Online Sources for Theatre Reviews
- ProQuest News and NewspapersHistorical and current newspapers in full text, including major national and regional papers, African-American, and U.S. Communist newpapers.
- The New York Times OnlineLinks for several full text databases - pick the one that includes the date range you need (tip: ProQuest Historical Newspapers includes 1857-2015; more recent issues are available in other databases). For coverage and reviews of original productions, limit publication date to a specific date range.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveFor coverage of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies to 2000. The collection includes US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theater, film fan magazines, and popular music magazines.
- Academic Search PremierFor coverage and reviews of original productions, limit publication date to a specific date range.
- Periodicals Index OnlineAn index to tables of contents of periodicals; to find reviews, search by title of show and limit by date. Some full text is available here.
Print Sources for Theatre Reviews
- American Drama Criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977 byInterpretations and criticisms of plays by American dramatists published from 1890 to 1977 are indexed by author with indices of critics and playwrights and lists of books and periodicals drawn upon.
- A Guide to Critical Reviews byPart 1. American drama, 1909-1982 -- Part 2. The musical, 1909-1989.
- Cumulated Dramatic Index, 1909-1949Cumulation of F. W. Faxon Co.'s Dramatic Index, 1909-1949. For plays, check for citations under their individual titles. Check also under "Dramas" by subject area.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical LiteratureThis index covers popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada from the late 1800s through the 20th century. Citations for reviews are found under "Dramas" and "Musical comedies." The online version, sadly, does not include all the review citations which the print version offers.
