Document Collections
Sample search for additional material (in HOLLIS Classic Expanded Search): Soviet union censorship and (sources or archives or diaries or correspondence).
Documents on India and the British colonies are listed in (the unfinished) Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Policy Documents.
Censorship and political communication in Eastern Europe; a collection of documents, ed. by George Schöpflin. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1983, 175 p.
Link to HOLLIS record
Lamont | Z658.E852 C46 1983
Law School | Harvard Depository | Z658.E852 C46X 1983
Widener | Harvard Depository | Z658.E852 C46 1983
COLLATE: Collection of Censorship Documents contains around 6.500 digitized film-censorship related documents from Austria, Czechoslovakia and Germany in the 1920s-1930s.
TEMPO: Early Modern Pamphlets Online (1486-1853) currently includes about 47,000 pamphlets largely in Dutch, German and Latin.
Manuscrits du lieutenant de police Lenoir, conservés à la bibliothèque municipale d'Orléans
Selected literary references in the manuscript journal (1750-1769) of Joseph d'Hémery. Ed. by Edward P. Shaw and Adrienne Rogers. Albany, State University of New York Press, 1972, 5 Microfiche sheets. 435 p.
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 491
-- Introd. in English; selections from journal in French.
Les pièces de théâtre soumises à la censure (1800-1830): inventaire des manuscrits des pièces (F18 581 à 668) et des procès-verbaux des censeurs (F21 966 à 995), ed. by Odile Krakovitch. Paris: Archives nationales: Diffusé par La Documentation francaise, 1982, 334 p.
Link to HOLLIS record
- Widener | WID-LC | PN2044.F7 F72 1982
Ancien Regime in turmoil: commerce, politics, and society in France, c.1682-1793: the Gazette Manuscrite, 1775-1793 and related sources from the John Rylands University Library of Manchester. Microfilm.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 774
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 774 = Guide
Online Guide
Government Documents/Microforms Collection in the Lamont Library, holds most of Harvard's microforms, other than newspapers. Many microfilm sets are analysed, i.e., have records for individual included items in the HOLLIS Catalog, but this is by no means always the case.
French Political Pamphlets in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections at Brigham Young University
French Political Pamphlets, 1547-1648. 86 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont): Film A 317
Online Guide
For contents, index and reel numbers see Lindsay, Robert O. French political pamphlets, 1547-1648: a catalog of major collections in American libraries
Widener FR 1174.2 (Regular Loan; HOLLIS Record)
Microforms (Lamont): Index Film A 317
French royal & administrative acts, 1256-1794. 59 microfilm reels
Location : Law School Mic FRA 905.01 F/F78 (Drawer 115)
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 442
--Microfilm of about 16,000 pamphlets in the New York Public Library.
--Indexed in: French royal and administrative acts, 1256-1794: a subject guide to the New York Public Library collection of 16,000 pamphlets now on microfilm, by M. Lipkowitz.
Location : Law School Mic Ref FRA 905.01 F/F78
Location : Law School Special Coll Ref FRA 905.01 F/F78
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Film A 442
Location : Widener Harvard Depository KJJ 0.1 .L56 x 1978
French political pamphlets, 1560 thru 1653 from collections in the Newberry Library. 28 microfilm reels.
Location : CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request]
A checklist of French political pamphlets, 1560-1653, in the Newberry Library
Mazarinades (Microfiche collection). A collection of 3,398 17th century French Civil War tracts reproduced on microfiche from the collection in Houghton Library. See: Mazarinades: a catalogue of the collection of 17th-century French civil war tracts in the Houghton Library, Harvard University.
Kataloge der Frankfurter und Leipziger Buchmessen (1594-1860) offers browsable access to Frankfurt and Leipzig book fair catalogs.
English clandestine satire, 1660-1704: popular culture, entertainment and information in the early modern period. 24 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1363
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1363 = guide
Online guide
The Stage and the licensing act, 1729-1739, ed. by Vincent J. Liesenfeld. NY: Garland Pub., 1981, ca 600 p. in various pagings.
Link to HOLLIS record
Widener | WID-LC | PR1269 .S8
The control and censorship of Caroline drama: the records of Sir Henry Herbert, Master of the Revels 1623-73, ed. by N.W. Bawcutt.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996, 350 p.
Link to HOLLIS record
- Theatre Collection | HTC-LC | PR678.C4 H47 1996. At Houghton. You may request online.
Primary Sources on Copyright, 1450-1900: Documents from Britain
JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets (1545-1900) includes British pamphlets largely from the 19th century but some earlier. The Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection includes non-British pamphlets sent to the Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.