Periodical Indexes: General and by Country or Era
Look for specialized subject bibliographies which may include periodical articles in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search, e.g., <"science and state" [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen or in WorldCat.
To find additional indexes of general and popular periodicals see:
Finding Articles in General and Popular Periodicals (North America and Western Europe)
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Africa
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on South and Southeast Asia
East Asian Studies Research Guide: 4. Journal Literature
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Latin America
Slavic and Eurasian Studies: A Research Guide
Introduction to Slavic Information Resources
Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Includes book reviews.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a searchable database of digitized books and periodicals contributed by numerous libraries. Includes items contributed by these libraries to Google Books and to Internet Archive but with some unique material. Each full text item is linked to a standard library catalog record, thus providing good metadata. The catalog can be searched separately. Globally full text searchable, like Google Books but unlike Internet Archive.
HathiTrust can be used as a periodical index. In Full Text Advanced Search a periodical can be specified in a title search field and and searched full text in another field.
Periodical Indexes by Subject
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL (1920- ) includes book reviews of literary works as well as literary criticism.
MLA International Bibliography (1926- )
Alternative press index (1969- ) is available online as Alt-Press Watch (1995- ) indexes the alternative/radical periodical literature. Includes book reviews. Alternative Press Center's Online Directory lists periodicals in the Alternative Press Index. For earlier coverage:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. AI3.A4 Consult Braun Room.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per PN4888.U5 A27 (1969-1971)
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.8 Latest 10 years WID-LC HN90.R3 A48x Earlier
Bibliographie courante d'articles de périodiques postérieurs 1944 sur les problèmes politiques, économiques et sociaux. 1968. 17 v.
LOCATION:Widener: WID-LC AI7.F59x 1968 F
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC AI7.F6F (Supplément, 1969-1981)
--Articles grouped by country, then subject.
Bulletin analytique de documentation politique, economique et sociale contemporaine, 1946-
LOCATION: Law School: 4 66 (missing 1985, 1987, 1988, 1994)
LOCATION: Widener: B 425.56 (1949-1998)
--Worldwide coverage, abstracts in French. Subject classed list with author index.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.
C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974
LOCATION: Law School: ILS RR JA1.A1 Z992x 1977 Library has: v.1-8
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA1.A1 Z992 1977x Library has: 8 v.
--Over 115,000 articles from over 200 English-language journals arranged by subject. Journal code numbers in the entries are explained on the end-papers.
Military and Government Collection (largely 1980s- ).covers periodicals, many with full text, on military, foreign affairs, national security, intelligence, etc. Considerable earlier indexing (Congressional Digest back to 1922).
ProQuest Government Periodicals Index (1988- ).
Index to periodical articles ... in the Library of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1950-1989.
1950-1964. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.5 Library has: 2 v.
1965-1972. LOCATION: Widener: H 9.64.6
1973-1978. LOCATION: Widener: H 9. 64.7 F
1979-1989. LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 4007 Microfiche Library has: 50 microfiche. INDEX Microfiche W 4007 = Guide
--Unannotated references grouped by subject classification (guide in front), subject and geographical indexes.
Indexes to independent Socialist periodicals.
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 708.11 no.4
Indexes:
Anvil, 1949-60
Labor Action, 1949-58
The New International, 1934-58
Student Partisan, 1947-50
International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.
International Political Science Abstracts (1989- )
Print version:
International political science abstracts, 1951- .
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst. & Indexes Z 7164 IN88 (1964-71)
LOCATION: Littauer: Ref. Z7161.I58 x (1951-93)
LOCATION: Littauer: CD-ROM JA 36.I5 On Reserve (1989- )
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4402.4 Latest 5 yrs. WID-LC JA36.I5 Earlier
JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago. List of titles
Left Index Online (1982- , a few earlier) Promptly indexes Marxist, radical, and leftist articles. No newsletters or newspapers.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php
PARLIT Database (1992- ) includes citations for books and articles on parliamentary law and practice.
Theories of political processes: a bibliographic guide to the journal literature, 1965-1995, by G. G. Brunk.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 B78 1997x
--Arranged by subject, with author and subject indexes.
United States political science documents, 1975-91.
LOCATION: Littauer: RR Z 7165.U5.U5x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U54x
--Abstracts about 150 U.S. political and public policy journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )
Continues: Political science, government & public policy series. Annual supplement. 1967 -79.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA66.Z99 U64x Supplwhich continues:
Political science, government, and public policy: an annotated and intensively indexed compilation of significant books, pamphlets, and articles, selected and processed by the Universal Reference System.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC JA71.Z99 U54x 1967 Vol. 1 = 2d ed. Library has: 10 v.
--Indexed bibliography of selected older works, with a preponderance of 20th century and current publications.
v.1 International affairs.
v.2 Legislative process, representation, and decision-making.
v.3 Bibliography of bibliographies in political science, government and public policy.
v.4 Administrative management.
v.5 Current events and problems of modern society.
v.6 Public opinion, mass behavior, and political psychology.
v.7 Law, jurisprudence, and judicial process.
v.8 Economic regulation.
v.9 Public policy and the management of science.
v.10 Comparative government and cultures.