Cinderella
Ask a Librarian
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries etc.
Resources marked with a 
symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN
number may access the resources from off-campus.
Fairy Lore: A Handbook
by D.L. Ashliman
Location: Widener Library WID-LC GR549 .A85 2006
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook
by D.L. Ashliman
Location: Widener Library WID-LC GR550 .A77 2004
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Ireland in Fiction; a Guide to Irish Novels, Tales, Romances, and Folk-lore
by Stephen J. Brown
Location: Widener Library 10466.4.6
HOLLIS Catalog Record
MagillOnLiterature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus contains a large collection of literary
resources plot summaries and character descriptions.
The Oxford English Dictionary (the OED)
The OED shows the current meanings of words and detailed
etymological analysis.
Oxford
Reference Online: Mythology and Folklore
This database searches the entire contents of the following digital
reference books from Oxford University Press: A Dictionary of
African Mythology, A Dictionary of Asian Mythology, A Dictionary of
Celtic Mythology, A Dictionary of English Folklore, The Oxford
Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, A Dictionary of Superstitions, A
Dictionary of World Mythology, The Oxford Companion to World
Mythology.
A Traveller’s Guide to
Icelandic Folk Tales
by Jón R. Hjálmarsson; translated by Anna Yates
Location: Widener Library Harvard Depository GR215 .H44
2002
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Primary Sources
Anderson's Fairy Tales
by Hans Christian Andersen
Includes "The Brave Tin Soldier", "The Emperor's New Suit", "The
Ice Maiden", "The Little Match-Seller"," The Little Mermaid", "The
Nightingale", "The Princess and the Pea", "The Red Shoes",
"Thumbelina", "The Tinder-Box", "The Ugly Duckling", and "The Wild
Swans."
The Annotated Brothers Grimm
by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm; edited with a preface and notes by
Maria Tatar; translations by Maria Tatar; introduction by A.S.
Byatt
Location: Widener Library Harvard Depository PT921 .K5613
2004
HOLLIS Catalog Record
The Annotated Hans Christian Andersen
by Hans Christian Andersen; edited with an introduction and notes
by Maria Tatar; translations by Maria Tatar and Julie K.
Allen
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Classic Celtic Fairy Tales
selected and edited by John Matthews; foreword by R.J. Stewart;
illustrated by Ian Daniels
Location 1: Widener Library Harvard Depository GR137 .C53
1997
Location 2: Lamont Library GR137 .C53 1997
HOLLIS Catalog Record
The Classic Fairy Tales
compiled by Iona and Peter Opie
Lamont Library FARNSWORTH | GR550 .O6 1992
Widener Library WID-LC GR550 .O6 1992
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Classic Fairy Tales from Ancient Palestine and Jordan
by Hikmat Ben Odeh; illustrated by Wided Ayal; with an introduction
by Denise D. Minnus
Widener Library Harvard Depository
HOLLIS Catalog Record
A
Collection of Popular Tales from the Norse and North German
by George Webbe Dasent
Danish
Folk Tales
from the Danish of Svend Grundtvig, E. T. Kristensen, Ingvor
Bondesen and L. Budde;
translated by J. Christian Bay
The Enchanted Lake: Classic Irish Fairy Stories
by Sinéad De Valera
Location: Harvard Depository PZ8.D48 Enc 2005
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Grimm's
Fairy Tales
by The Brothers Grimm
Includes "Little Red Riding Hood", "Briar Rose or The Sleeping
Beauty", "The Hare and the Hedgehog", "Snow-White and Red-Rose",
"The Frog Prince", "Hans in Luck", "The Fisherman and his Wife",
"Cinderella", "The Goose Girl" and more.
Grimm's Household Tales
by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Politicizing Magic: An Anthology of Russian and Soviet Fairy Tales
by Marina Balina, Helena Goscilo, and Mark Lipovetsky
Location: Widener Library WID-LC GR203.17 .P65 2005
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Irish
Fairy Tales
by James Stephens; illustrated by Arthur Rackham
The Princess and the Goblin
by George MacDonald
Thousand and One Nights (Arabian Nights)
translated by Edward William Lane
Includes "The Story of the Merchant and the Jinni", "The Story of
the Husband and the Parrot", "The Story of the Royal Mendicants",
"The Story of the Ladies of Baghdad", "The Story of 'Ali Baba and
the Forty Thieves" and more.
Selected Web Sites
Aesop's Fables
Online
An online collection of 638 fables by Aesop, most translated by
Rev. George Fyler Townsend and the rest by Ambrose Bierce.
Andersen's Life and
Works
The
Children's Literature Web Guide
A web portal that links to many useful sites on children's
literature
jmbarrie.co.uk
Andrew Birkin's website devoted to his 30-plus year scholarly study
of the works of J.M. Barrie.
SurLaLune Fairy
Tales
SurLaLune Fairy Tales features 47 annotated fairy tales, including
their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern
interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations.
University of Southern Mississippi Fairy Tales Project
Includes "The Cinderella Project" , "The Little Red Riding Hood
Project" and "The Jack and the Beanstalk/Jack the Giant Killer
Project." These projects were designed by the English Department at
USM and offers text and image archives that contain various
versions of the fairy tales.
Do you know of an accurate, authoritive website that would be
useful to list here? Email Pam Matz to suggest that it be added to this
list.
