Library Research Guide for History 84h: The Northern Side of the Civil Rights Movement

Resources for the general and popular periodical literature are listed in Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe):  General American magazines  --  Minority and African American magazines  --  Catholic periodicals

African American

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 offers over 170 periodicals from 26 states including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, etc.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ; full text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean.  It is now embedded in ProQuest Black Studies.  Under Content Type, choose Journals and/or Magazines and Historical Periodicals.

The Crisis (1910- ), the official publication of the NAACP

Ebony in Google magazines (1959-2008)

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960- ; some content back to late 1950s) is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Jet, 1951-2008

Negro Digest/Black World, 1961-1976 Founded 1943, later titled Black World.

General

Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year.

Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary (1945- ) Commonweal (1924- ) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- ) - NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- ) - Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- )

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) indexes many American popular periodicals.

Periodical article sources for education, political science and other subjects can be found on the Library Research Guide for History

The political orientation of several news and opinion magazines is given in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).

This book has essays on many magazines originating during the date spans indicated:
A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.

Black journals of the United States, by Walter C. Daniel. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1982, 432 p.
HOLLIS Record

For circulation figures consult the N.W. Ayer & Son's directory,.