General and Popular Indexes: 20th and 21st Centuries

U.S. and International  --  U.S. Ethnic Press  --  Canada  --  Europe - General  --  France  --  Germany  --  Italy  --  Nordic/Baltic  --  Spain  -- U.K.

U.S. and International

Academic Search Premier (largely 1980s- ) is the usual index of first resort for general periodical searches. It indexes over 3000 journals in most fields plus many general interest periodicals. Full text is available for many of the periodicals. Includes Time full text back to 1923 (Shift from Select a field to TX All Text). Book reviews are included. A few periodicals have indexing back to the 1970s

Access (1975-1999) indexes periodicals not included in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, including the Harvard Magazine (1981- ). Book reviews are included.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.14

Allgemeine Bibliographie der Staats- und Rechtswissenschaften (1868-1914) is a serial bibliography of law, political science, and economics, divided by nationality with detailed subject index.
Law School  |  K38 .A45
HathiTrust version

Alternative press index (1969- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Book reviews are included.
HOLLIS Record (Online and Print)

The online version, Alt-Press Watch, covers 1995 to the present, with a few periodicals covered from the 1980s, and Off Our Backs from 1970.

Annotations: a directory of periodicals listed in the Alternative Press Index is also available online as The Alternative Press Center's Online Directory. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A43 J66 1996
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8.5

American humanities index (1975- ) indexes general humanities journals, including the quarterly reviews. Book reviews are included.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.A278

American Periodicals (1740-1900+) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals. In cases where a periodical started before 1900 coverage is included until 1940. Full text searchable.

Index to Early American Periodicals (1741-1935) searches only subject terms applied to each article, which usually do not include authors and titles, so use of the Browse Index feature is important. It will not always be possible to find a specified article in the indexed periodicals. Indexes the same material included in APS American Periodicals.

Annual library index (1905-1910). Also called Annual literary index (1892-1904) and Co-operative index to leading periodicals (1883-91).
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.16
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository B 424.8 (1883-91)

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature is a searchable database of the literature of philanthropy.

Cumulated magazine subject index (1907-49) indexes many periodicals not included in other indexes. Good for history, especially local history, outdoor subjects, library science (1918-49), and fine arts. Arranged by subject, except for literary works by major authors, which are listed by author. Minor literary works are omitted. Includes book reviews.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 3.5 F (In Reference Room, not Loker Reading Room)

Classified bibliography of the periodical literature of the trans-Mississippi West (1811-1957). Classified by subject with author index. No subject index.
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 501.461 vol.19
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 501.461 vol.26 A supplement (1957-67), 1970.

Essay and general literature index (1900- ) Indexes essays published in books since 1900 with emphasis on humanities and social science.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI 3.E752
LOCATION: Widener: RR 671.6

Fortune Magazine (1930-2002) includes front and back covers as well as advertisements and all articles

Google Magazines has full text of many 20th century magazines, including Life (1936-1972).  List of Magazines included. Full text searchable.

Historic Avant-Garde Periodicals for Digital Research (1848-1923)(Blue Mountain Project) offers art, music and literary periodicals.

Humanities index (1974- ) is a subject and author index of periodicals more scholarly than those indexed in the Reader's guide. Before World War II, several foreign periodicals (French, German, Italian, Dutch, Irish, Spanish and Far Eastern) were indexed. Coverage is now American and English. Book reviews are grouped in the back of each volume (1974- ); formerly book reviews were under the name of the book author.
Formerly titled:
Social sciences & humanities index, 1965-1974.
International index: a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities, 1907-65.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol.: Ref. AI3.R49 (1955-74)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.2.3 (1907- )

Industrial arts index (1913-57) indexes English-language applied science, technical, trade, and management literature: the literature of practice.
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust version (Full text 1913-1921; search only 1922-23, 1927, 1928, 1930)

Continued by:
Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983). which indexes over 350 English-language periodicals worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Location : Baker Business Stacks -- Indexes (1958-1982)
Location : Cabot Science Harvard Depository PER 2052 (1968-1999)

and

Business periodicals index, 1958-2009.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Stacks -- Indexes

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 200 journals, many of them extending into the 19th Century, including journals of political science, sociology, and population studies.

LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index (1988- ) indexes U. S. government periodicals.

Library index to periodicals and current events, 1905-1907
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.17

Literary writings in America: a bibliography, 1850-1940. 8 v.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.7

Derived from card file (about 250,000 cards) resulting from a WPA project attempting to list all U.S. creative literature, including books and periodical articles, published 1850-1940. Includes many non-literary authors such as social commentators, scholars, historians, etc. Not always complete or accurate but a valuable source especially for little-known writers. Book reviews listed by authors of book and of review.

Magazine subject-index. A subject-index to seventy-nine American and English periodicals. Forty-four indexed from their first issues to December 31, 1907. Thirty-five indexed for the year 1907.
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.21

MasterFILE Premier (1980- ), designed for school and public library use, indexes more popular magazines than Academic Search Premier. A few magazines indexed back to circa. 1900.  Includes full-text Saturday Evening Post back to 1931.

Nation Archives (1865- ) includes full text of complete run of The Nation. Annual update lags behind 1 year. Full text searchable.

New Republic Archive (1914- )

Newsweek is available via Nexis Uni from 1975-2013. 

Newsweek is in HathiTrust. Be sure you are logged in.  You can browse in the catalog record or search in Advanced Full Text Search with your keywords in the top box and Title: Newsweek. 

Opinion Archives offers a full text, as well as author/title, search of full runs of the following opinion periodicals:
American Spectator (1972- ) - Commentary – (1945- ) Commonweal (1924) - Dissent (1954- ) - Harpers Magazine (1850- ) - Moment (1975- )- NACLA (1966- ) - Nation (1965- ) - National Review (1955- ) - New Leader (1924- ) - New Republic (1914- ) - New York Review (1963- ) - New Yorker (1925- ) - Orion Magazine (1982- ) - Progressive (1909- )- Washington Monthly (1969- ) - Weekly Standard (1995- ) Full text searchable.

The political orientation of several of these magazine, together with that of several others, is specified in the News and Opinion section of the biennial Magazines for Libraries (1969- ).

A history of American magazines, by Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1938-1968, 5 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--V. 1. 1741-1850 -- v. 2. 1850-1865 -- v. 3. 1865-1885 -- v. 4. 1885-1905 -- v. 5. Sketches of 21 magazines, 1905-1930, with a cumulative index to the five volumes.

PAIS International and PAIS Archive (1917- ) covers the literature of public policy. Indexes over 1200 periodicals, essays in books, and books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.

PAO Historical Studies Collection is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online containing backruns for 75 historical titles. Full text searchable.

Periodicals Archive Online: Literary Studies Collection is a subset of Periodicals Archive Online containing backruns for 75 literary titles. Full text searchable.

Primary Search (1984- ) offers indexing and full text (1989- ) for nearly 100 elementary school level children's magazines.

Project Muse allows simultaneous searching, including full-text, of numerous academic journals from several university presses. Emphasis on humanities, although with many social science journals. Full text searchable.

ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880–2000) covers film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) (1890-1982) indexes many popular periodicals. Print version: Readers' guide to periodical literature (1900- )
HOLLIS Record

RSAP Resources for Research: Periodicals (Research Society for American Periodicals) provides links to collections of 18th, 19th, and 20th century full-text periodicals.

Social sciences index (1974- ) is a subject and author index of periodicals more scholarly than those indexed in the Reader's guide. Before World War II, several foreign periodicals (French, German, Italian, Dutch, Irish, Spanish and Far Eastern) were indexed. Coverage is now American and English. Book reviews are grouped in the back of each volume (1974- ); formerly book reviews were under the name of the book author.
Formerly titled:
Social sciences & humanities index, 1965-1974.
International index: a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities, 1907-65.
HOLLIS Record

Time magazine.Browse at their site. You can easily search in Academic Search Premier by putting your search terms in one box and adjusting another to Journal name: Time. Limit by year.

Vogue Archive (1892- ) full text of all issues of Vogue magazine.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. A record consists of a citation and the article's bibliography (in abbreviated form). The citations themselves can be searched via author, title or other searches or the bibliographies can be searched for the presence of a chosen work (a cited reference search). Since 1999, abstracts have been included. Includes book reviews. A guide is available: Searching the Citation Indexes (Web of Science). The Web of Science comprises three indexes: Science Citation Index, (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- ) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ). The indexed journals are listed by subject categories in the Master Journal List.

U.S. Ethnic Press

General Minority

Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) offers full-text of 90 newspapers and other periodicals (1990- ) and of 30 African American, Hispanic American, and Native American newspapers and other periodicals (1959-1989). Includes book/film/television reviews. More about content.

African American

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 offers over 170 periodicals from 26 states including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, etc.

Black index: Afro-Americana in selected periodicals, 1907 -1949.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: E185.Z99 N54 1981x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4781.41.7

Articles and book reviews from about 350 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals. The Journal of negro history is omitted since it has its own index.

Blacks in selected newspapers, censuses and other sources: an index to names and subjects, by James de T. Abajian. 3 v. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1977.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: E185.96.Z99 A22 1977x Library has: 3 v.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E185.96.Z99 A22, x F

Supplement, 2 v. 1985.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: E185.96.Z99 A22 1985x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E185.96.Z99 A22 x, Suppl. 1 F

Indexes 19th and early 20th century newspapers, censuses, and city dirctories. Strongest on, but by no means limited to, the western U.S.

The Chicago Afro-American union analytic catalog: an index to materials of the Afro-American in the principal libraries of Chicago, housed in the Vivian G. Harsh Collection of Afro-American History and Literature at the George Cleveland Hall Branch of the Chicago Public Library. 5 v. Boston: G. H. Hall, 1972.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute E185.Z99 C54 1972x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC E185.Z99 C54x 1972 F

Over 1000 US and foreign periodicals (no newspapers) indexed; also books, yearbooks, conference and reports, exhibit catalogs, etc. Late 19th century to 1940.

 Ebony in Google magazines (1959-2008)

In Black and white: a guide to magazine articles, newspaper articles, and books concerning more than 15,000 Black individuals and groups. 3d ed. 1980.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute E185.96.Z99 S67 1980x Library has: 2 v.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4781. 41.57 Library has: 2 v.

In Black and white. Supplement: a guide to magazine articles, newspaper articles, and books concerning more than 6,700 Black individuals and groups. 1985.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4781. 41.58

Index to Black periodicals [title varies], 1970-2004.
LOCATION: Afro-American Studies, DuBois Institute: AI3.O4 1960-79, 1984-86
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Z1361.N39 I52 1950-71
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.O4 1971-2004

which continues: Index to periodical articles by and about Negroes; cumulated, 1950/59, 1960/1970.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.O4x

which continues: Guide to Negro periodical literature, Feb. 1941-Sept. 1946.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film SC 321
LOCATION: Widener: US 10702.4 = Vol. II, no. 4 (Nov. 1942)

International Index to Black Periodicals (1902- ; some full-text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.

Includes:
Black literature Index, 1827-1940.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 3625 has:units 1-14 on 2997 microfiches.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Microfiche W 3625 = Guide
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 3625.1 = Author/title/genre index Library has: 39 microfiches
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Microfiche W 3625.1 = Users' guide to units 1-3 [of Author/title/genre index]
--Full text of over 86,000 literary works on microfiche, including fiction, poetry, book reviews and other literary forms by African-Americans and Whites writing in African-American periodicals and newspapers. Online index to article authors/titles and periodical titles.

Kaiser index to Black resources, 1948-1986.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute E185.K25 1992x Library has: v. 1, 3-5
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.973 S369k
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4781.41.67 Library has: 5 v.

Bibliography of about 174,000 articles, reviews, and obituaries on African-American and Caribbean subjects from 150 periodicals, popular and scholarly, African-American and general. Arranged by subject. Some illustrations noted.

Hispanic American

Chicano Database overs Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970- ) indexes scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.

Canada

Canadian index, 1985- . Titled Canadian magazine index (1985-92). LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.C239x

Canadian periodical index, 1964- .
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.55 Latest 10 years WID-LC AI3.C242 Earlier

--Continues:
Canadian index to periodicals and documentary films, 1948-1963, which continues:
Canadian periodical index, 1920-1942
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.C242

Point de repere (1984- ) covers over 200 French Canadian periodicals with a subject and a book review index.
--Continues Periodex (1972-1983) which continued Index analytique (1966-1972).
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI7.I

Europe - General

For additional sources: Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals.

Torrossa : Casalini offers full text of books and journals in humanities and social sciences from Italian, Spanish, French, Portuguese publishers

FRANCIS (1984- ) indexes the periodical literature of many social sciences/humanities disciplines worldwide with emphasis on the French literature. Previously (in printed form) called FRANCIS Bulletin Signaletique, Bulletin Signaletique, and Bulletin Analytique. FRANCIS: Journals Indexed.

Includes the continuation of:
Bulletin signaletique. 19-24, 1956-1994.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z7127.B8 1956-81
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC B77.Z99 F72x & ax

which continues:
Bulletin analytique, 1947-55.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z7127.B8
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Serial Library has: 1947-49 (incomplete)
LOCATION: Tozzer: L.Soc.42.103.3.2.19 Library has: 1947-50
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC B77.Z99 F722x

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens (1965- ) offers worldwide coverage, especially European, of periodical articles and essays in books. Around 4500 periodicals are now indexed. The CD-ROM version now covers only a small time period. The print volumes, although essential for the European periodical literature, are very clumsy to use. Articles are indexed by subject. The number in each entry refers to a separate periodical list. An author index is usually provided. Online IBZ covers 1983 to present.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI9.I5 (1965-93)

Formed by the merger of:
Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur, 1897-1964.
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.80

Bibliographie der fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur, 1911-1964.
LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Ref AI9.B7 Library has: Bd. 1-3 (1911).
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI9.B7

European Commission Libraries Catalogue (1983- ) provides articles from around 1500 periodicals worldwide, together with books, serials, and reports, dealing with European affairs: economic, political, etc. Can limit by document type. Book, serial, and report coverage extends well before 1983. Continues and replaces the SCAD Bibliographical Database.

France

Bibliographie courante d'articles de périodiques postérieurs 1944 sur les problèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux (1968) groups articles by country, then subject. 17 v.
LOCATION:Widener: WID-LC AI7.F59x 1968 F
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI7.F6F (Supplément, 1969-1981)

Bulletin analytique de documentation politique, economique et sociale contemporaine (1946- ) is a subject classed list with author index. Worldwide coverage, abstracts in French.
LOCATION: Law School: 4 66 (missing 1985, 1987, 1988, 1994)
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.56 (1949-1998)

CAIRN (2001- ) provides full text access to scholarly journals published by several French publishers. The Library subscribes to the "Humanities" subset of the database.

French periodical index (1973- ) indexes French, and a few Canadian, general interest periodicals. Indexes only articles at least 3 columns in length. Book reviews under Livre.
LOCATION: WID-LC AI7 .F7 (1973-1995)

Gallica Presse-et-Revues includes full-text for numerous periodicals.

Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases (1972-2015) archives (in part):

FRANCIS (1984-2010) which indexes the periodical literature of many science/social sciences/humanities disciplines worldwide with emphasis on the French literature. Previously (in printed form) called FRANCIS Bulletin Signaletique, Bulletin Signaletique, and Bulletin Analytique.

Bulletin signaletique (1956-1994) and Bulletin analytique (1947-55)  HOLLIS Records

Périodex. Index analytique de périodiques de langue française, v.1-11 (1972/1973-1983). Montréal: Centrale des bibliothèques, Ministère de l’éducation.
Widener WID-LC AI7 .I5

Continues:
Index analytique, v. 1-6, no. 10; (1966-72). Québec, Les Presses de l’Université Laval
Widener WID-LC AI7 .I5

Covers France, French Canada, Belgium

PERSEE is the French equivalent of JSTOR, providing full text from periodical inceptions to 5 years ago. The word "scientific" means "scholarly" here. Full text searchable.

Revues.org (2000- ) is an online journal collection especially for French periodicals.

Germany

DigiZeitschriften provides full text of complete runs of German periodicals in economics, history, language and literature, law, librarianship, science, and sociology. Dates of coverage vary by title: early 19th Century to present.

Gesamtinhaltsverzeichnis der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften der Universitäten und Hochschulen der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik, 1951-1978
LOCATION: Widener: LSoc 1716.29.4F

Exilpresse Digital: Deutsche Exilzeitschiften 1933-1945 offers full text of periodicals and newspapers published by German exiles.

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens (1965- ) offers Worldwide coverage, especially European, of periodical articles and essays in books. Around 4500 periodicals are now indexed. The CD-ROM version now covers only a small time period. The print volumes, although essential for the European periodical literature, are very clumsy to use. Articles are indexed by subject. The number in each entry refers to a separate periodical list. An author index is usually provided. Online version covers 1983-present.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI9.I5 (1965-93)

Formed by the merger of:

Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur, 1897-1964.
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.80

Bibliographie der fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur, 1911-1964.
LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Ref AI9.B7 Library has: Bd. 1-3 (1911).
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI9.B7

Virtuelle Deutsche Landesbibliographie includes searchable bibliographies of:

  • Baden-Württemberg, 1986 -
  • Bayern, 1988 -
  • Hessen, 1977 -
  • Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, 1995 - . (und Nachträge ab 1945)
  • Niedersachsen und Bremen, 1979 -
  • Nordrhein-Westfalen,1982 -
  • Pfalz und Saarland, 1927-1950
  • Rheinland-Pfalz, 1991-
  • Sachsen, 1992 -
  • Schleswig-Holstein, 1987 -

Print versions:

Landesbibliographie von Baden-Würtemberg, 1973-1998
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD801.B23 Z994x

Bayerische Bibliographie, 1959- .
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 28.1.13.10

Earlier bibliographies issued in Zeitschrift für bayerische Landesgeschichte, 1928- .
LOCATION: Ger 28.1.13.6

Essener Bibliographie, 1969-1990
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 6905.91.7

Hessische Bibliographie, 1977-2000.
LOCATION: Widener | Harvard Depository | XVTS 165
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD801.H54 Z9963x

Mecklenburg-Vorpommersche Bibliographie [title varies],1945-
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD801.M31 Z996x

Bibliographie von Niedersachsen und Bremen, 1957-1970.
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 6270.25

Nordrhein-westfälische Bibliographie, 1983-1997.
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD801.N6 Z996x

Rheinland-Pfälzische Bibliographie, 1991-
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD801.P41 R45x

Pfälzische Bibliographie, 1952-1998
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 9825.3

Saarländische Bibliographie, 1962-
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 11152.25

Sächische Bibliographie, 1963- .
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 8200.14
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 8200.14.2

Schleswig-Holsteinische Bibliographie, 1966-1996.
LOCATION: Widener | WID-LC | DD491.S64 Z997x

Continues:
Bibliographie zur schleswig-holsteinischen Geschichte und Landeskunde, 1928-1965.
LOCATION: Widener | Ger 45.1.4.7

Zeitschriften-Service (1987- ) indexes over 280 German academic and popular periodicals.

Italy

AIDA: Articoli italiani di periodici accademica (1997- ) indexes largely social sciences, arts and humanities periodicals.

Catalogo metodico degli scritti contenuti nelle publicazioni periodiche italiane e straniere. Parte 1a. Scritti biografici e critici is an author index to many Italian periodicals.
LOCATION: Widener: B 375.147 (1885, 1889-1907, 1914-1936)

Earlier indexing in Catalogo metodico degli scritti contenuti nelle pubblicazioni periodiche italiane e straniere. Parte 1a. Scritti biografici e critici. Indice generale a tutto l'anno 1906.
LOCATION: Widener: B 375.147.4

Supplemento bibliografico del Bollettino parlamentare (title varies) contains fewer periodical articles than earlier series.
LOCATION: Widener: B 375.148 (1930-1938) Section Spoglio del reviste contains the periodical articles.
LOCATION: Widener: B 375.150 (1951-1958)
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository B 375.152 (1956-1967)

EIO: Editoria Italiana Online offers author, title and full-text keyword searches of monographs, periodicals, and conference proceedings in the humanities and social sciences. Date coverage varies with publication: back as far as 1994, but most 2003/04.

Italinemo (2000- ) contains abstracts of articles on Italian literary and cultural studies from Italian and international journals.

Book Reviews

L'Indice dei libri del mese, 1984-
LOCATION: Widener: XVTS 9 [CD-ROM]
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film S 4022 Current issues of printed edition in Widener
LOCATION: Widener: Collection Development Library has: Current issues

Nordic/Baltic

Baltische Bibliographie: Schrifttum uber Estland, Lettland, Litauen (1994- ) offers unannotated references grouped under broad subject categories, with title, author, person as subject, geographical, and subject indexes.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DK511.B3 Z993

Continues: Baltische Bibliographie, 1945-61. 2 v. (1: 1945-1956; 2: 1957-1961 und Nachtrage 1945-1956).
LOCATION: Widener: Balt 2040.42

Dania polyglotta (1945-1997) lists books and articles on Denmark in languages other than Danish. Annual.
LOCATION: Widener: B 2473.5

Continues: Dania polyglotta; répertoire bibliographique des ouvrages, études, articles, etc. en langues trangres parus en Danemark de 1901. 1944. 3 v.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository B 2473.4

Journal Articles and Book Chapters in LIBRIS (1990- (some earlier items)) includes periodical articles, book chapters, and book reviews. Emphasis is on Swedish publications but material from other countries is also included.

Svensk periodicaforteckning: tidskrifter, arsbocker, dagstidningar och rapportserier, 1967- . Title varies.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Annex Z6956.S9 S9 (1967-91)
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Annex Z6956.S9 S92
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC Z2625.S953x

Svenska tidskriftsartiklar, 1952-99.
LOCATION: Widener: B 2570.10

Spain

Bases de datos bibliograficos del CSIC (1971- ) contains three databases indexing Spanish journals and conference papers. Some full text (2003- ). Choose which database to search at Acceso a las bases de datos CSIC. The three databases are:

  • ISOC (1975- ) Social sciences and humanities.
  • ICYT (1979- ) Science and technology.
  • IME 1971- ) Biomedicine.

Bibliografía española de revistas científicas de ciencias sociales y humanidades, 1995- .
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository

Continues:

Indice espanol de ciencias sociales. Serie A, Psicologia y ciencias de la educacion, 1981-1996.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository H8.S7 I52x (1981, 1983-96)

Indice espanol de ciencias sociales. Serie B, Economia, sociologia, c. politica y urbanismo, 1982-1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC H8.S7 I523x (1982-88, 1991-97) (1982-88 at Harvard Depository)

Indice espanol de ciencias sociales. Serie C, Derecho, 1983-1997
LOCATION: Law School: SPA 020 IND (1983-95, 1997)

which continue:

Indice espanol de ciencias sociales, 1977-1978.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository WID-LC H8.S7 I52x

and

Indice espanol de humanidades. Serie A, Bellas artes, 1982-1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC NX40.Z99 I53x

Indice espanol de humanidades. Serie B, Ciencias historicas, 1989-1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC D20.Z99 I53x

Indice espanol de humanidades. Serie C, Linguistica y literatura, 1989-1997.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC P121.Z99 I53x

Indice espanol de humanidades. Serie D, Filosofia, 1989.
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository B5.I53x (1989)

which continue:

Indice espanol de humanidades, 1976-81.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AS1.I5

Materiales de investigacion. Indice de articulos de revistas (1939-1949), by A. Tortajada y C. de Amaniel.
LOCATION: Widener: Span 35.48

U.K.

British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals.

British humanities index (1962- ) covers economics, politics, society, and general interest science and technology, as well as the humanities. Arrangement is by subject. Book reviews are listed under the subject of the book reviewed. Print version:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.33.

Continues The Subject index to periodicals, 1915-16, 1926-61.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.30

Economist Historical Archive (1843-2008)

Magazine subject-index is a subject-index to seventy-nine American and English periodicals indexed from their first issues to December 31, 1907.
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.21

Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899: with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922 indexes 51 periodicals by author, subject, and illustrator. Over 13,000 poems indexed under "poems", author, and some under subject. Book reviews are listed under author. Indexing of 14 of the journals is carried forward until it is picked up by one of the Wilson indexes. 2 vols.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.R496
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI3.R496
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 6

Nineteenth Century Masterfile includes several Nineteenth Century periodical indexes together with many separate indexes to individual periodicals. To see a list of the indexes and separately indexed periodicals, choose Browse Mode, select the "About" tab, and click "To see a full list of all titles currently online". The most important index included is Poole's index to periodical literature (1802-1906) which indexes 479 American and English periodicals. In the print version, articles are indexed by subject, not author. Fiction, poetry, plays are listed by title. Book reviews are listed under subject; reviews of fiction, poetry, plays are listed under the author of the work. Print version of Poole's index:
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5 Library has: 6 v. in 7

Author indexing is provided by Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI3.P73x 1971
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 5.1

Spectator Archive (1828-2008) offers a full text searchable archive of the London magazine.