Library Research Guide for History 2315: Censorship

The British Library has an excellent series of guides on government publications for Europe, South Asia and Africa. Once a pertinent title is identified, it can be searched in HOLLIS.

The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Reference expertise is also available there. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog.

Most of the foreign government documents atre housed on th ebottom floor (Level D) of Lamont.  They can be browsed in HOLLIS Classic with Widener Call Number browses of the form Afr Doc.

• Britain
• United States

Great Britain

For digital, microfilm, and printed sources see Great Britain: Guide to the Documents

State Papers Online (1509-1714) combines State Papers Domestic and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council and State Papers in the British Library, reproducing the original historical manuscripts in facsimile and linking each manuscript to its corresponding fully-searchable Calendar entry. The State Papers are, largely, the records accumulated by Secretaries of State
--Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
--Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
--Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
--Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers includes committee reports, draft bills, and other material emanating from the House of Commons. Includes some reports of debates. For more on Parliamentary papers.

There are several other online sources for Parliamentary debates.

Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster (British History Online)

United States

Digitization Projects Registry is a listing of U.S. Government publication digitization efforts

CyberCemetery archives ceased U.S. government websites, often of defunct government agencies and commissions.

A historical guide to the U.S. government (1998) offers histories and name changes of government departments.
Location : Kennedy Sch of Gov Ref JK421 .H57 1998
Location : Lamont REFERENCE JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Law School Reference JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Widener RR 4213.30

Handbook for research in American history: a guide to bibliographies and other reference works, by Francis Paul Prucha. 2nd ed., rev. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
Location : Law School Harvard Depository E178.Z99 P78x 1994
Location : Widener RR 3621.7

United States: Congressional

Research Guide: U.S. Congressional Publications

Research Guide: Federal Legislative History

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 with American State Papers, 1789-1838 consists of reports, documents and journals of U.S. Congress, including reports originating in Executive Departments.

HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents  provides full-text access to the published debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress, including the Annals of Congress(1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and the Congressional Record (1873 to present).

ProQuest Congressional provides indexing for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Post-1970, full-text access is often available. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More information. Research guides are available at the ProQuest Congressional wiki.

United States: Presidential

Research Guide: U.S. Presidential Documents

American President: A Reference Resource (Miller Center, University of Virginia).

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (University of California at Santa Barbara American Presidency Project)