Italy

Italy presents difficulties in searching for personal papers. Italy does not have a strong tradition of depositing papers in public institutions, so many remain in private hands and family archives. The Archivi di Stato are located throughout Italy in provincial capitals and some communes, and contain many sets of fondi privati. The Ministero per i Beni Culturali e Ambientali administers this system and through regional Soverintendenze also supervises many public and private archives not in the Archivi di Stato. Current names and addresses may be found in the International Directory of Archives and annually in the Rassegna degli Archivi di Stato.

Archives in Italy (PORT) offers an overview of the major Italian archives portals.

Direzione Generale per gli Archivi

Lewanski, Rudolf J. Guide to Italian libraries and archives. New York: Council for European Studies, 1979.
LOCATION: Ctr Eur Studies: Z809.A1 L48
LOCATION: Law School: ILS RR Z809.A1 L48
LOCATION: Widener: RR 45. 406

Manus: Censimento dei manoscritti delle biblioteche italiane

ARCHIVI website

Sistema Archivistico Nazionale. Lists of collections and finding aids. Links to archives.

Guida generale degli Archivi di Stato italiani

Archivi di famiglie e di persone: materiali per una guida. Pubblicazioni degli archivi di Stato. Strumenti; 112. [Roma]: Ministero per i beni culturali e ambientali, Ufficio centrale per i beni archivistici, 1991- .
LOCATION: Widener: Ital 36.65 vol. 112

Names beginning with A through L only. Many of the entries are from the Guida generale degli archivi di Stato italiani, which can be checked for M through Z.

L'Archivio centrale dello Stato 1953-1993. Pubblicazioni degli archivi di stato. Saggi; 27. Roma: Ministerio per i beni culturali e ambientali, Ufficio centrale per i beni archivistici, 1993.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CD1409.A73 1993x

Bibliografia di inventari e cataloghi a stampa dei manoscritti conservati nelle biblioteche italiane. Roma: Istituto centrale per il catalogo unico delle biblioteche italiane e per le informazioni bibliografiche, 1985- .
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository Ref 630.10 Library has: v. 1-3 in 1

1. Emilia-Romagna -- 2. Friuli Venezia Giulia, Trentino Alto Adige -- 3. Abruzzo.

Fondo manoscritti di autori contemporanei: catalogo. Torino: G. Einaudi, 1982.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PQ4097.Z99 F66 x, 1982

Guida agli archivi delle personalita della cultura in Toscana tra '800 e '900: l'area fiorentina. Archivi della cultura tra '800 e '900 in Toscana; 1. Firenze: L.S. Olschki, 1996.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CD1655.F57 G85 1996

Inventari dei manoscritti delle biblioteche d'Italia. [S.l.]: [s.n.], 1890- .
LOCATION: Widener: B 3545.15
LOCATION: Widener: B 3545.16 Aggiunte e correzioni

AD900: Archivio digitale del ‘900 letterario italiano offers digital versions of 20th century literary material (diaries, manuscripts, photographs, etc.) from several Italian archives, including the Archivio Palazzeschi of the University of Florence, the Archivio Gozzano-Pavese of the University of Turin, and the Archivio linguistico e cinematografico italiano (ALECI).

Italian History Index: Archives and Digital Sources

List of archives web pages and digitization projects.

National Library Service

 

Directories

Catalogo delle biblioteche d'Italia. Roma: ICCU; Milano: Bibliografica, 1993- .
LOCATION: Widener: Various call numbers

A series of regional library directories.

Italian library directory

Repertorio delle biblioteche italiane, by Francesco Marraro. 2. ed. Roma: Olgiata, 1993.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC Z809.A1 M38 1993x