Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal History: Continental Legal History

Welcome

This page contains a listing of some particularly useful online research tools for Continental Legal History.

Continental Legal History - Search for Journal Articles

International Medieval Bibliography
This is a comprehensive, current bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings covering many disciplines including Classics, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database allows users also to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957. (Harvard ID and PIN required)
Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance (U. Toronto)
Created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources, this database includes the "Iter Bibliography", which offersmore than 600,000 records for articles, essays, books and reviews as well as a growing list of related databases and web sites. (Harvard ID and PIN required)
L'Année Philologique
This is an international annual index to research on all aspects of greco-roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including history, law and philosophy among others. Searchable by modern author, full text, ancient authors and texts, subjects and disciplines, title keywords, publisher, collection, and name of periodical. May be combined, limited by year of publication or by a range of years, and by modern language (for French, English, German, Italian and Spanish). (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Continental Legal History - Search for Treatises and Journals

HOLLIS Catalog
Use HOLLIS to find resources available at the Harvard University libraries, including the Law Library. Try keywords such as "civil law", "canon law", "continental legal history". You also do more targeted searches by using subject headings, such as "Law, Medieval.", "Law -- Europe -- History.", "Law, Medieval -- Congresses." or "Civil law -- [country]".
Library of Congress Online Catalog
The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. The Catalog also displays searching aids for users, such as cross-references and scope notes.
WorldCat
Use WorldCat to verify citations of items not found in the HOLLIS catalog, to find a local library which has an item, or to provide accurate citations for inter-library loan requests. WorldCat includes 40 million catalog records and holdings from over 12,000 libraries worldwide. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Continental Legal History - Search Using E-Research

E-Research@Harvard Libraries: Citation Linker
Use this tool to find the full-text of an article by its citation. You can also use it to locate a Harvard licensed electronic journal by its title.
E-Research@Harvard Libraries: Find E-Journals
Use this page to locate Harvard licensed journals by title, keyword, or ISSN. It includes individually licensed journals and journals available through a database.
E-Research@Harvard Libraries: Find E-Resources
Use this link to locate indexes and e-journal collections by title, ke

Subject Guide

Stephen Wiles's picture
Stephen Wiles