Research Guide for Chinese Studies

Created by the Academia Sinica 中央研究院 in Taiwan, this system aims to construct an integrated GIS-based application infrastructure allowing the integration of materials related to Chinese civilization during the imperial period (222 BCE – 1911 CE) in spatial and temporal frameworks. It allows individual researchers to download map layers and contribute their results to the database. It also provides searching for information on historical place names, the Bibliography of Chinese Local Gazetteers 中國大陸各省地方志書目查詢系統, and the 輿圖要錄 from Beijing Library 北京图书馆.

Technical requirements: Requires installation of Java RunTime Environment 1.3.1 and the CCTS Plug-In 1.3.1 or, for those with Java RunTime 1.4.x (or above) already installed, ArcExplorer 9. These are available for download from the Web site under Framework of Time and Space.

To download and save CCTS map layers, please register for an individual account by clicking on the Registration tab at the top of the page. Other parts of the site are open to the world.

WorldMap is an open source web mapping system that is currently under construction. It is built to assist academic research and teaching as well as the general public and supports discovery, investigation, analysis, visualization, communication and archiving of multi-disciplinary, multi-source and multi-format data, organized spatially and temporally.

Extensive list of annotated links to China-related geographic resources, including a large map section.

Scanned images of a large collection of historical maps of China, Japan, and other parts of the world held by the Toyo Bunko.

All of the photographs contained in the 28 albums assembled by Hedda Morrison and beaqueathed to Harvard-Yenching Library have been cataloged and digitized and can be viewed in VIA (Visual Information Access), the union catalog of visual resources at Harvard. This site provides information about the collection and strategies for effectively searching for Hedda Morrison photographs in VIA.

A collection of materials relating to Muslims in western China and Christian missionaries working among them in the 1920s and 1930s. A finding aid to the entire collection of Rev. Pickens, an American Episcopal missionary in pre-revolutionary China, may be found in OASIS (Online Archival Search Information System). Portions of the collection, including posters, prints, manuscript items, scrolls, and some 1,000 photographs are viewable in VIA (Visual Information Access) with item-level description.