Research Guides: Library Research Guide for History 2315: Censorship: News Sources/Journalism

News Sources

The Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes lists digital and print newspaper indexes together with information on finding microfilm newspapers at Harvard and elsewhere. For East Asian papers see: Harvard-Yenching Newspaper Collection Search.

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México (1722-1978).

Research Guide for Chinese Studies: News/Media

Index on Censorship

Political censorship, ed. by Robert Justin Goldstein. Chicago; London; Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001, 564 p.
Link to HOLLIS record
Law School | Harvard Depository | Z657 .P646x 2001
Widener | WID-LC | Z657 .P646 2001x
--Collection of New York Times articles about political censorship

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology. Continued by:
World News Connection (6/1994- ) includes FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) and JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service) translations, including newspaper articles. FBIS and JPRS translate selected foreign broadcasts and newspaper articles of interest to the U. S. government.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University) (1968-) indexes the collection of network television news programs at Vanderbilt University. Abstracts searchable by keyword to find information and/or request videotape loans. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from October 1995 to the present.

American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.

Internet Archive includes films, radio audio clips, news clips, educational films, advertisements, industry films, etc.

Britain

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers includes pamphlets and newsletters.

18th Century Journals: Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815

Underground and alternative press in Britain.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film S 1403
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche S 65
--Bibliographical guides issued as separate printed vols. have call no.: INDEX Microfiche S 65

Journalism: Reference/Bibliography/Biography

Reference Sources

Concise History of the British Newspaper in the Seventeenth Century

The encyclopedia of the British press, 1422-1992, ed. by Dennis Griffiths. London: Macmillan Academic and Professional, 1992, 694 p.
Widener | WID-LC | PN5114 .E53 1992bx

Bibliographies