some of the plants used in its practice, are endangered resources. Based on extensive on-island research and a comprehensive review of the literature, the book has been produced by a group of Palauan and international experts, specialists in ethnomedicine, clinical care, public health, biology, conservation, and Pacific Island culture.
Herbal Medicines by Pharmaceutical Press Staff
Call Number: WB 925 H533 2013
ISBN: 9780857110350
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Herbal Medicines provides a comprehensive single source of scientifically rigorous, impartial information on over 180 of commonly used herbal medicinal products. Now includes one year's free individual access to the online version on MedicinesComplete.

This fourth edition has been extensively revised and updated with 31 new herbs included: Asparagus, Bistort, Blackcurrant, Bugleweed, Butcher¿s Broom, Cramp Bark, English Ivy, Epimedium, European Goldenrod, Fennel, Goat¿s Rue, Hoodia, Horsetail, Linseed, Lovage Root, Melilot, Noni, Oakbark, Oats, Pelargonium, Peppermint, Peony, Polypodium, Pygeum, Sea Buckthorn, Sorrel, Teatree, Tormentil, Turmeric, Verbascum, and Yohimbe.

Herbal Medicines is presented in an easy-to-use encyclopedia format, allowing practitioners to use it as reference, rather than having to read it cover-to-cover. Written by experts in the fields of pharmacognosy, phytochemistry, phytopharmacy, clinical herbal medicines, phytopharmacovigilance and regulation of herbal medicinal products, Herbal Medicines is an invaluable reference text for pharmacists and other healthcare professionals who require evidence-based information on herbal medicines used for treatment and prevention of health problems.