Traditions

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
by David Levinson and Melvin Ember, eds.-in-chief
Location 1: Gutman LibrarytRef. E184.A1 A63448 1997
Location 2: Tozzer Library REF E184.A1 A63448 1997
Location 3: Widener Library WID-LC E184.A1 A63448 1997
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Countries and their Cultures
by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, eds.
Location 1: Lamont Library REFERENCE GN307 .C68 2001
Location 2: Tozzer REF GN307 .C68 2001
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Electronic Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF)   contains the full text of books, periodical articles, manuscripts, and dissertations and theses on selected cultures of the world. All documents have been thoroughly indexed with the 3-digit codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials, and the full text is available in two formats: microfiche (pre-1994_ and eHRAF via the web (1994-). A list of cultures covered on the web is available at the HRAF website, licensed for use at Harvard University (controlled by IP address). Also see the eHRAF User Guide produced by Yale.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
by David Levinson and Melvin Ember, eds.
Location 1: Lamont Library REFERENCE GN307 .E52 1996
Location 2: Tozzer Library REF GN307 .E52 1996
Location 3: Widener Library Loker Reading Room RR4773.10 
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World
by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, eds.
Location 1: Kennedy School of Government Library Ref HT123 .E53 2002
Location 2: Lamont Library REFERENCE HT108.5 .E53
Location 3: Tozzer Library REF HT108.5 .E53 2002
Location 4: Widener Library Pusey 2 Stacks WID-LC HT108.5 .E53 2002
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
by David Levinson, ed.-in-chief
Location 1: Tozzer Library REF GN307 .E5
Location 2: Widener Library Loker Reading Room RR 4781.23.3
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Encyclopedia of World Cultures Supplement
by Melvin Ember, Carol R. Ember, and Ian Skoggard, Eds.
Location: Tozzer Library REF GN307 .E5
HOLLIS Catalog Record
 
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts
by Nigel Rapport and Joanna Overing
Location: Tozzer Library REF GN307 .R37 2000
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Fieldwork Handbooks and Guides

Anthropology of Experience
Victor W. Turner and Edward Bruner, eds.
Location 1: Gutman Library GN345 .A58 1986
Location 2: Lamont Lirbary GN345 .A58 1986
Location 3: Quad Library GN345 .A58 1986
Location 4: Tozzer Library ETHL AN 86
Location 5: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks GN345 .A58 1986
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide
by Donald A. Ritchie
Location: Widener Library WID-LC D16.14 .R57 2003
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Fieldwork
by Bruce Jackson
Location 1: Gutman Library GR45.5 .J33 1987
Location 2: Lamont Library GR45.5 .J33 1987
Location 3: Loeb Music Library Seeger Room GR45.4 .J33 1987
Location 4: Tozzer Library ETHG. J 132 f
Location 5: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GR45.5 .J33 1987
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Folklife and Fieldwork: A Layman's Introduction to Field Techniques
1st edition by Peter Bartis; rev. ed. 2002
Made available online by the Library of Congress

A Guide for Field Workers in Folklore
by Kenneth S. Goldstein
Location 1: Lamont Library GR40 .G6 
Location 2: Widener Library 25221.210
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Location 3: Tozzer Library L.SOC.120.38.1 (52)
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Handbook of Ethical Research with Ethnocultural Populations and Communities
by Joseph E. Trimble and Celia B. Fisher, eds.
Location: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GN495.4 .H36
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Living Folklore: An Introduction to the Study of People and their Traditions
by Martha C. Sims and Martine Stephens
Location 1: Tozzer Library TOZ-LC GR45 .S56 2005
Location 2: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GR45 .S56 2005
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Oral Traditions and the Verbal Arts: A Guide to Research Practices
by Ruth Finnegan
Location 1: Tozzer Library ETHL. F 497 o
Location 2: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GN346 .F56 1992x
HOLLIS Catalog Record

People Studying People: The Human Element in Fieldwork
by Robert A. Georges and Michael O. Jones
Location 1: Gutman Library H62 .G46
Location 2: Lamont Library H62 .G46
Location 3: Tozzer Library ANT. G 295 p
Location 4: Widener Library Pusey 2 Stacks WID-LC H62 .G46
HOLLIS Catalog Record
The World Observed: Reflections on the Fieldwork Process
by Bruce Jackson and Edward D. Ives
Location 1: Lamont Library GN346 .W67 1996
Location 2: Tozzer Library ETHL. W 893
Location 3: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GN346 .W67 1996
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Writing Culture: The Poetics and Politics of Ethnography
by James Clifford and George E. Marcus, eds.
Location 1: Andover-Harvard Theological Library GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 2: Gutman Library GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 3: Kennedy School of Government Library GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 4: Lamont Library GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 5: Loeb Music Library Seeger Room GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 6: Quad Library: GN307.7 .W75 1986
Location 7: Tozzer Library ETHG W 939
Location 8: Widener Library WID-LC GN307.7 .W75 1986
HOLLIS Catalog Record

The Tape-Recorded Interview: A Manual for Fieldworkers in Folklore and Oral History
by Edward D. Ives
Location 1: Lamont Library GR45.5 .I93 1980
Location 2: Tozzer Library ETHG. Iv 3 t
Location 3: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks WID-LC GR45.5 .I93 1980
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Things As They Are: New Directions in Phenomenological Anthropology
by Michael Jackson
Location 1: Andover-Harvard Theological Library GN33 .T55 1996
Location 2: Lamont Library GN33 .T55 1996
Location 3: Quad Library GN33 .T55 1996
Location 4: Tozzer Library ANT. T 347
Location 5: Widener Library Pusey 3 Stacks GN33 .T55 1996
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Resources marked with a   symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,500  publications, including journals, magazines and newspapers, with.full text is available for the majority. Most complete coverage begins in the 1990s. Limit search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals to omit popular magazines and newspapers.)

America History and Life indexes materials published since 1964 on the history of the United States and Canada, including articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations, in over 2000 journals. America includes topics in cultural and intellectual history and indexes a number of folklore journals.

Anthropological Index,   produced by the Royal Anthropological Institute of The British Museum, covers periodicals on all aspects of anthropology from 1957 to the present.

Anthropological Literature,    produced by Harvard's Tozzer Library, covers periodical articles and articles from edited books from the mid-19th century to the present.

Anthropology Plus   is a combined index that allows joint searching of the two indexes above, covering social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Searching through Anthropology Plus is very convenient, but using the two indexes individually allows more specific searches.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index   is a multidisciplinary database indexing 1,100 arts and humanities journals and selected major science and social science journals (including art, dance, film, folklore, music, and interdisciplinary topics). Also indexes each article's cited reference list, allowing searches for articles that cite a particular author or work. See the HCL Research Guide, Searching the Citation Indexes.

Electronic Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) contains the full text of books, periodical articles, manuscripts, and dissertations and theses on selected cultures of the world. All documents have been thoroughly indexed with the 3-digit codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials, and the full text is available in two formats: microfiche (pre-1994_ and eHRAF via the web (1994-). A list of cultures covered on the web is available at the HRAF website, licensed for use at Harvard University (controlled by IP address). Also see the eHRAF User Guide produced by Yale.

JSTOR   is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, generally covering the journals' contents up until the most recent 3-5 years. (That coverage may be available through other Harvard E-Resources, however.)  JSTOR is searchable either as a whole or by subsets, such as JSTOR Folklore.

MLA International Bibliography   is a good first choice to search for scholarly articles on both folklore and literature topics. The MLA indexes articles in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats, from 1926 to the present.  Though MLA does not provide full-text, full-text for many of the articles it indexes will be available through other resources, by using  the  function.

For information prior to 1926, see the MLA in print listed below; note that prior to 1955, the MLA covered only American works on world languages and literatures.
MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, 1921-1955
Location: Widener Library  WID-LC PB 41 .Z99 M62ax
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Project Muse,   similar to JSTOR, is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly, university-press journals in the humanities and social sciences, but, typically, for the most recent 3-5 years. Many of these holdings complement JSTOR's.

To look for books on a subject, start first with Harvard's library catalog, HOLLIS. It's also useful to search "union" catalogs (i.e. large catalog databases that include multiple libraries's materials) as well as bibliographies. Books and materials that you don't find in the HOLLIS catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. You may also make a purchase request to ask the library to purchase a copy for the collection. Resources marked with a   symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

HOLLIS Catalog
There are nearly 4.5 million books in Widener Library's collection, and they are all listed here, in Harvard University's union catalog of all the libraries at Harvard.  For an introduction to using the HOLLIS, consult the guide Searching the HOLLIS (Harvard Online Library Infromation System) Catalog.  Remember that books and materials that you find in the catalogs below (and don't find in the HOLLIS catalog) can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

The European Library
The European Library permits to search the catalogs of Europe’s national libraries (including national libraries from countries that are not in the European Union). The default search is limited to The European Library’s full-partner libraries (the "Advanced Search" provides a full list). Click on "Collections" to hand-pick collections for your search.

KVK: Der Karlsruher Virtuelle Katalog
A major union catalog of European libraries, this database contains records for over 75 million books in libraries and other book catalogs worldwide.

RLG's Eureka on the Web (Research Libraries Group Union Catalog)
Provides access to RLG's union catalog of records from the collections of major American research libraries; archives and museums; historical societies and international book vendors.

Visual Information Access (VIA)
VIA is a union catalog of visual resources at Harvard and Radcliffe. It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives. To date only portions of each repository's holdings are described in the online catalog. Where available, thumbnail images are linked to the catalog records.

WorldCat
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. The scope of the database includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books.