Sitar Workshop

Usman Waqqas Chohan demonstrating at a sitar workshop in Islamabad, Pakistan (public domain image, courtesy of Wikipedia)

Ask a Librarian

Introduction

Explore this page to find resources relating to ethnomusicology.  For research assistance with library research on music and ethnomusicology topics, contact Liza Vick.

  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Research Guides

  • Journal Articles

  • Library Catalogs

  • Selected Web Sites

  • Digital Sound Collections

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Research Guides

Resources marked with a symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Grove Music Online



Ethnomusicology Research : A Select Annotated Bibliography
by Ann Briegleb Schuursma
Location 1: Loeb Music Seeger Room ML128.E8 S4 1992
Location 2: Tozzer REF ML128.E8 S3 1992
Location 3: Widener WID-LC ML128.E8 S4 1992
HOLLIS Catalog Record

The Listening Post: "Mini-reviews" and recommended listening in ethnic and folk music recordings by Robert Garfias (faculty, University of California, Irvine).

Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM) "-Ographies":  Current bibliographies, discographies, and film/videographies.



Ethnomusicology and Modern Music History
edited by Stephen Blum, Philip V. Bohlman, Daniel M. Neuman
Location 1: Loeb Music Seeger Room ML3799 .E83 1990
Location 2: Tozzer TECH. Et 378
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Excursions in World Music
by Bruno Nettl [et al.]
Location: Loeb Music Harvard Depository MT90 .E95 2008
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology : A Core Collection of Important Ethnomusicological Articles.
edited by Kay Kaufman Shelemay
Location 1: Loeb Music Seeger Room ML3799 .G37 1990
Location 2: Tozzer TECH. G 183
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Soundscapes: Exploring Music in a Changing World
by Kay Kaufman Shelemay
Location:
Loeb Music MT90 .S53 2006
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Theory for ethnomusicology
by Ruth M. Stone
Location: Loeb Music
Seeger Room ML3798 .S76 2008
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Indexes to Journal Articles and Full-Text Journal Archives

Resources marked with a   symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,500  publications, including journals, magazines and newspapers, with.full text is available for the majority. Most complete coverage begins in the 1990s. Limit search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals to omit popular magazines and newspapers.)

America History and Life indexes materials published since 1964 on the history of the United States and Canada, including articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations, in over 2000 journals. America includes topics in cultural and intellectual history and indexes a number of folklore journals.

Anthropological Index, produced by the Royal Anthropological Institute of The British Museum, covers periodicals on all aspects of anthropology from 1957 to the present.

Anthropological Literature, produced by Harvard's Tozzer Library, covers periodical articles and articles from edited books from the mid-19th century to the present.

Anthropology Plus is a combined index that allows joint searching of the two indexes above, covering social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Searching through Anthropology Plus is very convenient, but using the two indexes individually allows more specific searches.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing 1,100 arts and humanities journals and selected major science and social science journals (including art, dance, film, folklore, music, and interdisciplinary topics). Also indexes each article's cited reference list, allowing searches for articles that cite a particular author or work. See the HCL Research Guide, Searching the Citation Indexes.

JSTOR is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, generally covering the journals' contents up until the most recent 3-5 years. (That coverage may be available through other Harvard E-Resources, however.)  JSTOR is searchable either as a whole or by subsets, such as JSTOR Music or JSTOR Performing Arts.  Coverage of the journal Ethnomusicology (1953-2000) and other folklore and traditional music titles available in JSTOR Music.

International Index to Music Periodicals draws its content (1874 to present) from nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries, and also indexes feature music articles appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIMP also contains selective full text articles in journals such as Ethnomusicology and Ethnomusicology Forum.

International Index to the Performing Arts is a performing arts journal resource with over 400,000 indexed articles, selective full text, plus detailed abstracts from 1864 to the present, covering film, theatre, and dance.  Includes coverage of popular music, jazz, folk music.

MLA International Bibliography is a good first choice to search for scholarly articles on both folklore and literature topics. The MLA indexes articles in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats, from 1926 to the present.  Though MLA does not provide full-text, full-text for many of the articles it indexes will be available through other resources, by using  the HOLLIS Catalog Record function.

For information prior to 1926, see the MLA in print listed below; note that prior to 1955, the MLA covered only American works on world languages and literatures.
MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, 1921-1955
Location: Widener Library  WID-LC PB 41 .Z99 M62ax 
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Music Index online provides citations to articles, book and record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from over 690 international music periodicals covering a wide range of historical, musicological, and ethnomusicological topics from 1979 to the present.

Project Muse, similar to JSTOR, is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly, university-press journals in the humanities and social sciences, but, typically, for the most recent 3-5 years. Many of these holdings complement JSTOR's.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography (1976 to the present) of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations and abstracts in English.  Content includes ethnomusicological material in journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, essays and more.

Library Catalogs

To look for books on a subject, start first with Harvard's library catalog, HOLLIS. It's also useful to search "union" catalogs (i.e. large catalog databases that include multiple libraries's materials) as well as bibliographies. Books and materials that you don't find in the HOLLIS catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. You may also make a purchase request to ask the library to purchase a copy for the collection. Resources marked with a   symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

HOLLIS Catalog
There are nearly 4.5 million books in Widener Library's collection, and they are all listed here, in Harvard University's union catalog of all the libraries at Harvard.  For an introduction to using the HOLLIS, consult the guide Searching the HOLLIS (Harvard OnLine Library Information System Catalog).  Remember that books and materials that you find in the catalogs below (and don't find in the HOLLIS catalog) can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Europeana
Digitized collections from European libraries and museums

KVK: Der Karlsruher Virtuelle Katalog
A major union catalog of European libraries, this database contains records for over 75 million books in libraries and other book catalogs worldwide.

OASIS
Catalog search for archival and manuscript collections at Harvard University and Radcliffe (includes some Archive of World Music materials).

RLG's Eureka on the Web (Research Libraries Group Union Catalog)
Provides access to RLG's union catalog of records from the collections of major American research libraries; archives and museums; historical societies and international book vendors.

Visual Information Access (VIA)
VIA is a union catalog of visual resources at Harvard and Radcliffe. It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives. To date only portions of each repository's holdings are described in the online catalog. Where available, thumbnail images are linked to the catalog records.

WorldCat
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. The scope of the database includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books.

Digital Sound Collections

Resources marked with a symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

African American Song is a collection of vocal music reflecting the African American experience through genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives.

American Song contains 50,000 tracks of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music and include country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing.

Global Music Archive (Vanderbilt University): Multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.

National Geographic World Music includes audio and video clips for many artists, regions and genres.

Naxos Music Library comprises 85,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music, searchable by composer, artist, period, and year of composition.

Smithsonian Global Sound includes folk, popular, and classical world music, non-musical recordings such as speeches and oral histories, and a variety of natural, animal, and human sounds.

Research Librarian

Ramona Crawford's picture
Ramona Crawford
Contact:
Widener Library Rm. 220; (617) 384-5848