Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe)

If you want to find articles within a particular periodical, you need an index which includes that periodical. There are several sources which indicate the indexes which cover particular periodicals. These include:

The HOLLIS Catalog record for a periodical often lists relevant periodical indexes. Cumulative indexes are shown on the Holdings Display on the HOLLIS Catalog record for each periodical.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is available online. For earlier editions consult the print version (title varies): called Periodicals directory (1932-38), Ulrich’s periodicals directory (1943-63), Ulrich’s international periodicals directory (1965-2000), Ulrich's periodicals directory (2001- ). Use these titles to find the years you need in HOLLIS Catalog, then request from the Harvard Depository.

Ulrich's lists periodicals by subject (indexed by title), and often indicates where indexing is available.

The serials directory: an international reference book, 1986-
LOCATION: Widener: RR651.80 and several other Harvard libraries

A check list of cumulative indexes to individual periodicals in the New York Public Library. 1942.
HathiTrust Version
HOLLIS Record

Index guide to college journals, 1999. "College" here means "Academic".
LOCATION: Widener: RR 651.60

Indexed periodicals: a guide to 170 years of coverage in 33 indexing services. 1976.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 651. 57

Subject guide to periodical indexes and review indexes. 1969.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI3.Z99 K85 1969x