General and Popular Indexes: 17th and 18th Centuries
American Periodicals (1740-1900) offers full text of about 1100 American periodicals. In cases where a periodical started before 1900 coverage is included until 1940.
Index to Early American Periodicals (1741-1935) searches only subject terms applied to each article, which usually do not include authors and titles, so use of the Browse Index feature is important. It will not always be possible to find a specified article in the indexed periodicals. Indexes the same material included in APS American Periodicals.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1877)
Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.
For additional sources: Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals.
Academia Italica: periodici eruditi e atti academici pubblicati in Italia, 1600-1800.
Widener CD-ROM RR 186 [Held at the Reference Desk in the Atkins Room, Widener Library for in-library use. Available during Reference Desk Hours. Call 617-495-2411.] [Widener copy is marked "Part 2," but includes all material from CDs 1 and 2.]
--Indexes Italian academic journals from 1600-1800. Entries include author, title, subject, journal title, sub-title, year of publication, issue, edition, page number, and holdings of Italian libraries. Over 42,000 entries from 146 journals with their lists of contents classified in German, Italian and English.
Allgemeines Repertorium der Literatur, 1785-1800.
HOLLIS Records
HathiTrust full text
British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals. List of included periodicals.
These sites give information on two of the included periodicals:
Attributions of Authorship in the European Magazine, 1782-1826
Attributions of Authorship in the Gentleman's Magazine
Gentleman's Magazine, 1731-1907 also available from University of Michigan/Google. On the Mirlyn Catalog page, click “more” under HathiTrust Digital Library.
18th Century Journals: Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815, includes some British colonial newspapers, e.g., Calcutta Gazette.
Gallica Presse-et-Revues includes full-text for numerous periodicals.
Gazetier universel offers links to full text of over 600 titles from the Ancien Régime (XVII-XVIII centuries) press. Offers links to the online Dictionnaire des journaux (1600-1789) and the Dictionnaire des journalists (1600-1789).
The Gentleman’s Magazine Library, 1731-1868 (in Ancestry.com, click on Search (top black band), then Card Catalog. Search: Title Gentlemans Magazine.) offers “a classified collection of the chief contents of the Gentleman’s Magazine from 1731 to 1868.” The Gentleman’s Magazine was a major English general periodical.
Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750 - 1815 indexes about 100,000 articles in about 195 journals. Also on microfiche:
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 3887 Library has: 28 microfiches
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Microfiche W 3887 = Guide
Internet Library of Early Journals (British) at Oxford University. Includes:
- Annual Register (1758-78)
- Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50) (Also available in British Periodicals)
- Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77) (Also available in JSTOR)
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 200 journals, including the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London (1665- ).
Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.
Reuss' Repertorium commentationum a societatibus litterariis editarum (Gottingae, apud Henricum Dieterich, 1801-21) indexes articles in the publications of 17th-18th century scholarly societies. All volumes available full text in HathiTrust
HOLLIS Records
Inventory of the Oldest Scholarly Societies (Scholarly Societies Project) gives description of, and abbreviations used, in Reuss, together with a list of scholarly societies by decade of inception and other information.
Contents:
v. 1. Historia Naturalis; Zoologia. 1801.
v. 2. Botanica; Mineralogia. 1802.
v. 3. Chemia et Res Metallica. 1803.
v. 4. Physica. 1805.
v. 5. Astronomia. 1804.
v. 6. Oeconomia. 1806. (including agriculture)
v. 7. Mathesis; Mechanica; Hydrostatica; Hydraulica; Hydrotechnia; Aerostatica; Pneumatica; Technologia; Architectura Civilis; Scientia Navalis; Scientia Militaris. 1808.
v. 8. Historia; Subsidia Historica; (Geographia; Chronologia; Monumentum Veterum Populorum; Inscriptiones; Nummi et Res Nummaria; Ars Diplomatica; Heraldica;) Historia Univeralis; Historia Generis Humani; Historia Mythica; Historia Specialis; Asiae; Africae; Americae; Europae; Historia Ecclesiastica; Historia Litteria. 1810.
v. 9. Philologia; Linguae; Scriptores Graeci; Scriptores Latini; Litterae Elegantiores; Poesis; Rhetorica; Ars Antiqua; Pictura; Musica. 1810
v. 10. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. Propaedeutica; Anatomia et Physiologia; Hygieine s. Diaetetica; Pathologia seu Nosologia Generalis; Semeiotica. 1813.
v. 11. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 2. Materia Medica; Pharmacia. 1816.
v. 12. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.1. Continens A. B. C. 1817
v. 13. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.2. Continens D. E. F. G. H. 1818
v. 14. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.3. Continens I. - S. 1820
v. 15. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis.P.4. Continens T. - Z. 1820
v. 16. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. P.1. Ars Obstetrica. P.2. Ars Veterinaria. 1821
Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum offers full-text of 45 German Enlightenment era periodicals.